Presidential Election 2011

1.7k Posts 157 Posters 404.3k Views 1 Watching
      Strparent

puff:
      If u still cannot decide who to vote ... Maybe a simplify version will help u 😄

Who would you put in a room to watch your kid to make sure he do his homework properly?

1) his best friend
      2) the teacher that he don't like
      3) grandfather that he knows he can easily convince him not to tell u if he misbehave
      4) A uncle that your kid think he can step over
      Puff :hi5: ,

good analogy indeed.

much like what Basil Hwang spoke about below, about looking after a classroom - you cannot appoint your friend, even a monitor - you need an independent separate individual.

He gave the analogy at around the 6.35min point..... the rest of his speech was not bad either

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdApqzFQ0gQ][/youtube]

Strparent

Strparent:

walao wei, Way2GO :rant: ,

you label with all these animal names, not afraid to kena yellow card for being DEROGATORY ???
        Semalam saya baru cakap satu 'anak ayam', sudah kena shoot. :sad: :sad:
        [quote=\"DesertWind\"]Personally, any reference to any animal is not nice to me. :skeptical:

All animals are equal.. but some animals are more equal than others..

guess this applies to Dogs and ayam too..? :evil: :evil:[/quote]Hi limlim 😉 ,

I think Way2GO knows that I was just saying in jest, a little harmless poking to lighten the mood. :imanangel: :imanangel:

mr Brown's no.1 impression of the the 4 candidates

http://i51.tinypic.com/vqhbax.jpg\">

again, just a little humour detraction :xedfingers:

sleepy

So, essentially, there will be 3 different powers, each performing different and important roles. It is 三足鼎立, firm and steady.

3 powers like 三国演义 ?
          can expect war of tongues

Way2GO

sleepy:

So, essentially, there will be 3 different powers, each performing different and important roles. It is 三足鼎立, firm and steady.

3 powers like 三国演义 ?

If only we hv a Kong Ming against d Cao Cao's juggernaut. 😉

Way2GO

A simple strategy of divide n conquer in PAP’s game plan

n many like me r now faced with a dilemma tmr.
              If d contest was only bwt TCB n TT, my vote would hv gone to d Golden Retriever.
              I suspect many others would hv voted d same way.

In d current scenario even if I discount TKL,
              it’s still quite close bwt TCB or TJS against TT.
              D only way TCB or TJS can win against TT is if d undecided swing voters ALL
              chose d same ONE contender (TCB or TJS) most likely to win against TT.
              A difficult proposition since both TCB n TJS camps think each is d one.
              No one can rally all behind one banner.
              Got to hand it to the PAP for a very effective strategy learnt from the British.
              Don’t even need to get their hands dirty.

concern2

If d contest was only bwt TCB n TT, my vote would hv gone to d Golden Retriever.

Got to hand it to the PAP for a very effective strategy learnt from the British.
                Don't even need to get their hands dirty.
                So your interpretation would be no PAP supporters for TCB?

concern2

sleepy:

3 powers like 三国演义 ?

I would interpret he means 谁也吃不了谁.

Way2GO

On the contrary. TCB will not hv enuf of d other non-PAP votes to win.
                    TCB’s core group would hv been PAP grassroots n other PAP supporters not persuaded by TT's reputation.
                    He was d first to throw in his hat n was probably banking on d 40% who voted
                    against d PAP to support him in his bid. Even against TT in a one-to-one
                    scenario, he stood a real good chance of getting elected.

Now d 40% will be split three ways n d middle ground, four ways.
                    Whichever way one looks at it, TT has d advantage with d PAP hardcore, elites, pro-business groups, unions n clans oredi in his bag.

kiddo

Don't even need to get their hands dirty.

There's the concern that this PE eventually going this way 😓 😓

caroline3sg

I have slight difference in analysis on the 60%-40% splitting into 4 candidates.

The 40% hard core pro opp would vote for TJS (probably 3/4 of votes).

Substantial chunk of 60% (living in the west, where quality of opp candidates for GE are not comparable to WP) voted opp to bring down PAP %. This group would vote TJS.

Hence it is TT 30%, TCB 30%, TJS 30% & TKL 10%. We shall see how much % points shift amongst the 3 candidates.

I believe forumers here don’t mind whether TCB or TJS win, as long as not TT.

If TT wins, then really S’pore 完蛋了. Taxi drivers will continue driving till 75 yrs, goal post of CPF withdrawal will further shift backwards and don’t need to hope CPF employer contribution will hit 20%.

PS. I am not figures oriented. Just guts feel.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 113 / 172