Totally agreed.drickymummy:
[quote=\"Jennifer\"]I dun mean to be unkind. Not getting into PH might be a blessing in disguise for some children as well as their parents. It takes a strong willed family not to be suck into the rat race in this sch.
Jennifer,
I have to totally agreed with u! It is a crazy rat race which put Ds n me on our toes at all time! Want to let go n yet dare not..
When u r below par, u work till death to move up...when u r up there, u again work till death to stay there or inch up some more
I did not arrange so many enrichment classes for my elder boy then. Only his weakest subj- CL in P5/P6. But with this P4 boy, there are already Sci, NMOS and CL twice weekly. Think I am getting weaker each year. This year P4 cohort seems very strong and I dared not let go too.
When my younger boy was in P1, his CL told me we need to buck up with CL even though he had scored in the region of 80+ which was below cohort avg of 90+ :siao: I took lightly of her advice and saw his CL score slipped to 70+ in P2 and then near 70 in P3. Scary hor? No choice but to attend more CL lessons outside to keep up with sch std.
Started Sci this year becos I was afraid the class might kena the infamous Sci teacher. Once started, my boy likes the lessons so much that he wants to continue even though he is doing well in this subj.
Started NMOS this year becos I want to prepare him for P5 NMOS competition. Dun want to repeat a similar episode like my elder boy who went for the competition insufficiently prepared by the sch and affected his confidence level due to lousy performance.
Hubby was telling my elder boy to coach the brother in future so that we can save time and money.[/quote]Hi Jen, my son just started the NMOS in term 3. now that you mentioned the school does not prep the kids well, so it looks like my wife and I made the right decision then as i was initially unsure about giving my son extra workload. I heard that in Radin Mas, the school starts prep them in p4 by sending them to weekly classes. why PH is so slow huh? -
Mrsbongz:
but my boys take more than 3 weeks to finish 1 geronimo stilton.
Maybe the content not enticing to finish quickly? U try Enid Blyton's Famous Five? Or Beast Quest?
Rick Riordan's Jercy Jackson series is quite exciting. Joseph Delaney's The Spook's Apprentice series, Brandon Mull's the Candy Shop War or the Fablehaven series. Also Michael Scott's The Alchemist series. Also, the Harry Potter series. -
dyh:
During my elder boy's time, MO training was conducted by HotHouse Education Centre. If my memory did not fail me too badly, shld be ard 10 lessons, 2 hours each.Jennifer:
Started NMOS this year becos I want to prepare him for P5 NMOS competition. Dun want to repeat a similar episode like my elder boy who went for the competition insufficiently prepared by the sch and affected his confidence level due to lousy performance.
Hi Jen, my son just started the NMOS in term 3. now that you mentioned the school does not prep the kids well, so it looks like my wife and I made the right decision then as i was initially unsure about giving my son extra workload. I heard that in Radin Mas, the school starts prep them in p4 by sending them to weekly classes. why PH is so slow huh?
I spoke to the NMOS training centre last week, they are also providing training at PH this year. According to them, the inhouse and sch materials used are diff. Sch training is more like introductory course. So I guessed 10 lessons is clearly insufficient.
The 1st NMOS competition in P5 would be organised by NUSHigh sometime in Jun.
According to my elder boy, the DSA tests at NUSHigh and ACS(I) also cover some MO questions. -
Whoa your ds rated 4.x at beginning P1. My ds is rated much lower than that but the STAR programme still graded him in the 90+ percentile. So your ds must be in the 99 percentile. :nailbite:
You're drickymummy ..... which means that your ds is called dricky? You know that later on I'll go check on the yearbook and look out for dricky as one of the prize winners. :evil:
Ok just pulling your leg, joking only.
Er...Mark, good try but my boy is not call Dricky...
Maybe your ds enjoy classic more..partly due to your influence from young i guess...
That is v good..my boy reads alot but no classics..he loves to listen to folktales though...I still read to him sometimes...kids love to listen to stories even for older ones.. U can also introduce non fiction books which are v informative and confirm plus chop got good language use due to nature of the books...can improve language and yet gain knowledge.. these books for boys especially is the easier to get them to read.. I have not strict rules over wat to read so long as I find it appropriate..But we do enjoy silly books like Amos Lee, Wimpy Kid or even Captain Underpants together..
Mrs Bongz, Dun worry much..so long as they are still reading ..let them be..if he likes dinosaurs, get dino books with higher reading levels instead for just pics if he likes them.. We r done and over with dino when he is 4.. ...hend ah...the long and diffiecut to pronouce names...
I am sure he had done it but dunno it is a test cos teacher just bring them to computer room and they do it online..so they might think it is just another learning thingy on computer.. -
Dyh, I did not send my ds for MO classes but trained him myself using the MO books.. Cos PH only send certain group of student for MO trainings and competition which I find it so unfair
.. I signed him up myself as a private this yr..SASMO MO is also recognised and they started a seperate test for P3/4.. we went for it in May but we have less than total 5 hrs trainings cos it was the weekend before SA1.. DS tried his best and he enjoyed the paper leh..at least he got award.
It is also a good thing to let child do some MO questions cos PSLE might have some MO similar questions each yr..I noticed it when I was doing some P4-P6 past yr papers myself. Maybe will let him go for classes later if he dun get into the sch's MO training groups.
Jen, I think they engage Math Hub these day for MO in sch.. this center is pretty well know for their MO classes.. -
drickymummy:
This is my exact sentiments. :hi5:Jennifer:
I dun mean to be unkind. Not getting into PH might be a blessing in disguise for some children as well as their parents. It takes a strong willed family not to be suck into the rat race in this sch.
Jennifer,
I have to totally agreed with u! It is a crazy rat race which put Ds n me on our toes at all time! Want to let go n yet dare not..
When u r below par, u work till death to move up...when u r up there, u again work till death to stay there or inch up some more
In one way or another, the child is continuously 'challenged'. I rec'd calls from teachers to understand from me why I did not allow mine to attend some classes and most of the times, she was the only one whom her parents did not sign 'ok' on the consent form. At times, I (and my girl) feel like we were 'forced' into actions..
Bro Mark,
When are you leaving? Should be soon rite? Would you consider surrendering your dd2's place in PH for Scary so that we 100% can have BBQ? We're starving, pleaseee. :rotflmao:
IJJ:
For P4 moxie, I posted the term 1 list, after that, I 100% L-F.
Lol! I dunno what is really going on from then onwards. :oops:
Haha. . .ok ok. . .gather gather all positive energy for tomorrow!! :rahrah: -
Is MO Maths Olympiad?
The school only starts training at P5? Not lower primary? Isnβt it kind of late to train only at P5? I bought one book for DS thinking that school starts training at lower primary. -
Scary:
Hi Scary, there'll be some similiar qns from the MO book you bought in the exams. However, no exams at P1 so they might be included in the tests. It's never too late to start as early as possible if your child can manage.Is MO Maths Olympiad?
The school only starts training at P5? Not lower primary? Isn't it kind of late to train only at P5? I bought one book for DS thinking that school starts training at lower primary.
Also, the NMOS training qns are not exactly similiar to the ones from the MO books. Jennifer, can you advise on this? Thx. -
Cheerie and Willow and other Parents who are going for the balloting tomorrow,
Less than 24 hours now. All the Best!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.