Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.7m Views 1 Watching
      SMH FOREST

hi hi…

about talking to other maids… my take is… its really dependent on the maid’s character… i for one, don’t wanna take a risk with a new maid, who is to spend the entire day alone (no supervision) for > 8 hrs a day… its better to lay down the rules from the beginning, than to regret or repent if things goes wrong… if she is of good character, and has proven that she is trustworthy, then i def have no issues with her chatting with some frens…

more imptly… she has to learn the rules first, before she is given the allowance to "fly" or "venture"… if she cant even follow the schedules or rules, then she hasnt earned the trust…

i cannot agree with comparison with us going overseas to work… we are not living in our employer’s houses, with direct access to their private lives… our helpers are living with us… so, since the situation in our house is that she is going to be home alone while we are at work, and my boy is in cc, i just needed to tell her what is right and wrong, before she goes around thinking that she is on holiday or here to make frens n not wkg for her family as she had intended to…

hquek

Hi smh_forest,

Agree with your posting. Forgot to put down that I only let her do these (make friends etc) after sometime. When they are new, I will even ask my mum to suffer and not go out so much. Else, the maid is alone most of the day at home.

• AdmummyA Offline
          Admummy

SMH FOREST:
          hi hi...

i cannot agree with comparison with us going overseas to work... we are not living in our employer's houses, with direct access to their private lives... our helpers are living with us...
          :goodpost:

SMH FOREST

Hi smh_forest,

I think you have done your part (and more) to her. on the walking away bit, my indo maids also the same. When i got really angry, I raised my voice and told her that I am NOT done, and it's rude for her to turn away becos that means she's boss. I think there is some cultural thingy there. But in time to come, they learnt to stand there and let me vent.

Though my indo maids would usually start with the red eyes, tearing a bit that type. Woah, that one lagi worse. I rather they just look sorry and say that.

Was telling my current one something that she neglected to do - DS2 put some cards into his pocket and forgot to take it out, maid happily soaked the whole thing in water without checking. But I made the point clear that DS, myself also have a share in the blame - we also should have checked before passing to her. No point making her feel worthless becos it's everyone's fault and I don't want her to say I wanna go home. Was very mollified when she expressed her apologies. Case closed.
            hi hquek,

ya.. the 2nd indo i had was exactly those type... eyes red, and cry... then ask to go bk to agency liao!! :faint:

my sentiments exactly that she has to earn it... already gave her more cos' its hari raya... and we really think that its their most impt time of the year, and it will be good for her to call home... n also some new clothes so she will be happy wkg for us...

nonetheless, im hopeful... hopefully she will turn out fine and will complete the contract... at least she is listening when we explain or tell her she is wrong.... tho sometimes, the walking away with no response doesnt tell me if she understands or not.. and thats when i will call her back and ask her again n again what she understand blah blah blah... 😓

SMH FOREST

Admummy:
              smh_forrest,

Your experiences sound so familiar to me..mine also everytime bring her out, sure talk to other maid (despite being reminded)... sama sama on the phone calls..she used up the $10 calling card by spending two hours on one call..we also out of goodwill sponsor calling card even though she just joined my family less than a month at that time..she even cheeky said deduct from her pay when we explained to her how she should use the card wisely..her pay now is only $20 monthly ( due to her loan)...Yah when ask her to do things like clean fan.. she will say \"difficult\", not even attempting to try..hai..really blood boil with her sometimes but every time make me angry and scold her then feel apologetic...afterall she is so young and poor thing to come here alone...now I pray no.3 quickly grow up and I will not rely on maid anymore..then the expenses on the maid will transformed to my pocket money..think of all the money save... 😂
              hi Admummy,

one other reason is cos' its the first time i brought her out to jalan jalan... and she broke the rule right on the first trip out... :faint:

hahaha... i think at least ur maid is apologetic... i had to ask repeatedly before my helper responds to me... but i also just realised this morn that she is still doing her translations frm english to bahasa... so, will give her more time in that... but 1 thing tho, she is stingy in being apologetic despite doing her translations... so, hopefully she will learn and change and follow the rules and schedule... that will be good enuff already!! :xedfingers:

ya... they r so young... mine is young at 23yo... and with a 3yo kid herself... so, i will remind her that she is here to earn $ for them, and not here for fun... when we went jalan jalan... she was so engrossed in seeing the sights and people that when me and my hub stepped into a bank and was talking to the bank staff, she was still looking out at the sights when my 2.5yo boy started to wander off ard the bank... had to call out to her to watch him! n had to do it twice, cos she was distracted a 2nd time!! :faint:

