Singapore vs. Hong Kong: Which Is More Expensive?
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Oh that's so true. Reminds me of a Chinese saying, \"If you don't open your mouth, no one will know you're stupid.\" :rotflmao: :rotflmao:jtoh:
It's true that angmos have better presentation skills. As you say it's part of their training. Although in my course of work I've come across angmos who talk a lot, are rather convincing, but if you listen to them carefully they're not saying that much nor making much sense. Our kids these days are exposed to a lot more presentation skills, even at the primary school level. Hopefully this will stand them in good stead when they're up against the more vocal angmos in the job market.
Heh! I do agree sometimes. There are silly Caucasians just as there are silly Singaporeans. It's easier to tell silly Caucasian from silly Singaporean though because Singaporeans keep quiet and so you can't assess. -
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Oh that's so true. Reminds me of a Chinese saying, \"If you don't open your mouth, no one will know you're stupid.\" :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote] :hi5: Yup Yup!!Chenonceau:
[quote=\"jtoh\"]It's true that angmos have better presentation skills. As you say it's part of their training. Although in my course of work I've come across angmos who talk a lot, are rather convincing, but if you listen to them carefully they're not saying that much nor making much sense. Our kids these days are exposed to a lot more presentation skills, even at the primary school level. Hopefully this will stand them in good stead when they're up against the more vocal angmos in the job market.
Heh! I do agree sometimes. There are silly Caucasians just as there are silly Singaporeans. It's easier to tell silly Caucasian from silly Singaporean though because Singaporeans keep quiet and so you can't assess.
:stompfeet:
RRMummy:
:hi5: Yup Yup!!
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: Oh that's so true. Reminds me of a Chinese saying, \"If you don't open your mouth, no one will know you're stupid.\" :rotflmao: :rotflmao:jtoh:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
Heh! I do agree sometimes. There are silly Caucasians just as there are silly Singaporeans. It's easier to tell silly Caucasian from silly Singaporean though because Singaporeans keep quiet and so you can't assess.
:stompfeet:
[/quote] :oops: :oops:
Now I know why I hardly like to comment on serious stuff.....just lurking around reading others and adding all the :goodpost:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Rivevae:
Many items (exclude property price) is much more expensive in Singapore than else where. A pair of Nike shoe is double or triple the price in US. I was told. Electronic gadgets are more ex in Singapore than HK, US and many other places. Food is getting expensive too......WeiHan:
Is probably less than 2X now. Exchange rate in December was 1 to 5.9. That CCK condo is selling at around 750k now.
Property is after all an investment. Cost of living excl property (I regard these as expenses) in Singapore is abnormally :slapshead:
What has our strong S$ done to our surging consumer price index? Defying gravity?? For a country relying heavily on imported goods? :stupid:
Our public swimming pool is cheap. The expat told me. -
An angmoh ever commented that food in S’pore is v expensive. He quoted the price of a cup of coffee at starbuck. I told him he can get an equally good cup of coffee at any coffee shop for abt $1. Sometimes, they choose to eat at expensive places, then they complain.
WeiHan:
Electronic gadgets are more ex in Singapore than HK, US and many other places.
Apparently, other places doesn't include Germany. The Germans come here with iPod, iPad, etc on their shopping list.. -
RRMummy:
That's true. My German friend had those on her list too.WeiHan:
Electronic gadgets are more ex in Singapore than HK, US and many other places.
Apparently, other places doesn't include Germany. The Germans come here with iPod, iPad, etc on their shopping list.. -
sall:
An angmoh ever commented that food in S'pore is v expensive. He quoted the price of a cup of coffee at starbuck. I told him he can get an equally good cup of coffee at any coffee shop for abt $1. Sometimes, they choose to eat at expensive places, then they complain.
Yes. they are comparing steak in a restaurant here and back home. Of course coffee shop will be much cheaper but the Ang Mo's countries don't have coffee shops. -
WeiHan:
Ok, Ang Moh countries dun have coffee shops...so they have NOoooooo choice.sall:
An angmoh ever commented that food in S'pore is v expensive. He quoted the price of a cup of coffee at starbuck. I told him he can get an equally good cup of coffee at any coffee shop for abt $1. Sometimes, they choose to eat at expensive places, then they complain.
Yes. they are comparing steak in a restaurant here and back home. Of course coffee shop will be much cheaper but the Ang Mo's countries don't have coffee shops.
Here we have and they chose to STILL eat at restaurant and then do comparison like this??? -
cwc:
Ok, Ang Moh countries dun have coffee shops...so they have NOoooooo choice.WeiHan:
[quote=\"sall\"]An angmoh ever commented that food in S'pore is v expensive. He quoted the price of a cup of coffee at starbuck. I told him he can get an equally good cup of coffee at any coffee shop for abt $1. Sometimes, they choose to eat at expensive places, then they complain.
Yes. they are comparing steak in a restaurant here and back home. Of course coffee shop will be much cheaper but the Ang Mo's countries don't have coffee shops.
Here we have and they chose to STILL eat at restaurant and then do comparison like this???[/quote]Relax...she is saying one ang mo says that.
But there is a second angmo, that is my acquaintance, he first said that hawker centre is cheap....then he said it is cheap because it is self-service and all the table and seats etc....are rudimentary. Also the environment is humid and hot. So the cheapness comes with a price, you see...
Of course, I told me I always buy packet and there is no need for me to sit there or hunt for seats....the only factor that concern me is taste and cheapness in absolute term.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.