All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.9k Views 1 Watching
      sean wife

http://montessoriprogram.com/mathematics

Anyone interested in joining the above course in oct,pls pm me so we can save $47 each...
      Tks.

• vivilingV Offline
        viviling

I checked Summer Montessori in Jurong West already. This is their link. http://summermontessori.blogspot.com/

It is a new set up. I personally like it a lot because the teachers are warm, friendly and patient at explaining everything to me and in their interaction with the kids. They own the school and they teach themselves so I think it is vested interest that they do their best.

However, I am going to be objective here and list what I think are the pros and cons. For anyone living in the west to consider.

Pros

1. Low student:tr ratio.
        About 4:1 for Montessori time, and during class there are 2 teachers, 8 kids, for the age group I am interested in, the 2yr old group.

2. Wonderful teachers
        Super warm, friendly, patient teachers.

3. Good language modelling
        The standard of English used is good, at least from what I observed.

4. Both owners are trained Monte directresses, each with many years of experience.

5. kids have 30-45min Monte time each day.

6. Very affordable fees, since it operates out of HDB RC center.

7. They have very interesting activities: field trips, cooking, acting, music, dress-up, keeping pets like terrapin and fish in the school etc.

8. They have a sound reading program. Using Oxford readers.

Cons
        1. Operate out of HDB RC, so there are space constraints. There is a playground right outside the RC but within the school, it is not that spacious.

2. For those who like equal Chinese emphasis, this school has more English emphasis. Chinese takes up about 20-30min each day, but is mainly learnt through songs, stories and poems. I don't see many Chinese posters or books around, although the shelves are stocked with really many very good English books.

3. No transport service. According to the school P, most of the kids walk to school so there is no demand for a school bus yet.

Other points (can be a pro or con, subjective from parent to parent):
        1. There is a good mix of Singaporeans and foreigners. Ethnic diversity also pretty diverse.

2. They do quite a lot of worksheets, from what I see. There are projects and books or writing and worksheets for tracing (younger kids) to higher level activities for upper level. Children may move at their own pace. SOme classes will have kids at different levels so they do different worksheets.

3. Snacks are brought from home.

hi kabalevsky, have you checked out ichiban Montessori too? can compare ichiban vs Summer Montessori ??

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

sean wife:

Anyone interested in joining the above course in oct,pls pm me so we can save $47 each...
          Tks.

I only interested in the Grammar. If you are....can consider me as well? :evil:

cantbearit2

laughingcat:
            sean wife:

Tks.

I only interested in the Grammar. If you are....can consider me as well? :evil:

sean wife,
            I sign up liao leh....KS mah, sign up both phonics & maths. πŸ˜† Hee....but looks like we will c each other during e workshop. πŸ˜‰

laughingcat,
            grammar already attended leh. Will chk wif her wat other workshop in e pipeline for nex yr though.

• vivilingV Offline
              viviling

laughingcat - im interested in the grammar. but not this year as me delivering in oct. hw abt considering for next yr?

grammar class is good! do attend.

unlike Maths and phonics class (spread out over 4 Sunday afternoon) , grammar class is the biggest class (lots of mommies go), and it’s only 1 day session.

Champion

grammar class is good! do attend.

unlike Maths and phonics class (spread out over 4 Sunday afternoon) , grammar class is the biggest class (lots of mommies go), and it's only 1 day session.
                  phtthp,
                  have you attended the grammar class before? Y don u share with us your experience?

kimberly

Hello Everyone,

Non MMI school that are Montessori can be good too. They are not so commercialised and small boutique size to cater to small groups of children. Montessori curricullum is a complete and systematic one, esp now with the new primary 1 math syllabus by Lim Yi Chai called discovery math, many concepts are similar to Montessori materials.

I live in Jurong thus very much like this school : Summer Montessori. they have a blog at summermontessori.blogspot.com
                    They combine project, interesting art each week as well as montessori for children.

Kimberly.

kimberly

Sorry Forgot to add on,

Summer Montessori has enrichment each Saturday for 1.5hrs. Montessori Language and Mathematics. There are 2 teachers in the class, one main and one aide for maximum 8 children.

Kimberly.

• vivilingV Offline
                        viviling

where can we get montessori diploma?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 127 / 165

WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards
                        LaserEyeL
                        LaserEye