Fun Materials, Books & Games For Phonics!

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    216 Posts 33 Posters 91.8k Views 1 Watching

maltbibi:
      Hi Buds

I have not tried out the cards yet. Intend to play with her these few days. Guess she will love the cards πŸ™‚

Will try my luck at Popular at BPP or Lot 1. Thanks for sharing this with me. Have enquired from the distributor but they have not get back to me yet. Btw, do you remember when do you bot it? Isit recently?

Hehehe..how I wish I can go shopping with you at the Popular roadshows.. Sure will find many treasures πŸ™‚
      Heyya maltbibi, sowie.. :oops:
      Cannot recall when exactly i bought it but definitely
      quite sometime back. The thing is, with lots of new
      books coming up, the stores dun exactly have space
      to permanently display all the books they have, so in
      this light... the roadshows will open up the best hidden
      secret treasures again... and at an even better price! πŸ˜‰

I have tried to get some series from them too and
      they told me to wait for their roadshows. But if i can
      get it at a glimpse somewhere else, i still just get it..
      No need to wait for the roadshows. πŸ˜‰

Oh yes, maltbibi... I dunno how to be a gold-digger
      ie.fleece men of their money kinda' woman... :lol:

But i sure am a great treasure finder. πŸ˜‰

Tho' not in monetary sense...
      these treasures benefits me &
      my children anyhow. πŸ˜‰

Is your child a visual learner?

A simple explanation of learning styles is this: Some
        students remember best materials they’ve seen, some
        remember things they’ve heard, while others remember
        things they’ve experienced.

Visual learning is a teaching and learning style in which
        ideas, concepts, data & other information are associated
        with images and techniques. It is one of the three basic
        types of learning styles that also includes kinaesthetic
        learning and auditory learning.

Does your child :-

1. Love pictures... and can appreciate in detail the illustration
        in books...

2. Have the ability to piece jigsaw puzzles independently or
        almost without help...

3. Like to draw, paint, doodle..... like maps, cartoons...

4. Remember where you parked your car in the multi-storey
        carpark...

5. Like to build stuff from junk... like architectural designs from
        matchsticks/cards, build boats from boxes, (etc)

6. Have a good sense of direction...

If yes to all or almost all of the above, these books will delight them.

ADVENTURES IN LITERACY By Ruth Thomson guides children
        from their first steps in Phonics.

TEN TINY TEDDIES is an alphabet book where the children can
        first be introduced to alphabets and letter sounds using this colourfully
        illustrated book. Invite children to search for objects beginning with one
        particular alphabet or letter sound to help them take that first step to
        literacy.

http://www.postimage.org/

Sample pages from TEN TINY TEDDIES.

There is also a NOTES section/page for teachers and parents to help with
        the representation of sounds of each alphabet. πŸ˜‰

FOUR SPECKLED FROGS introduces how consonants can go
        together to form blends. Another lively book where children can
        play the EYE-SPY game. You can get a magnifying glass for fun
        activities with your child. Cheap ones can be bought over at
        Value shops or Daiso. πŸ˜‰

Sample page from FOUR SPECKLED FROGS.

TWO BLUE COCKATOOS shares rhymes with fun-filled illustrations
        and a few games to help children recognize and create their own rhymes.
        In this book, children search for pictures for objects that rhyme. Good for
        reading to the child, reading with the child or reading alone (if the child
        can already manage). πŸ˜‰

Good for advance readers or children who have finished with consonant
        blends and digraphs in Phonics classes.

Sample page from TWO BLUE COCKATOOS.

There should be a total of 4 books altogether.
        I didn't manage to get one of the books in this
        series, which is the 'Vowel Sounds' book.

