Presidential Election 2011

1.7k Posts 157 Posters 404.5k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      ZacK

ZacK:

- Someone who is sincere, earnest and wanting to help his people. Do not have personal contacts with him even though I grew up in Ayer Rajah constituency but I understand that he is really well-liked by people on the ground. On more than one occasion have I heard through separate discussions with my friends that TCB does ask the sick and needy to go to his clinic for free treatments, you cant get more civic-mindedness than this.

This may only shows that he may be a good man.. but not necessarily a good president.

If there is no absolute power in place, I may have supported TCB. But in the current state of things, The ruling party has absolute power.. and I feel we need a stronger president in place.
      ZacK:
      - Someone principled (I agree with his reason that now is not the right time to be saying that $500K pay is enough and the rest should go back to the people or that one will donate half the pay etc. If one so desires, this should be done after the incumbent is voted in) and does what he say he will do.
      I feel there is nothing wrong with the other candidate declaring this BEFORE the election. He is just making his stand. And sorta tell pple \"what to expect\" if he is voted in..

IF only the PAP does the same thing.. Letting pple know what to expect BEFORE the elections.. e.g. transport fare hikes, CPF minimum sum up etc etc.. :evil:

I accept that there will be differing views and considerations 😉 .. Just like over lunch, in one colleague's family they support 3 different candidates lol

• Z Offline
        ZacK

Angelight:
        Zack, totally agree with you on your assessment. you've really spoken my thoughts.

ZacK=:

Every one will have their own \"selection\" criteria... Given the candidates this year and noting that there is none that really stands out as the obvious choice... At this moment my vote seems to be swinging towards TCB, just verbalising my thots below and in no way am I advocating/influencing anyone's decision :

- Someone who is sincere, earnest and wanting to help his people. Do not have personal contacts with him even though I grew up in Ayer Rajah constituency but I understand that he is really well-liked by people on the ground. On more than one occasion have I heard through separate discussions with my friends that TCB does ask the sick and needy to go to his clinic for free treatments, you cant get more civic-mindedness than this.

- Someone principled (I agree with his reason that now is not the right time to be saying that $500K pay is enough and the rest should go back to the people or that one will donate half the pay etc. If one so desires, this should be done after the incumbent is voted in) and does what he say he will do.

- Someone who should have enough experience to know how the govt works and knows the system. Thus rather than taking the confrontational stance may be able to his knowledge of the system to make/influence changes in his own ways.

- At least known to be someone who airs alternative views even though he was with PAP.

TT though he certainly has the stature and wealth of knowledge, I am just afraid that he will be more of a \"yes\" man than TCB. Given his many years in cabinet, just curious to know how many times he actually \"veto-ed\" or aired alternative views on govt policies? And having greater linkages to the govt, may cause dissent on the ground should he be voted in.

TJS, personally I still doubt his motive. Not saying that he will not be the right candidate but I think he needs to do more at the \"grassroots\" level, at least to evidence to the people that he really has our interests close to his heart. Maybe his time will come in the future but not at this point, at least for me. Confrontational and not knowing the boundaries of the constitution may either lead to frustrations on his part or disappointment by the people due to the \"promises\", of being the check and balance and alternative voice so to speak, he made as part of his election campaign. Not principled enough i.e. tendency to \"bend\" under pressure at least in my opinion that I would like to see in a figure head.

TKL, may not come across as confrontational as TJS, probably wants to be the champion/hero of those smaller voices in society. Personally I do not quite agree with views on NS etc. At this point, probably the weakest candidate of the four for me.

:hi5: ... We are not alone... Just found out one colleagues shares the exact same views 🙂

Strparent

dingdongrc:

[quote=\"hquek\"]I think there was a write up on the meanings behind the logo. For TT, besides his trademark specs, it's also indication of having long term view.

Specs is actually for shortsightedness.. he's telling pple that he's \"short sighted\"? cannot see far..

er...at 71, how far you want him to see? :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :siam:[/quote]yes.....and how strong and firm do you think he can be against a powerful Goliath ? TCB is same age as TT. Though TCB has many virtues as a concerned citizen, I doubt he will be able to stand up for the people vehemently when called to do so. He already stated he will resign if he strongly disagree on an important issue. Then how ? If EP surrender, then who guards the vault to our reserves ?

Just for comparison,
          OTC was 57yrs old when he became President, and he was always questioning proposals and issues which were vague.
          SR Nathan was in his 70s when he became President, and he approved dipping into the reserves for reclamation and Sers purposes in the early 2000s - and we as citizens ONLY knew of this fact in the last days through the social media effort.

