CMA Math - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    3.1k Posts 1.1k Posters 762.4k Views 1 Watching
      pokemon

abacus_trainer:
      Opps.. haven't answer to your question.. Both abacus and mental has grade 13 (lowest) to 1 (highest). In chinese, we can \"ji shu\". After that, you have \"duan wei shu\", level 1 (lowest) to 10 (highest).

What I understand is.. it use to be only until grade 1. But many childrens in Taiwan, after achieving grade 1 wants to continue, so the Taiwan children abacus association invented \"duan wei shu\" from 1 to 10.

Pai seh to say, I have not taught any kids to grade 1 yet. But I know CMA has the books to train them beyond grade 1. :oops:
      Any idea what they learn in duan wei shu? My son is 1 of the few pioneers from his centre, at first his teachers also gt stuck when showing us the division method, citingl lack of practice since v few of the kids there reach that level. Lucky aft some practice, my son able to grasp the idea.i wonder izit good idea to do duan wei shu there?

I kn for abacus level 2 or 3, its counting hundred thousand or so, i find abit not realistic and relevant in our real life. Thats why i ever think when my son reach that stage should i stop. If he stop wil he gradually forget the skill acquired esp the visualising or mental arithmetic? Does he need to constantly use it in his daily life to enable him to retain knowledge?

snowz

pokemon:
        i sent him for abacus class mainly becos of his love for numbers, he shows it when he is around 3yr o, being facinated by numbers. Secondly i don't want him to be my elder boy who need to use fingers to do counting or need to do simple working on papers, quite a waste of time. After he started the class, he couldnt stop, he juz strive to do more and more, according to him 'i want to do more so can fast fast change books and gt more stamps on reward card.\" Also, most of the kids in his class are in pri,who are mostly behind him,only 1gal is more advance, he is pitting himself against her as well as feeling good he is 'doing better' than the older kids. He is sort of self motivated type of boy,dun complained much about doing few pages of 4books daily + aural mental training.I guess im the lucky few mums with this type of kids, hope he dun lose this spirit.

yes, you are very lucky. Glad to hear that. Keep up the spirit! :lol:

abacus_trainer

pokemon:
          Any idea what they learn in duan wei shu? My son is 1 of the few pioneers from his centre, at first his teachers also gt stuck when showing us the division method, citingl lack of practice since v few of the kids there reach that level. Lucky aft some practice, my son able to grasp the idea.i wonder izit good idea to do duan wei shu there?

I kn for abacus level 2 or 3, its counting hundred thousand or so, i find abit not realistic and relevant in our real life. Thats why i ever think when my son reach that stage should i stop. If he stop wil he gradually forget the skill acquired esp the visualising or mental arithmetic? Does he need to constantly use it in his daily life to enable him to retain knowledge?
          In \"duan wei shu\", the numbers are even far more not realistic. An example of the +/- question, $21,543,876.09 + 407.91 + 7,205,884.63 .... An example of division question, $36,937,521.14 / 5,681. An example of multiplication question, $6,523.51 x 92.908. The difficulty of the question start increasing since the first day the child joins the advance class. Every grade is more and more difficult. It's really alot of effort, will and determination to reach levels like this.

Have u watch a documentary call \"my brilliant brain\" on discovery channel before? One episode talks about a man going for some brain surgery, Dr told him one of the side effects is gradual memory lost. So he started training his brain to remember numbers flash to him. Over time he increase more and more numbers and now he is the world record holder of being able to remember hundreds of numbers flashed to him and recite the numbers in the correct sequence.

Studies shows that we are only using a small fraction of our brain. But if we put in effort, we can train and push it to higher limits. Utilising more of our brain. What I am trying to say is, numbers in the books are only numbers but what we really hope to achieve is beyond that.

After he stopped learning, he won't forget the method entirely. Calculation is in our everyday life, he will still be using the skill but probably not to the extend of $21,543,876.09 + 407.91 + 7,205,884.63...

The questions above are taken from \"Duan wei shu\" level 1 (lowest), highest is level 10. In Taiwan, there are children who attained level 1. :!:

avfave

I would like to enrol my kids to CMA at Bukit Batok...

Can any mummies refer me to entitle for 8% discount?

thanks
            avfave πŸ™‚

Heyya avfave, mebbe you can sign in at our

Newbies thread for us to get to know you
              better, so others can come in and help
              you better as well. Here's the link for
              easy access. Hope to see a brief
              intro of yourself soon, ya? πŸ˜‰

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewforum.php?f=28

pokemon

[quote]In \"duan wei shu\", the numbers are even far more not realistic. An example of the +/- question, $21,543,876.09 + 407.91 + 7,205,884.63 .... An example of division question, $36,937,521.14 / 5,681. An example of multiplication question, $6,523.51 x 92.908. The difficulty of the question start increasing since the first day the child joins the advance class. Every grade is more and more difficult. It's really alot of effort, will and determination to reach levels like this.[/quote]
                I also suspect the numbers involved in that level is that 'ridiculous'. i dun expect my son to be able to do mental calculation to this extend. So mayb wil stop once he finish mental arithmentic 1ji. I think by then his abacus shd be ard 4 or 3ji, also shd b calculating unrealistic number. He is due to take the abacus test for bk 105-each set of 20questn muz score at 70%rite all within 7min,or else he will need to repeat the book again. Im nt too happy over the test,since speed is not my concern and its quite a feat for a 6yr old boy. His teacher say Master Tai wants competency nt juz touch and go???? So for duan wei is more for challenging your brain ya?

He is using mental countg when i verbally give him 3 steps problem sum question, v happy he gt answer fast and correct. I kn if he stop the class, gradually his mental calculation speed wont be that fast but at least still can count in the head not thru fingers. πŸ˜‰

• G Offline
                  gennseng

I am thinking of registering my boy to Toa payoh branch. Any feedback about toa payoh branch?

Anyone have children there for me to get the referral 8% discount?

Thanks

Busymom

My DD is at Toa Payoh SAFRA. Is that the branch that you are referring to? What would you need from us to get the discount?

• O Offline
                      Oppsgal

Saw some other forum talking about 3G ABACUS, any difference from mental abacus?

What’s the course fees of CMA for abacus?

Will the child be confused if send to class when reach 3 yrs old? Saw so many types of beads thingy for abacus, what type will be use for class, or does the class provide?

abacus_trainer

Oppsgal:
                        Saw some other forum talking about 3G ABACUS, any difference from mental abacus?

What's the course fees of CMA for abacus?

Will the child be confused if send to class when reach 3 yrs old? Saw so many types of beads thingy for abacus, what type will be use for class, or does the class provide?
                        There are 3 types of abacus.
                        -1st generation is the China type, 2 beads on top, 5 beads below.
                        -2nd generation is invented by the Japanese, modified from the chinese abacus call the soroban, 1 bead above, 4 beads below.
                        -3rd generation is invented by a Singaporean lady (Mdm Chee) in 2005, 9 beads on top, 1 bead below (http://www.3gabacus.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=12&Itemid=26).

If you ask me, of course I will tell you the 2nd generation (which is my rice bowl) is better. πŸ˜‰

CMA abacus uses 2 hands vs 3G uses 1 hand. Using 2 hands trains the child left and right hand coordination (motor skill) and help stimulate both side if the brain.

The soroban is smaller, easier to visualise and thus faster in mental calculation. 5 beads in a column vs 10 beads in a column.

There is 2 different scheme for different CMA branches, depending on the location.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 27 / 310