Bought from Popular almost the same time when
        the PULL & LEARN PHONICS series were launched.
        The ADVENTURES IN LITERACY is hardcover and
        priced at only SGD$6.90... and yes, that's before
        member's discount. πŸ˜‰

Busymom

Ya, busymom... sometimes one can find treasures in
          normal shops. As SAHM, i am always on the prowl for
          value-for-money products! πŸ˜‰ Smaller pockets.. :oops:
          So, my sharings are to help parents get good finds or
          even share DIY stuff to benefit our children.
          :salute:

Just to share.. :lol:
          Chief has a book similar to mine.
          He bought at Borders for like SGD$30.
          I bought it at Popular for SGD$13.00.
          When i say he ATAS type; ONLY go
          Borders to buy...(meaning upper-class...)
          hahaa... He explains, it's just more of the
          convenience factor to get it at Borders... πŸ˜›
          But, still... about the SGD$17 savings... :idea:
          Dun quite agree leh. I dun find books in Popular being priced cheaper than Borders. And when Borders has the 30% sale recently, really :x that I had paid so much more at Popular.

Paiseh... Paiseh... :oops:

Guess... it depends on the books
            bah.. :oops: And mebbe also to
            take into consideration, each
            company's respective sales
            periods or seasons.

I do agree if Borders is near
            to workplace or home then of
            course why go all the way to
            a Popular store if they have
            the same kind you're looking
            for...

Unless of course if half-priced!
            :!:

Yah, 30% then quite worth it lah.
            Especially for good books! πŸ˜‰

So, when Borders got sale you
            share here, okie? I mountain
            tortoise and very kampong
            (ie. village)... So i oni shop
            within my kampong oso... :oops:

Thanks in advance, Busymom.

Does your child like to watch the cartoon series called

CLIFFORD the big red dog? If your child enjoys the
              adventures Clifford has with Emily Elizabeth & his
              friends, your child is sure to like this set of books.

CLIFFORD, THE BIG RED DOG
              PHONICS FUN READING PROGRAM

I just bought the whole set a couple of days ago @
              Lot 1 Shoppers Mall (Choa Chu Kang MRT) Popular
              bookstore. It was sold in Popular before now but i
              did not recall it being cheap. So when i saw the
              poster on this promotion, i thought it would be
              a good buy now.

Cannot remember exactly the last day of this promo
              but these Phonics readers are available @ a Buy 2 pks
              get 1 pk FREE. On top of that, for every three packs you
              get to bring home a cute Clifford dog on wheels. Comes
              with a yellow string your child can pull along for all his
              reading adventures with the readers. πŸ˜‰

Each pack of 12 reading books are colourfully illustrated.
              I would have preferred them to be hardcover, but alas all
              are paperback. Books are easy to read & graded in
              numbered packs. There are 6 packs altogether.
              Each pack costing SGD $19.90.

Note for parents/teachers

Sample pages to share..

There are also repetitive sight words your children can practise
              on with these Clifford readers, on top of the phonetic emphasis
              of each book. The Lot 1 Popular outlet has one open pack for
              browsing purposes, which i like. πŸ˜‰

I paid altogether SGD $79.60 for all 6 packs.
              Totalling the readers to 72 books in all, plus
              2 cute Clifford pull-toys. πŸ˜„

Busymom

So, when Borders got sale you
                share here, okie? I mountain
                tortoise and very kampong
                (ie. village)... So i oni shop
                within my kampong oso... :oops:

Thanks in advance, Busymom.
                :oops: Sorry. Thought that everyone would know already leh, as it was advertised on the papers.

No problem, would love to share good news with everyone, especially with you, buds.

Thanks Busymom.

Until when yah...? :idea:

I suppose i missed
                  the big ad larr..... :oops:

Busymom

Actually, the sale over already... :imsorry:

It was probably a couple of weeks ago.

Sure got more sale coming up at year-end. :xedfingers: Promised to tell you when I know, ok?

Wesim

Hi Buds

Is the Clifford pack promo sold at all Popular bookstore?

I still can't find the rest of the books that you have recommended 😒

Busymom:
                        Actually, the sale over already... :imsorry:

It was probably a couple of weeks ago.

Sure got more sale coming up at year-end. :xedfingers: Promised to tell you when I know, ok?
                        Guess i read KSP postings more than the papers... :oops:

But next time, you know lah hor...
                        I'll need all the ads i can get when
                        it comes to sales... outside my village! :lol:

Thanks in advance!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 10 / 22

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies
                        SkillsFuture course recommendations