SeenByIceQueen:
My paed tells me that a kids tongue is not fully developed until abt 8 yrs old. So i think no nd to worry la. His speech will improve with time. My ds also used to hv problem w differentiating 's' and 'sh'. So sour and shower sounds the same :rotflmao: now ok alr :boogie:MintyMin:
On leave today n took chance to go to DS's cc to have a parent teacher meeting.. as i missed the one in July as we went for BVPS open hse..
so far all is good.. DS as expected is gd wif numbers but not sight reading.. n pronunication slight problem due to short tongue.. so principal suggested he attend 'Orton Gillingham'.. but he did emphasize tat he is definitely not saying tat DS has disability problems.. but we juz haf to find a method for him to strengthen his language skills..
Anyone heard of Orton Gillingham b4? He told us tat the CC's ex supervisor is doing freelance teaching of tat now.. so ask me to check w her.. which i might do it n c how tings goes for DS..
really?! hmmm.. coz after 1 time experience w :moneyflies: :moneyflies: i nvr bring them to paed thereafter.. only GP..
If tatz the case den i juz :xedfingers:
tat it will only get better for him.. but of coz wif lots of practice in reading with mummy..
They still take PSLE. But those successful in DSA would have a place liao. They can relax a bit but still need decent marks in PSLE,[/quote]Oh... Then not fair leh... I can see the point through the non academic part but not the academic part leh.. Why have this system har? Means they alrdy get a place and no need to stick to the cut off point system la..
Yup it is definitely my worse case.. If DD cannot make it for PSLE, then it's international school lieow.. Ok I have heard of it but don't know it's DSA for short.. I don't agree la... Why don't take PSLE wor? Wat if u don't do well in o levels? U don even have a PSLE lor... Like i mention earlier, I am a big fan of exams and only through exams u know where u stand.. Why avoid it? Practise make perfect wat.. If u keep taking exams, then u will be so good in it... Just like in poly they keep making u do presentation in front of an audience until today I m so numb by it that publis speaking is a click of the finger.. Not need to look so far la.. I think Australia pretty similar to Finland then...bigsnoopy:
[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]@bigsnoopy,
PC = politically correct
Since only primary school is compulsory, after that can go international if trap by foundation subjects?
DSA is Direct School Admission for sec schools. Two ways non-academic and academic. The application start in P5 mid yr or so. If through sports, then must have competed at national level with good results and must be in the school of choice's niche. For acadremic track must go for test at the schools of choice and student at same time must get gold or silver at acadmic competition. There's a thread on this DSA thing,
In Finland, all kids are given equal opportunities. I think over there they really learn more but use less time yet so much less stressful. I think as long as out of Asian countries and communities, our kids will be less stressed
Yup, MIA, not able to complete yet -
Finland had 30 years to tweak their education, think we can really do better and make changes with parent's feedback.They also need a Masterβs in Education to teach a class, doubt we can even afford that when we lack in teachers. They are highly paid.
In Finland, all kids are given equal opportunities. I think over there they really learn more but use less time yet so much less stressful. I think as long as out of Asian countries and communities, our kids will be less stressed
Yup, MIA, not able to complete yet
They have 50k kids vs 5.2mil actual Finnish compared to us where 37k vs 3mil SG ppl? Something to note, they are \"female -dominant\"
Finnish students begin studying algebra, geometry and statistics in the first grade (our P1)
Students having problems learning are assigned tutors and remedial specialists from the first day they are evaluated until the day they graduate. (something similar to our learning program at P1 / P2) but we are kind of afraid our kids will be in that group...
For us, alot of thought is given to gifted children while for Finland, they are asking for more time spent with gifted children.
My friend has a 3 year old son in UK. and he already knows multiplication. Kids their age as my DDs are doing ballet, horse-riding and piano combined with additional language. It is competition on a global basis so other countries have it but just hidden and isn't as outspoken as us.
Just a :love: , at least we know people want to come to SG Uni for further studies (never do hear people wanting to spend the $$ for Finland Uni :siam: )
To me, it really boils down to the parent at times, I was also in a class of 40. Didn't feel isolated by the teacher as we had peer to peer support. Every Parent want their kid to be \"no 1\" in SG so even if we eventually adopt the finnish system, I am not sure if majority of the parents can accept that their kids are smarter and deserve special attention or just follow the crowd. What if their kid is coached till 12th grade, will parents be stressed to take on enrichments just to be out of it and ask for a n option to opt out?\" My take is parents who can't afford would like it, parents who can afford would want their kids to be out
just my kiss-ing thoughts :please: -
b
bigsnoopy jie jie say that there is not wrong with him and he needs practice to master phonics and that's all... :evil:
Ang mo tan as in rambutan? :rotflmao:The method that your mom used.. I heard older folks used it when the kids are having 'ang mo tan'... and very high fever..
