cwc:
Same here. All my previous maids had to use whatever available in the house. Peapot, you are solid :salute: Dun think I can tahan nor would employ them if my maids were to be as 'strict' as yours.[/quote]Personally I think if you are going to employ a maid you have to respect their religious beliefs. If she's just playing games that's a different thing but if it's truly what she believes then you have to respect that. That's one of the reasons that I have always gone for Filipinas.
I had 3 indo maids before and they didnt have those request. If they did, I would not have agree. They would need to use whatever available in the house.kaka:
[quote=\"peapot\"]Actually there are all kind of maids around. Eventhough my Indo maid can be relied on to work but she is just simply too pious. Pray 5 times a day and then now fasting for 1 month. Because of puasa, she cannot handle pork and must use plastic glove to cut pork. During puasa month, the chicken she eats must also be halal type!!! Sigh, many restrictions. She scrutinised all seasoning and read the ingredients label and ensure that there cannot be pork or anything remotely found to be a by-product of pork or else she will not use in the daily cooking.
I wonder whether she knows not many employers can tahan her ways. -
Anna Ng:
My second maid proved that i was wrong. She have been with me for a week and asking for transfer last Sat. She can cook well, taking care of my 1 yr old boy and neat in housework. However, she claimed that she prefer to look for old folk rather than child. (She have been taking care of old folk for 4 years in a same family). Then what to do? i have to let her go. I still don mind to hire a transfer maid but learn from experience, cannot get a single maid to take care of a child.hi admummy
Hai! I would rather change maid also. My dearest Philipino maid had left us 3 weeks ago and decided not to come back (heart broken). At first I die die don want transfer maid and single as I always think they don know how to take care of the children and got the mindset that all the transfer maids are being rejected one. However due to urgent need and after listen to my friend’s advice (she likes to hire transfer maid), I started to search around for transfer maid. Guess what! I managed to find a transfer maid (Philipino, 28, single) and surprisingly she is good. She has been working in S’pore for 4 years and Arab for 2 years. Anyway she only with us for 2 days, but at least my house is very clean and she can handle my 1 year old boy very well (she has been looking for old folk for 4 years in S’pore). I not really need to train her and just need to tell her where we placed our things. If you don like your maid, you may consider giving her a chance and deadline, no point to keep her. Don forget you are the one who pay for the salary why make yourself so stress? -
What to do. Now demand more than supply. Myanmmar maids also cannot make it. She is the best of all my maids, so no choice but to adhere to her requests. I think if a maid 70% good, then I count myself lucky. She also gave me nonsense when I didn’t give her off day and Hp. She wants to leave. So no choice. Now she has off day and Hp. Don’t know whether she will change later. Some maids are not easily influenced, so really depends on their character.
Anna, in the first place the maid didn’t interview u? My girlfriend went searching for a maid and she was interviewed by the maid. The Phili maid told her she don’t want to take care of young kids and she don’t want to work in big Hse. The maid told her what she was looking for in an employer. No young children and no big Hse. My galfriend says she only has 1 kid but the maid says likely you will have another one. So the maid turn her down. So I guess you need to tell the maid exactly what she is expecting before she starts work. Then will not any nonsense from them saying they don’t want to work.
Hi~ Peapot:
We did face to face interview in front of the agent. We got told her about the job scopes and we even told her that my son is just a year old and very difficult to take care as he is learning how to walk and need full attention. In fact she can handles well and also can make my son laughs till non stop, but she decided to ask for transfer as she wanted to take care of old folk.
Anyway, i feel blessful also at least my 2 maids do not have attitude problem, otherwise more blood vomit.
Able to get a transfer maid with 3 children, she is from small village and hopefully she can work out lor. -
Recently, I stop using maids and change to part time cleaners instead. I think that part time cleaner is cost effecient and easily available.
what happen to those maids that failed english test ? can we hire them to work in Msia ? anyone any idea on this?
Hi!
Long time never online as work start to busy and having a new maid. This round I am quite lucky as i get one ex-singapore filiphino maid. She with me for 2 months and so far so good, although still always have some minor comments like she like to find excuse to cover another which make me furious and held a lecture session with her. I rather she admitted mistake then push lies around. But after that lecture so far is ok. will keep you guys update again in few months later.
Thanks for all the advice… -
Lucky for you Anna. I hope your new maid works out.
Btw, when you come home do your maid comes out to greet you? Or do the maid hide inside her room and come out only when you call her?
I find my maid is behaving this way. Its worst sometimes when the house is big and when you come home there is absolute silence. The maid hides inside the room and don’t come out. You don’t even know if she at home. Eventhough I m out for only 45mins, the maid thinks its absolutely alright to hide in the room.
I just want to know if this is normal behaviour of most maids who has worked long in your house. -
hi peapot,
My ex-maid used to do this. current one also won’t run out to greet me. No issues. I just want the work to be done, and if I need help, for her to come and not pretend never hear.
If she’s indo, it could be cultural. I understand somewhere that becos indo houses are big, the ‘servants’ have their own living areas and won’t be hanging much around where their bosses are. A bit like dobby-ish pattern I gather, not sure if that’s correct.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.