Presidential Election 2011
growie:
Thanks for sharing ...I can sooooooo relate to the video :rahrah:concern2:
Strparent, didn't know TCB is a Teochew! Very funny video! Thanks for sharing.
Agreed..the first video was very funny and well scripted!! I enjoyed it tremendously. Tks Strparent. :imcool: :rotflmao: -
Thank you, Strparent,
I can only tahan 3 mins of that video. Buay tahan ah!!! -
Actually, without meaning to, I find myself mumbling jia-yous to TT throughout his attempt to read hanyu pinyin (presumably) off the teleprompter. Nothing to do whether I like the guy as president or not... I mean, he's in his seventies, don't speak the language (obviously!) but yet was gamely reading an alien script in front of a camera. Got to give him a few points for trying lah

If he is Peranakan then Mandarin is not his mother tongue. Not being able to speak Mandarin in our multi-cultural environment is nothing to be ashamed of.
I am not giving him my vote but the ability to speak Mandarin should not determine how a multi-racial country votes. -
CayennePepper:
Actually, without meaning to, I find myself mumbling jia-yous to TT throughout his attempt to read hanyu pinyin (presumably) off the teleprompter. Nothing to do whether I like the guy as president or not... I mean, he's in his seventies, don't speak the language (obviously!) but yet was gamely reading an alien script in front of a camera. Got to give him a few points for trying lah

It takes courage to speak in a language you are not familiar with on nation TV, especially knowing that people are going to laugh and ridicule .. -
kaka:
true.CayennePepper:

It takes courage to speak in a language you are not familiar with on nation TV, especially knowing that people are going to laugh and ridicule .. -
Just finished watching the PE Profile of the 4 candidates on TV.
I think only TCB and TT serious contenders. A chat with my bro today confirms that he too considering either one of them. Their "resume" seems pretty close, although Mr TT obviously helm ministries before and GIC etc… But then I consider the past Presidents, do we really need such a strong CV as our P?
Most importantly, Mr TT seems to be "singing the same tune" as Ah Gong. Somehow I feel uncomfortable about it. Thought Ah Gong just stepped down to give us Big Bro and now they want us to elect a Grand Uncle over us?
That’s why I am seriously considering kindly Grandpa TCB… -
DesertWind:
ha, so it is down to ayam vs ah bock for youJust finished watching the PE Profile of the 4 candidates on TV.
I think only TCB and TT serious contenders. A chat with my bro today confirms that he too considering either one of them. Their \"resume\" seems pretty close, although Mr TT obviously helm ministries before and GIC etc... But then I consider the past Presidents, do we really need such a strong CV as our P?
Most importantly, Mr TT seems to be \"singing the same tune\" as Ah Gong. Somehow I feel uncomfortable about it. Thought Ah Gong just stepped down to give us Big Bro and now they want us to elect a Grand Uncle over us?
That's why I am seriously considering kindly Grandpa TCB... -
ha, so it is down to ayam vs ah bock for you
That personal mailer certainly helps to wake up my idea. I thought it was so resourceful of him! :evil:
Have not been taking this PE seriously now that it is only one week away gotta start reading the papers and watching the TV profiles lor. (Actually I accidentally caught the TV profile since I was slumped on the couch after watching Japan Hour. Ke...ke...ke... :rotflmao: )
But Grandpa TCB wants to kick the PMO out of the Istana. Wah a bit too shocking for me leh? Hope he won't suffer when (if) he becomes the EP! Also he mentioned if he disagree with a major issue he would quit. Do I want a quitter ? :nunchuk:
Vote TT we will get another pseudo Ah Gong.... :faint: -
DesertWind:
When did he mention this? oni know he has this \"track record\" of quitting at the renaming of Jurong hospital incident.Also he mentioned if he disagree with a major issue he would quit. Do I want a quitter ? :nunchuk:
Vote TT we will get another pseudo Ah Gong.... :faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.