I have never tried.. -
SeenByIceQueen:
I not xmm but i not old ah mah yet hor! So no flower eye. Dun think u type small small i cannot see ah :nunchuk: :spank:[/quote]wah lau.. tonight kana so much spanking...
ppsssss... I never think.. they claimed to be one.. so they are xmm too lor..Castle House:
[quote=\"SAHM_TAN\"]bigsnoopy and SBIQ,
Both must have used xmm tone, so Castle House think both are xmm :rotflmao:
ouch ouch... :siam: :siam: -
please la... Ur uncles n aunties all doctors is it? Go n seek advice from the professional and then decide wat to do la... U really xmm leh... :slapshead: And don't say that in front of your DS hor... It will make him feel bad.. Tell him that bigsnoopy jie jie say that there is not wrong with him and he needs practice to master phonics and that's all... :evil:MintyMin:
hmm.. becoz he can't speak clearly.. n all my uncles n aunties confirmed it leh.. coz my youngest uncle was like tat too.. they mostly can't understand wat my DS say bcoz he doesnt speak v clearly as he can't pronounce correctly..
i nvr doubt them but i din say i believe wat.. tatz y i asked teachers n principals their opinion too.. coz from young.. he does really speak very unclearly..
heehee.. I CONFIRM CHOP GUARANTEED xmm mah.. :evil:
i won't say tat in front of my DS lah.. i haf boost his confidence.. coz his EQ too high liao..
eh.. mummy me also got problem wif phonics leh.. hw ah? i wont b able to tell if he did it correctly..
erm.. but excuse me??? who's bigsnoopy jie jie ah?? I only noe 1 bigsnoopy AUNTIE... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
I also not above 35 leh.. Why i not xmm?:hi5: above 35.. are not xmm le.. :rotflmao:
no problem.. we also need to base on my kids' sleeping time...
Today.. all slept early.. cos tml back to school... and my girl is sick...
Ya.. that's why I missed you ma..
All so young
err.. or you also want to be xmm.. :evil: :rotflmao: -
actually i also have a lot of thoughts on this topic... but i bit hard to say everything...bigsnoopy:
Yup it is definitely my worse case.. If DD cannot make it for PSLE, then it's international school lieow.. Ok I have heard of it but don't know it's DSA for short.. I don't agree la... Why don't take PSLE wor? Wat if u don't do well in o levels? U don even have a PSLE lor... Like i mention earlier, I am a big fan of exams and only through exams u know where u stand.. Why avoid it? Practise make perfect wat.. If u keep taking exams, then u will be so good in it... Just like in poly they keep making u do presentation in front of an audience until today I m so numb by it that publis speaking is a click of the finger.. Not need to look so far la.. I think Australia pretty similar to Finland then...
true tat the more u do the more u will perfect it n no longer has phobia for it.. but tat being said.. we haf to make sure tat they enjoyed it n it does not become a stress for them.. which i noe it is difficult..
was chatting wif my uncle last saturday n he said tat a lot of parents tis days start their kids young wif enrichment classes.. so much so.. it became a norm for the kids tat they no longer take it as stress... but i asked him.. den watz childhood for them? he said.. wat makes u tink tat they dun take tat as childhood.. :scratchhead: :faint:
so i guess a bit too late to start on so much.. but den.. i still prefer them to enjoy childhood..
dunno if i try to explain some of how the system works, will it help or not...
i might know how or why the system is like this, but i also feel it's quite stressful for the kids.
there are many things i'd like to see changed... i read about Finland's and South Korea's edu syst too. and of course Finland is also my choice cos even though both are tops in the world but South Korea's is like Japan, HK, Taiwan and Sg... good bt very stressful. children emerge tired or creative at the end of the day?
that said, i also think for certain disciplines, top marks and being able to focus and be absolutely outstanding in the field is necessary. would you want to see a doctor who didn't get good marks? or a surgeon to operate when he/ she is the careless type in school? i'd be so :nailbite:
so i don't think i mind the medicine faculty being extremely selective. at least i think Sg doctors who graduate from NUS med fac are trusted around the world cos of the rigour they went through. the other eg i can think of is training to be a pilot. i'd be so scared to sit in a plane if anyone can be a pilot.
besides these fields though, i feel our kids should have freedom of choice.
when i heard about pr schs even having CCA selection, i was so :scared: :yikes:
i was even not sure and had to double confirm.... do you know some schools only allow the kids to join that CCA only after you pass selection? so if my son has interest in basketball but does not make the cut, cannot join!
or if wanna join band, but they deem him no musical potential, then cannot join!
will there be cases who cannot join any CCA or not, then kena some CCA they hate? it's so sad right??
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.