All About Preparing For Primary One

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 1
    1.3k Posts 228 Posters 766.5k Views 1 Watching
    • 1 Offline
      1amber

:shock:

Wow! Thanks!
      I nearly fainted.... :?

Yeah... I used to think P1 is nothing and that all those parents trying to prepare their kids early for Primary school are just kiasu and want to make their children top the class - until I realize the school itself expects the children to be already steeped in such a culture! So by the time parents come to this realization, they panic and try to start the processes of external enrichment courses, and that gives the children a LOT more stress since they also have to cope with the work in P1.

IMO, parents who prepare their children early are really helping to give their children less stress by the time they go to school. The danger that kids will be bored in class is nothing compared to the self-confidence and self-esteem that the children gets when they have already been exposed to what the teachers are teaching.

I know I am digging up old posts. I can't help but echo this: I nearly fainted... 😓

• 1 Offline
        1amber

Was surfing around on understanding if I am well prepared on behalf of my DD1 for Primary 1 😓

Chanced upon a few websites, thought to share though it could have been mentioned before 😄

Tips For Parents
        ◦Work on independent reading skills.
        ◦Set up a study area and regular study times that are not interrupted.
        ◦Learn to follow a routine with a lot of sleep and early mornings.
        ◦Practice organisation and planning by packing a daily bag with essentials for the day.
        ◦Talk about social skills and communication skills.
        ◦Talk about how much fun school will be. If they are prepared, they will enjoy the wonderful process of learning and discover the fun of school.
        ◦Keep it fun and happy.

Reading
        Mrs. Sam from Athena Educational Services says the most important skill is being able to read independently prior to entering Primary 1.

The lack of reading ability will affect all subjects. From following directions to doing word problems, reading is indispensable. 4 years old is a very comfortable age to begin reading and 7 is really waiting too long to get them into the joys of the written word.

Adjusting To A New Routine
        Also very important is the adjustment of the routine to accommodate the school hours. It is too hard for a child to manage school at 7am if he is not made to sleep at a regular time.

Doctors recommend that children sleep from 8 to 10 hours a night. A routine takes time to develop, so don’t wait until December 28th to try to get it started. Start at least a month or two before.

Regular Study Time
        There is also the routine of regular study time. The actual work is not as significant as the consistency. The child needs to learn to sit and study when it is time. This will help with concentration in the classroom as well as with homework.

Social Skills
        “Good social skills are essential in school and to make the transition from kindergarten to primary a smooth one, your child should be prepared for the school atmosphere before hand” says Mrs. Khoo, Principal of Far Eastern Kindergarten and mother of 2 Primary school students.

“Kindergarten is much more relaxed with fewer children per class compared to many primary 1 classes. Those P’s and Q’s are so very important once they start their primary school.”

“Kindergarten does help,” Mrs. Khoo continues “but really parents need to take the time to make sure their children know their social graces before going to primary school. Children must be able to take turns, wait for others, share and be polite. Some children find the structure of school difficult

Good Read On Understanding the Transition and what we can do to help as Parents: -> http://www.schoolbag.sg/archives/2010/01/getting_ready_for_pri_1_-_a_co.php
        :goodpost: :thankyou:

1amber:

[quote=\"jedamum\"]:shock:

Wow! Thanks!
          I nearly fainted.... :?

Yeah... I used to think P1 is nothing and that all those parents trying to prepare their kids early for Primary school are just kiasu and want to make their children top the class - until I realize the school itself expects the children to be already steeped in such a culture! So by the time parents come to this realization, they panic and try to start the processes of external enrichment courses, and that gives the children a LOT more stress since they also have to cope with the work in P1.

IMO, parents who prepare their children early are really helping to give their children less stress by the time they go to school. The danger that kids will be bored in class is nothing compared to the self-confidence and self-esteem that the children gets when they have already been exposed to what the teachers are teaching.