TJS is 57, TKL is 63, TCB and TT are 71..........

and how old would they be in the next 6 years ? Still can have enough energy to be goalkeeper ? or be passive like SRN ?

hquek

Hearing a lot and musing some. TJS keep talking about heart - for the pp and for SG. But I really wonder, in all these years, he seem to be rather quiet (other pp stand in as MP or do other types of community/grassroots work), how come suddenly this year then got so much heart? From the rally, it was said he only joined politics this year after his mum passed away.

It’s easy to say i will donate how much; but action leh? Is he going to show his donation receipt to the whole world?

I respect this guy for standing out, and for having come so far despite his humble beginnings.

Respect is one thing. For MY president, I want someone who is balanced and steady, I want someone to unify SG. I don’t need him to rock the boat, but I want him to stand out and say when something is not correct. I think I see all this in another one and that’s where my vote is going.

Way2GO

Hiya Zack, agree with some good points in ur assessment.

My first choice at the beginning of the campaign was the good doctor from Ama Keng TCB, but now I wonder whether he has the energy and stamina.

On TJS’s motive, my musing is this.
              It could be that he wanted to test the PEC system on COE but his real target is to increase his public recognition and exposure in preparation for next GE. He has achieved this, so I am surprised he actually stay on to fight in the race instead of pulling out and giving his support to TCB, which would have gotten him more goodwill and political capital for GE 2016. By making it a 4 horse race, he and TKL hv handed the advantage to TT. But I wouldn’t doubt his desire to serve the ppl.

Though I wouldn’t favour a President who is there to meddle with the smooth functioning of state just for the sake of opposing, his combative style may be just what we need at a time like this – to unify the ppl behind the same banner and common cause; with the moral courage to speak up for the ppl without fear or favour when gahmen policies are not aligned with ppl’s aspirations.

IMHO, TKL is a spoiler in this race. He may hv the desire n the heart, but he is clearly out of his element in dis campaign. But he is smart enuf to ask for donations to fund his deposit, he probably knows he is not getting it back. 😉

Despite his past reputation n stature, what I hv seen of TT's performance in dis campaign thus far has only shown him to be a skillful Taiji master demonstrating his formidable adroitness at answering questions with excessive verbiage that yet says little of his personal stand on issues.

The toss-up for me is between TCB n TJS at this point.

Way2GO

:hi5:

thot ur previous posting convey a different understanding.
                🆒

Angelight:
                Way2go, of course i know, cos that's the way it applied on TJS too. You see Nicole Seah, Ang Yong Guan and that Vincent guy all speaking at TJS rally to support him (so called in their personal capacity). And they are all from opposition party. So in a way, TJS is also \"endorsed\" by the opposition political parties, even though he kept saying he is \"above politics\".

Angelight:

Just to correct, PAP did not endorse TT, only the unions and some clans. 🙂

Big fish

Actually I don’t like any one of them, one too mild,one too PAP, one too aggressive and the last one too uncle. Si liao, don’t know who to choose!!!

Big fish:
                    Actually I don't like any one of them, one too mild,one too PAP, one too aggressive and the last one too uncle. Si liao, don't know who to choose!!!!!!!!!!

I thought they are all uncles? :?

limlim

Talking about unify and division…

At the WP rally in May, I saw the meaning of "one united pple"…

Not at the NDP, not on TV sawing some MP playing with HP when singing national anthem…

Pples seems to suggest that TJS will cause the pple to divide… I tends to believe in the opposite… He may be able to unite the pple like the way WP did at the rallies.

On the other hand… TT may cause the pple to be even more divided… esp when pple hear of the 12 year deferment, and the many things he has done… nicely summarized in some clips as posted by fellow forumer…

On the issue of "rocking the boat"… Since the EP has no real active power, how is he ever going to rock the boat??? This term is more like fear mongering… Much in the same favor as the fear of PAP losing majority of the seats at the last GE…

Voicing out opinions in public on questionable policies (should there be a need) is not "rocking the boat"… by any measure, I believe.

hquek

Big fish:

Actually I don't like any one of them, one too mild,one too PAP, one too aggressive and the last one too uncle. Si liao, don't know who to choose!!!!!!!!!!

I thought they are all uncles? :?

thought it's only 1 uncle and 3 ah gongs?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 86 / 172