SMH FOREST

Hi smh_forest,

Agree with your posting. Forgot to put down that I only let her do these (make friends etc) after sometime. When they are new, I will even ask my mum to suffer and not go out so much. Else, the maid is alone most of the day at home.
                hi hquek,

i also made my parents suffer now... they now commute to my plc every wkday to watch over the maid, and also to teach her how to cook! but this is only for the beginning... have yet to figure our for how long too! haizzz... :scratchhead:

peapot

Ya, actually sometimes quite sad. We hire a maid because we need additional help but end up getting our parents or inlaws to watch over the maid. If only the maid would be more sensible. This probably explains why our birth rate is so low.

When I was staying in Bukit Panjang last time, maids will having afternoon gathering downstairs. I m talking about 5 to 8 maids at any one time. Till today I m still wondering why their employers are so relax with them.

If I ever get a transfer maid, I would prefer her ex-employer to be strict with her and lay down the rules. That will be easier for the next employer.

Anna Ng

ya lor, i hire a nanny to assist my maid and hire a maid to assist my nanny and at the end i also confused who assist who liao but the fact is my pocket got 2 holes as i need to pay both sides.

Yesterday i took a day off to supervise my new maid (5 days with us and 1 mth with her ex-employer) and noticed that she seem like not able to handle the workload and look quite lost (attitude ok, willing to learn but a bit slow). I am thinking to send her to nanny’s house for 2 weeks training.

• AdmummyA Offline
                      Admummy

Anna Ng:
                      ya lor, i hire a nanny to assist my maid and hire a maid to assist my nanny and at the end i also confused who assist who liao but the fact is my pocket got 2 holes as i need to pay both sides.

Yesterday i took a day off to supervise my new maid (5 days with us and 1 mth with her ex-employer) and noticed that she seem like not able to handle the workload and look quite lost (attitude ok, willing to learn but a bit slow). I am thinking to send her to nanny's house for 2 weeks training.
                      Anna,
                      wow, your nanny so fortunate leh...so thoughtful of you to engage a maid to assist the nanny...but double cost for you, very siong..if both were engaged to take care of your kid, aren't there duplication of duties? i remembered during my confinement, my confinement lady(CL) and maid got conflict of interest and in the end my bb suffer...

I believe your nanny's primary role is to take care of your child right? if she cannot cope and need help, why not change? or you can let your maid understudy your nanny then when she's ok then you can do away with the nanny...

personally i think having a maid (if she is a good one) is more \"useful\" than a nanny since she is with you 24hrs (of course intention is not to make her work 24hrs but at least she's there to \"standby\" whenever need arises)...JMHO...

Anna Ng

Admummy:

I cannot let my maid alone at home with my 1 year old boy that’s why i send them to nanny house. While waiting for my new maid, the nanny is the one who take care of my baby. And now my nanny’s role is to "look after" and "train" my maid not the baby. I was doing this to my first maid and eventually stop nanny’s services when we felt that my maid can handle alone and when we trusted her. My nanny understands where we from and she enjoyed this as my maid is helping her to do some housework.

Ya lor! is double costs but what to do? if i only hire a maid then nobody do housework and also nobody go to fetch my elder and second child from childcare centre, unless i quit my job but at this moment definitely need a maid.

My new maid is slow but at least willing to learn. She looks very stress when i feedback to her that she needs to improve. I saw her keep reading the "house rules and daily tasks" which i written to her and explain to her on the first day she arrived. Just hope she can hasten up the learning process.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 580 / 1032