• comfyC Offline
      comfy

Just want to share about the HCL. For what I know the P3 HCL std in yr 2010 is tougher than the P4 HCL 2011. So E3 and rest of the parents don’t need to worry about HCL standard getting higher and higher, take heart. (unless there is change, of course). Infact, I heard from my friend, she said that P4 HCL is easier to manage, don’t have long chinese dictation to memorise.

E3, you must be very excited for yr dd today, rite? Anyway, best wishes for your dd and the rest of kids taking their GEP screening test today.

kohhweelin.010441gmail.010441com

gracy:

T recommended reading Comprehension passages from assessment books or exam papers which usually r narrative and short enough for students who dislike Chinese. Discuss the passages with them after that.

Do discuss with them the morals behind each story. Later can proceed to other passages.

Hope the above help πŸ˜„
        Thanks, gracy. Your advice is the exact same advice given to me by an ex-colleague who was a Chinese teacher so definitely worth more than 2-cents! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

comfy:
          Just want to share about the HCL. For what I know the P3 HCL std in yr 2010 is tougher than the P4 HCL 2011. So E3 and rest of the parents don't need to worry about HCL standard getting higher and higher, take heart. (unless there is change, of course). Infact, I heard from my friend, she said that P4 HCL is easier to manage, don't have long chinese dictation to memorise.

E3, you must be very excited for yr dd today, rite? Anyway, best wishes for your dd and the rest of kids taking their GEP screening test today.
          HELLO comfy! Ermmm, not very excited lah...hehe...not her first time taking exams...if I am very excited now...I think I'll go bonkers for PSLE... :rotflmao:

Thanks for your sharing and encouragement re HCL. πŸ˜‰

• comfyC Offline
            comfy

I think u will definitely be more excited for the Real big one… selection test. Anyway, after going thru so many tests, I don’t need you will be crazy about the PSLE. I hope I won’t. Mentally prepare for it now although till has 2 yrs down the road.

comfy:
              I think u will definitely be more excited for the Real big one..... selection test. Anyway, after going thru so many tests, I don't need you will be crazy about the PSLE. I hope I won't. Mentally prepare for it now although till has 2 yrs down the road.

Usually, I get more edgy a couple of weeks before school exams (CAs and SAs), but during the exam week, I'll know everything is no longer in the control of my hands...so there's nothing much I can do but to pray lor πŸ˜‰ Then comes the time awaiting for the results. That will be an emotional roller coaster for me...still trying to learn how to cope with that... πŸ˜„

I believe your dd is still coping well in NYPS. With good teachers and curriculum, she'll soar during PSLE. No worries. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

S6169

[quote=\"Jennifer\"]In case the sch circular dated 22 Aug 2011 is folded into airplane by some of the children, just sharing here:

There is a HOD for Maths now- Koh Cher Hern (dunno male or female).

Son told me HOD Math is a MALE.

I just did a search on \"Koh Cher Hern\"- \"President Award for Teachers 2004\", \"Best Mathematics Teacher\" & from St Hilda's Pri Sch.

Think PH Maths std is going up soon πŸ˜“

Janet, all the best for next year. 2013 will be my turn at PSLE :nailbite:[/quote]The performance of PH in NMOS and APMOPS is not so fantastic. Maybe this new HOD can do something on it.

S6169

gracy:

their T focussed a lot on reading out loud of the text, like when v learned Chinese in our younger days and which China does to their lower primary kids too. HPPS parents r encouraged to sit by DC' side and ask them to read out loud from text 3 times a day. As DC r already familiar with stories in text, this serves to reinforce their reading in preparation for oral and recognition of the words. πŸ˜„
                  Agree with you. It is a very good method to learn Chinese. But the problem is how to let our DC agree to do this especially 3 times a day. πŸ˜“
                  so far, my ds only agree to read his textbook once a week. I also want him to read those model Compo once a week but still 三倩打鱼一倩晒网。 :mad:

drickymummy

E3:

I just thank God that she can make it today cos she started running a slight fever last evening - too much sun over the weekends. This morning, she went to school with a stuffy nose but in good spirits. Whatever the results are, we trust in God. That will the best thing to do for us and my dd. πŸ˜„

The last time she sat for an assessment, she was down with sinusitis. It was during SA1 Science, and yet, she did amazingly well. Haha...

To us, it's just an assessment and exposure for her. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ I told her to just have fun while working on the questions and try her best. She replied how can something so serious be related to 'fun'? πŸ˜‚ Some of her classmates were painstakingly preparing for it and even cheered one another on in the class blog. πŸ˜„

E3, is your gal better Liao?

Ds said today's paper quite tough....anyway, wat is the point of preparing? If u r gifted, u will get in...if well prepared for the sake of the test..can child still cope with GEP program if heng heng get in?

I did nothing for the papers... Just wish my boy good luck tat's all... πŸ˜‰

drickymummy:

E3, is your gal better Liao?
                      She came back still sniffing a little but η”ŸιΎ™ζ΄»θ™Ž. By the end of the day, she had stopped sniffing. Think it was just an allergic reaction. Thanks!

Hi E3,

I hope your daughter recovers soon. All the best for today's screening.

Hi S6169,
                        Yeah, 2012 will the year Dragon kids have PSLE...Year 2K.
                        Neighbour's son sitting for PSLE this year...just thinking of it makes me sweat. I've had few friends who have kids sitting for PSLE this year and they told me, 'It's your turn next'. :nailbite:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1374 / 2049

tigroxbystellaT
                        tigroxbystella