All about Cakes & Cookies Baking

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    1.3k Posts 87 Posters 397.9k Views 1 Watching
      BlurBee

EatNonStop:
      Hee hee, have been mia for couple of weeks.....just to share with baking friends here my recent bakes....

Milo white choco chips muffins.

Oreo Muffins.

Pandan Swiss Rolls.

Chinese Chicken Paus....

Pandan Man Tou....

Chocolate swiss roll with nutella spread.
      Wow, all look :drool:

Can share the recipe on the Pandan ManTou? :please:
      I :love: ManTou.

autumnbronze

WOW! EatNonStop ..... :salute:

jtoh

Funz jie, I finally got some time to make the fudge with the choco cake which you posted some time back.. whole of my family loved it to the bits and infact there were some guests and they said its like what we buy from the shops....

Yes the fudge is actually quite a lot.. I still have some in the box but dunno wat to do as after a while u cannot use as it isnt that liquidy...

See the picture actually i couldnt take before since wanna keep for guests later hardly got chance since all gone liao...

http://i52.tinypic.com/16h9klk.jpg\">
          that looks positively delicious LKVM!!!!!! I'm sure it was gone in 2 mins.

jtoh

LKVM, can share the recipe for the chocolate cake and fudge you made? It looks so good!

micollh

anyone can share how u make frosting ? howa botu strawberry flavour frosting ? any idea where can i buy the strawberry paste/essence? i cant find in ntuc

jtoh

LKVM, can share the recipe for the chocolate cake and fudge you made? It looks so good!

I followed Funz recipe dear c this

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=18527&start=830

Thanks for the link, LKVM, and thanks for the recipe, Funz!

jtoh

micollh:
                  anyone can share how u make frosting ? howa botu strawberry flavour frosting ? any idea where can i buy the strawberry paste/essence? i cant find in ntuc

I think I've seen strawberry paste in Phoon Huat before. They probably carry all the ingredients you need to make frosting.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

No need to say thanks. Good things must share. And the original recipe did not come from me, hehe. Here's another cake recipe that I think is a keeper. Not gonna share the fudge recipe though cos the fudge was not nice. But the cake itself is really nice.

http://i1131.photobucket.com/albums/m560/cylsfun/275c0b0d.jpg\">

Cotton Pandan Cake
                    Ingredients :
                    60g butter
                    80g cake flour (i use top flour or super fine flour)
                    40g fresh milk (low fat)
                    40g coconut milk (Original recipe called for 80g milk but I replaced 1/2 with coconut milk to make it more fragrant)
                    6 egg yolks
                    6 egg whites
                    70g caster sugar
                    8-10 pcs pandan leaves - cut into small pieces, blend and squeeze out the juice (I blended the leaves with the fresh milk then strain the liquid)

Method :
                    1. Melt the butter, mixed in the sifted flour while the butter still warm.
                    2. Beat the egg yolks lightly and add in pandan juice + fresh milk & coconut milk slowly, mix well.
                    3. Add in 1/3 of egg yolk mixture to the butter mixture and mix well, pour in the remaining egg yolk mixture and mix well.
                    4. Whisk egg whites until frothy, add in sugar, continue to whisk till stiff stage.
                    5. Fold 1/3 of the egg whites to the egg yolk mixture till incorporated, pour in the remaining and mix well.
                    6. Pour in the batter into an 8\" cake pan, lightly bang the cake pan on the table to reduce air bubbles.
                    7. Bake in pre-heated oven at 170C for 8 mins using water bath, reduce to 150C and continue to bake for another 20-25mins or until the skewer comes out clean when you test for doneness .
                    8. I left the cake to cool in the oven

Instead of putting the whole baking tin into the water bath, I placed it on a rack and put 4 tart moulds filled with water under the rack instead. When the whole tin is sitting in the water bath, sometimes the bottom of the cake comes out pretty wet. This way, I get a moist cake but without a wet bottom.

Try it and let me know if you like it.

micollh

any simpler butter cake recipes? hee… the recipe i have use 250g (one whole block) of butter… which i feel too much? eventhough it tasted very rich but lighter one will be healthier i feel.

Funz…thanks for ur recipe… until now i have not made a pandan cake successfully… always flatten… and hard… sad…no courage to try again…

• FunzF Offline
                        Funz

Thank you for this recipe Funz.. I have few queries...

How did you get the layers of white and green one? also what do you mean by fold 1/3 mixture?
                        Actually not white and green lah. The picture shows the cake that I made with pandan fudge, so it was top layer, fudge, 2nd layer cake, third layer fudge, final layer cake. But the fudge recipe not so nice so not sharing. So sharing only the recipe for the cake.

fold 1/3 mixture meaning take 1/3 of the whisked egg white and mix it with the egg yolk & milk mixture. Thereafter then fold in the rest of the egg white.

Folding is the act of mixing in the egg whites. Using a spatula, lift the batter from the bottom of the bowl up to the top of the whites and dip the spatula to the bottom again and repeat the action until the batter is properly incorporated. With chiffon and sponge cakes we tend to say fold in the egg whites as we avoid stirring round and round in circles as that will deflate the cake.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 95 / 133