Presidential Election 2011

1.7k Posts 157 Posters 404.7k Views 1 Watching
      daisyt

Strparent, ya of course govt can remove the President. See how they did to OTC and Nair.

• 3 Offline
        3Boys

Strparent:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16AWNQUzwDs&feature=related
        Sounded more like talking in circles, instead of a clear concise confident response, in my personal opinion.
        A very confused discourse on the role of the EP. Not really his fault, its such a hybrid role that has powers in some areas and none in others, I don't see how anyone can really understand it. So no, not an impressive performance. But I wonder how the others would have stacked up in that same situation, and Dr TT is an intellectual tour de force.

Its too bad the contest is stacked against the others. The only real way he is going to have legitimacy is if he takes >50% of the popular vote.

• 3 Offline
          3Boys

A bunch of friends, all holding executive positions in various MNCs actually alluded that they will spoil their votes because they do not think that any of the candidates are suitable. So I asked them who then do they think will be suitable, no names. I kinda said since they don't think anyone can do the job, why not try to see if they themselves can make the cut to run.

It is a privilege to be able to vote and these people are making a joke out of it. Even if these 4 candidates are not your ideal choice, you owe it to yourselves to pick the one whom you think is the closest to your ideal and vote for that one.

Just my 2 cent views and rant. Dun flame me hor.
          You are right, its criminal to spoil one's vote. Again, as per my other post, I do blame the gahmen for this cynicism and apathy. They had a chance with GCT, and they blew it. This generation that is now holding responsible positions basically learned to be helpless and shrug their shoulders.

• 3 Offline
            3Boys

mummyo:

Which is why I'm not under any illusion anymore. TT will definitely win but that doesn't mean I don't try my darnest to support TJS in his presidential campaign.
            A run off between top 2 finishers in the first round, as they do in some countries, will give the anti-estab outsider some chance. An EP with less than 50% of majority is most unsatisfactory.

Strparent

Strparent:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=16AWNQUzwDs&feature=related
              Sounded more like talking in circles, instead of a clear concise confident response, in my personal opinion.

A very confused discourse on the role of the EP. Not really his fault, its such a hybrid role that has powers in some areas and none in others, I don't see how anyone can really understand it. So no, not an impressive performance. But I wonder how the others would have stacked up in that same situation, and Dr TT is an intellectual tour de force.

Hi 3Boys,
              thanks for sharing your views, always a pleasure to hear your straight-forward thoughts.

Yes, not impressive at all. You wonder how others will stack up in similar situation ? Take this other example, when after http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Xa9IBy4XnE&feature=related, the EP hopefuls were all asked their views.

link : http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_699610.html

http://i56.tinypic.com/65qqkx.jpg\">

The 4 Tans EP candidates gave their responses accordingly, and you can see that Mr TT was again talking in circles, and not really saying anything firmly nor assuredly. They were just asked for their personal opinion, and what they get from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASKp_-DW1Vg&feature=related

Quote from the video above :

Dr Tan said: \"I would prefer to think about the points which they have made because I think that these are serious considerations which anybody who wants or who aspires to the position of President would have to give very serious thought to. So rather than give a quick reaction, which I think will be premature, I will like to take my time to think about the points which have been made.\"

Initially, I also think TT is a good choice from the PAP, but as the days and weeks go by, I feel that the real TT presently is not the same person that we were brought up to imagine or thought of that he is. He had always been projected as very confident and assured.
              http://www.tanchengbock.org/in-the-press/tan-cheng-bock-responds-to-shanmugam.
              TJS would be an interesting choice as well.
              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fKw8ahcS1Oo, despite his genuine efforts to speak for the people. I shudder to imagine TKL speaking to other world leaders in his local English. šŸ˜“

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

Stparent, I am leaning towards TCB for similar reasons. There are unanswered questions over Dr TT (u know what) and i think we need a break from the past. TJS does not give me good vibes and TKL even less so.

limlim

mummyo:

First, there should be a way for these people to opt out of voting and also there should be a way to absolve the old folks and disabled who are not of sound mind from voting.
                  They don't need to \"opt-out\". Just don't turn up for the poll and their name will be automatically struck off the register..

Which means they need not turn up for subsequent polls either..

There is no penalty for not voting.

They are always free to give up the right to vote..

mummyo

mummyo:

First, there should be a way for these people to opt out of voting and also there should be a way to absolve the old folks and disabled who are not of sound mind from voting.

They don't need to \"opt-out\". Just don't turn up for the poll and their name will be automatically struck off the register..

Which means they need not turn up for subsequent polls either..

There is no penalty for not voting.

They are always free to give up the right to vote..

Yes. But many don't know this. They think they will get into trouble for not voting. That's what they have been told, it is COMPULSORY to vote. Don't know by who. :faint:

is it compulsory to vote like in GE ? i have an overseas meeting on 27 Aug . :stompfeet: :stompfeet:

limlim

is it compulsory to vote like in GE ? i have an overseas meeting on 27 Aug . :stompfeet: :stompfeet:

Voting is always compulsory..

Aiyah.. just request to put back the name in the register after you return lor..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 37 / 172