I will fine you
The charges seem to be the norm. Some CCs will give parents a grace period of 5mins. And sometimes, depending on your relationship with the teacher on duty and how frequent your are late, the teacher may waive the penalty.
I guess we need to also remember that these teachers also have their own families to go back to. While we will be with our kids when we pick our kids up at 6pm or 7pm, the teacher still has to complete her closing duties and make the trip home which by then could be 8pm or later when she gets home.
What I have seen are parents who are able to pick their kids up earlier but choose not to until 7pm on the dot. I have seen a father who is in home wear sitting at a nearby coffeeshop smoking and chatting with the pple there and not picking his kid up until 7pm on the dot or even after. Not just once but a few times. And another parent who will take her own sweet time cleaning up her kids using the centres facility until they are the last ones then slowly make their way out when the teachers pointedly started turning the lights off. Yes they have the rights cos, well, the centre is suppose to operate from 7am to 7pm and they have paid for that. But do spare a thought for the teachers on duty. More importantly, think about your kids, they have been there the entire day, they are hungry and they are tired as well. They are all looking forward to going home with mummy and daddy. So if you can, pick them up earlier. -
how come it’s implemented after 5pm?
how many parents (assuming FTWM) can come before 5pm, and still sign their child up and pay full-day fees? the current pcf my boys are in dun even reprimand the parents for that. I usually come between 630-7pm depending on my workload, but they still comply to mcys regulations.
you wanna write to complain? -
Most of the centres only start the fine process with repeatedly latecoming parents arriving after 7pm, not 5pm. You may like to double with the centre in-charged for clarification. That sounds very unreasonable given to the fact that most parents need to travel after work to pick up their children and not all of them have the leisure to even knock off at 5pm!
As a FTWM, I can only leave the office at 6+ most days and I am one of first ones to leave…and have to rush like mad to pick up my kid between 6:30-7:00pm.
so for me if a childcare close at 5:pm then I may as well don’t send kid to childcare…But I did visit a cc before to enquire and one of the questions I specifically asked is what time do most kids get off. And according to the PIC, most kids get off at 4:30 :!: because many of the children came from very well off family of SAHM. Decide against the cc as I don’t want my kid to be the last to go everyday. -
Hey, i think JHJC is referring that she had picked up her child after 7pm today, that y school tld her gg to fine her for every $1 per min… JHJC, correct me if im wrong.
I usually reach my son CCC at 5.45, latest 615pm, by the time i pick him up there is only 1 or 2 kids left, just glad that he is not the last one!
Sometimes, i need to work on sat, i will also bring him to the CCC, and he is the only child in the centre with 3 teachers entertaining him! -
deleted
Yah...before I setup my own center, I used to be one of those parents whom will quickly finish my housework and cooking before picking up my children from the center. By then it will be around 6+pm.
Now having seen and experience the life of these SUPER NANNIES (I'm also working in the center from early hours till closing). I have to salute to them for their perseverance in providing quality service in this industry. It is the passion and love for children that keep them going.. :salute:
And I've got some teachers in their 20s, already having backache problem due to the long hours of caring for the PG children.
Jus image, as a mother, we complaint so much about caring for ONE child, what about these teachers (especially those in-charge of PG and N1 classes) who have to manage a group of children in their daily needs as well as academic? At end of the day, they still got to provide feedbacks to some concern parents or grandparents about the kids daily progress and prepare materials for the next day lessons. These teachers/SUPER NANNIES (I usually call them), are just like anyone of us, work to survive, has a family to care for and own children to constantly worry for.
BUT, their responsibility is SO MUCH MORE.. as they are being tasked to care for and educate others children too.
:salute: TO ALL MY TEACHERS! -
you are right, PASSION is the word. You need to have the drive, you need to know that you need to love children to work in a ccc. CCC owners like u need to ensure u hire the right teachers too....anyway.. a bit out of point here.... Mother of 4, i do not think all mums complaint abt caring for their children. i am Not one fyi

insider:
Cannot don't fine parents coz some see you don't fine for 5 minutes late, then next time 10 minutes, and so on and so forth (there will always be a few who may abuse and taking priviledges as rights) and so best to set rule right from the start...And...no point giving those allowance of 3 or 5 minutes after 7 pm coz there will be a handful who will always arrive at 7.03 or 7.05 pm and never ending story...
Ya lah... not that centres want to impose. Reali just a form of deterrent
for the habitual latecomers who can actually come on time but take
advantage of the centre's hospitality and understanding.insider:
Yah, back breaking especially in Playgroup classes cos they need moreChildcare teachers hard life... their work, esp those with younger ones, can be back breaking ones... So, for parents who are late in picking, maybe can give them some understanding and pay the fine willingly (but most centres' owners pocket the fines instead of giving them to staff...). There were cases whereby parents were late and refused to pay and matter went kind of messy (it's not really about the money, it's about getting parents to come in time...)
physical care as compared to the kiddies in the older classes. And at the
end of the day, teachers also need to tend to their own children as well &
catch up with chores. Rather tiring.. so it will be good if all parents can
come on time or at least before official closing time @ 7pm. Of course
we do understand there will be occasions where parents are reali tied
up at work. That will be understandable..
I had a friend who worked in a childcare but placed her kiddies in another
childcare nearer to her home. Imagine when she had to stay beyond 7pm
to wait up for a parent in the centre where she worked, she also had to
be fined in the other...
Poor thing..
Btw insider, i've never seen a single cent coming into my own pockets leh. -
JHJC:
you are right, PASSION is the word. You need to have the drive, you need to know that you need to love children to work in a ccc.
Ditto that, JHJC!
JHJC:
And this too! :celebrate:you CCC owners like u need to ensure u hire the right teachers too....
JHJC:
Yes, JHJC... YOU are definitely NOT one!you anyway.. a bit out of point here.... Mother of 4, i do not think all mums complaint abt caring for their children. i am Not one fyi

By far, i read that your qualms on child-parenting
issues are mostly all within reasonable and necessary
range. Not unreasonable requests or unnecessary complains. :winK:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.