Presidential Election 2011

1.7k Posts 157 Posters 404.6k Views 1 Watching
      concern2

There is truth in what you say. However, when it comes to politics, or any high positions, you have to agree that the way one speaks has tremendous impact on forming people's opinion about them - not just for women, but for men too.
      Anyway, my intention isn't really to mock, just my personal observation, it's actually quite :offtopic: šŸ˜“

Chenonceau

insider:
        if a man appears on a political stage being boyish and childish, he will attract the same kind of labels and few will take him seriously.

You can decide NOT to take someone seriously but it is no excuse to call a young lady a \"chick\".

I am very girlish and I speak in a squeaky voice... but many a CEO have sat through my presentations and read my research reports (and put money into implementing my recommendations), and many a CEO have commended my work. There have been cases where clients WAIT for me to free up my schedule... and they write my name into the contract so that they will get MY personal attention. My DD is girlish too but she has already edited a book and presented her research in a research seminar Germany. She is not yet 18.

But if you hear my DD speak, she sounds childish and young BECAUSE she IS young. Sharon Au is an attractive young lady. Give her a break. Don't call her by a derogatory term like \"chick\".

To equate stupidity and incompetence with girlishness is to write off many a female's ability to contribute before she has contributed. It is unwise because females form slightly more than half of the Singapore population.

concern2

šŸ˜‚ Sori 🤷 . Really have nothing against Sharon Au, just thought that the moment she started talking, with the animated girlish gestures, they reminded me of someone. Just want to see if anyone share the same observation.. šŸ˜‰

I talk with girlish gestures too... Just because Sharon Au supported a candidate that she believed in (and that you don't) does not mean that we should denigrate her for being girlish. There are already few enough women in parliament as it is... what is wrong with being girlish? Girls don't have brains?

Sorry... I dun mean to be unpleasant. I just don't want us to become too insensitive to how women view politics and politicians... and I don't want men to mistake girlishness for stupidity and incompetence.

I wonder if it is right to make this comparison now that we are on this topic of gesture: if a woman taking part in a similar election make girlish gestures is viewed as lack of substance, would a man who speaks with a lot of hard hand gestures be viewed as aggressive and confrontational? Hope I am not side-tracking too much, just something to think about, and no offence intended.

Chenonceau

Anyway, my intention isn't really to mock, just my personal observation, it's actually quite :offtopic: šŸ˜“

Teeheehee! Yeah lor... kinda... šŸ˜„

Chenonceau

I wonder if it is right to make this comparison now that we are on this topic of gesture: if a woman taking part in a similar election make girlish gestures is viewed as lack of substance, would a man who speaks with a lot of hard hand gestures be viewed as aggressive and confrontational? Hope I am not side-tracking too much, just something to think about, and no offence intended.

Ah yes... and for that reason many have chosen NOT to take TJS seriously... but did anyone call him a bast***? Just stay away from derogatory terms that specifically target women and you can continue to expound your political views.

A choice of candidate is a personal one. For various reasons, we may choose NOT to take someone seriously... and give reasons for it. However, in KSP, we want to maintain a civil and respectful tenor when debating our views... and so let's refrain from calling people names like \"chicks\".

Strparent

Chicks is a highly derogatory term for a young female. I am sure you have sisters and daughters who were once young. Don't call young females \"chicks\". They are young ladies, and even if they have different political leanings than you, you should show some respect.

This thread should not become an excuse to put down young women with ambition and views just because these ambitions and views are not shared by you.
                definitely :offtopic: here on this.

All comments and terms posted are personal and not meant to be sexist nor derogative. I have also expressed my opinions on others - men, young and old - eg lackey, yes-man, ah beng, jia liao bi, etc etc. Also terms like ah gong, gangster, etc has been used. Some may take slight offence as well, but they know they are terms in heated exchange, no malice intended. why the sudden defence now ? Everybody can have their own opinions of course.

actually according to Urban Dictionary, 'chick' is not a bad term in modern society. But if it ruffles some feathers, I will refrain from using that term in future here in KSP.

http://i52.tinypic.com/14j5gcj.jpg\">

http://i56.tinypic.com/2gyae12.jpg\">

Chenonceau

Strparent:

All comments and terms posted are personal and not meant to be sexist nor derogative. I have also expressed my opinions on others - men, young and old - eg lackey, yes-man, ah beng, jia liao bi, etc etc. Also terms like ah gong, gangster, etc has been used. Some may take slight offence as well, but they know they are terms in heated exchange, no malice intended. why the sudden defence now ? Everybody can have their own opinions of course.

actually according to Urban Dictionary, 'chick' is not a bad term in modern society. But if it ruffles some feathers, I will refrain from using that term in future here in KSP.

Ok then... it is sweet and gentlemanly of you to concede this to a lady like me. Thank you. šŸ’‹

It would be good if you would also refrain from \"lackey, yes-man, ah beng, jia liao bi, etc etc\" and all other name calling. Just lay out your reasons for supporting such and such a candidate without abusing them online. :please: Pretty please!

Way2GO

Strparent:

Chicks is a highly derogatory term for a young female. I am sure you have sisters and daughters who were once young. Don't call young females \"chicks\". They are young ladies, and even if they have different political leanings than you, you should show some respect.

This thread should not become an excuse to put down young women with ambition and views just because these ambitions and views are not shared by you.

Am surprised to read dat 'chick' is a derogatory term.
                    In our younger days, we guys use d term to refer to a young attractive girl in a positive light.
                    Calling a female 'chicken' would hv been offensive, but 'chick'? hmmm...
                    If I hv a daughter, I wouldn't mind overhearing guys say of her, 'That's a nice chick'!

Strparent

again :offtopic: , paiseh.

Hi Chenonceau,

:salute: :salute: thank u for yr understanding. OK, I will try to refrain from any forms of name labellings......but it's very difficult when I am so one-sided on a particular topic :rotflmao: :rotflmao: All we want is a better Singapore for our children's future.

I also have a young daughter, and a few teenage nieces. I guess if someone called them the 'c' term, I may be slightly worked up.........but my nieces actually beamed with sheepish pride when the boys call her a hot 'c' !! :faint: :faint:

Chenonceau

Am surprised to read dat 'chick' is a derogatory term.

In our younger days, we guys use d term to refer to a young attractive girl in a positive light.
                        Calling a female 'chicken' would hv been offensive, but 'chick'? hmmm...
                        If I hv a daughter, I wouldn't mind overhearing guys say of her, 'That's a nice chick'!
                        It is easy enough to try and justify the term as non-derogatory after it has been used. I actually can prove to you that there was a time and a place where the word \"girl\" actually referred to \"young boy\".

However, examine the context that it was used in, in this thread, and it will be clear that it was meant to be disrespectful. It was a term that connoted \"young\", \"attractive\" and therefore stupid.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 94 / 172