I know I am digging up old posts. I can't help but echo this: I nearly fainted... 😓[/quote]1amber,
          don't fret. i survived, so shall you. 😉

CayennePepper

Regular Study Time

There is also the routine of regular study time. The actual work is not as significant as the consistency. The child needs to learn to sit and study when it is time. This will help with concentration in the classroom as well as with homework.
            Thank you, Kissgurami, that was a very helpful post!
            I like the part about having a regular study time the most. For my P2 son, this is something we had to work on. I was remiss in letting him have a very free and easy time in the preschool years, so it was a chore for him to sit and work since i want him to do it on his own initiative. Establishing a regular study time really helped him to know when to settle down after school and start on homework, revision etc.

nikerocks

i was lucky than…two months back i wanted my dd to sleep at ten regularly as i notice she has a short temper if she does not have enough sleep prior to school which started at 8.i also wanted her to have a regular sleeping time so that when she is in the morning session,she can wake up without much hassle.This also makes me go through her homework at around 8 to about nine plus which she will than prepare to go bed…din know i was doing the right thing

i3mum

Hi kvk,

Is you child in a child care? If yes, I think it's manageable 🙂

My is in a 3 hour kindy and on hand she has 7 enrichment classes, so I do not know what to cut down. She seems to like all of them. :sad:

kvk:

My DD is now having 3 enrichment classes.
                English/Maths, Abacus and Chinese.
                Do they sound alot to you?

hi kvk,

your current 3 enrichment lessons are reasonable. They are not heavy.

if can, try to incorporate Science enrichment as well. Also some non-academic ones like swimming, gymnastics, music, violin, piano (choose anyone will do, because no time to attend so much).

SAHM_TAN

sleepy:

The non-academic classes are speech and drama and music. The music is the long term one, it's more to \"nourish\" their \"artistic soul\". I'm not intending to use it for DSA. I believe in a person's life, there's a need for art/arts.

Speech and drama, it's more to help them in presentation work. So that will stop latest by P3. I like their speech and drama teacher but too bad he does not take in primary school kids, only kindy and IB students.

Where are your kids taking speech & drama?

I send my girls to speech & drama too. No exam, just to give them opportunity to speak up as they're quite self conscious, you know the paiseh paiseh type 😂

I've yet to seriously think of DSA. Didn't know can use music for DSA. Somehow I've the impression that since so many kids are taking music lessons nowsaday, music is no longer that highly valued as a form 材艺. Perhaps Maths Olympiad would stand a better chance at DSA 😉

They attend the S&D in their kindy. The S&D teacher visit the kindy once a wk. I wanted to follow-up with him after kindy becos I know my DD1 likes his class. Too bad he does not take in primary school kids.

DSA is at the back of my mind but I will monitor my kids' ability. It's not easy to go DSA via academics or non-academic. They need to win competition or exihibit extraordinary talent as compare to their peers. It will be like preparing for PSLE and DSA at the same time. So for now I just want make sure that their foundation is solid for all subjects.

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

sleepy:

I've yet to seriously think of DSA. Didn't know can use music for DSA. Somehow I've the impression that since so many kids are taking music lessons nowsaday, music is no longer that highly valued as a form 材艺. Perhaps Maths Olympiad would stand a better chance at DSA 😉

DSA is at the back of my mind but I will monitor my kids' ability. It's not easy to go DSA via academics or non-academic. They need to win competition or exihibit extraordinary talent as compare to their peers. It will be like preparing for PSLE and DSA at the same time. So for now I just want make sure that their foundation is solid for all subjects.

Better just let them do whatever they enjoy. Just support them in what you see can enhance their ability, whether academic or non-academic. Do not hope that any can gain DSA entry. My ds1 had DSA under general domain. My ds2 is a national prizewinner in his musical instrument and leader in his CCA, but we also not sure if have any hopes for DSA - he's now in p6. Best to also keep up in school lah. If they enjoy other pursuits - well and good. If they can excel - good too! Shows they have a life apart from academics.

I have another who will be entering p1 in 4 years' time. Hopefully he'll be fully ready and can relax in lower primary and enjoy lots. ;D My wish (and dream) is that he will have an easy time throughout primary school and thereon too!!!!!! Bc I sure hope I don't have to help him with schoolwork at my old age!

Hi SAHM_TAN,

Using the DSA route for non-academic is as difficult as preparing for PSLE…it’s even tougher…unless the child can bring home medals/trophies for every event. A friend’s son wanted to use sports for DSA…spent 3x a week practicing under the hot sun and in the end still couldn’t make it.
                        My son is neither good in non-academic stuff and average for his subjects…so I agree with you that strengthening the foundation for subjects is much better than using the DSA route.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 99 / 131

Imp75I
                        Imp75