2011 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    9.4k Posts 546 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
      Tinkerbelle

Brenda10:
      Leanne:

Hi Brenda,

You are doing topical English revision for your dd.

Ds fav is English, so he doesnt get a chance to do it unless he has completed the rest of the task.
      S and T is an impt session.

I guess meantime, I think most impt is stay healthy.

Cheers,
      Leanne

Hi Leanne

Glad to hear that EL is your DS favour subejct! šŸ˜‚

Usually we will do that before the exam since we don't do any assessment book for EL and CL and also to clear those past year papers too!

True, rest if important and tht's why today she go her friend house for happy hours!

No prelim papers for today! :rahrah:

Hi Brenda,
      DD also hadn't done much for EL & CL. Sometimes, I feel that we are really neglecting the languages. Was thinking of letting her finish all the maths & science 2011 prelim papers first before doing the language papers but now, think I might throw in MT papers for her to give her a break from maths & science.

I'm sure your DD will enjoy herself today...NO prelim papers leh ..haha. Enjoy the movie tomorrow. šŸ˜‰

Brenda10

Tinkerbelle:
        Brenda10:

[quote=\"Leanne\"]Hi Brenda,

You are doing topical English revision for your dd.

Ds fav is English, so he doesnt get a chance to do it unless he has completed the rest of the task.
        S and T is an impt session.

I guess meantime, I think most impt is stay healthy.

Cheers,
        Leanne

Hi Leanne

Glad to hear that EL is your DS favour subejct! šŸ˜‚

Usually we will do that before the exam since we don't do any assessment book for EL and CL and also to clear those past year papers too!

True, rest if important and tht's why today she go her friend house for happy hours!

No prelim papers for today! :rahrah:

Hi Brenda,
        DD also hadn't done much for EL & CL. Sometimes, I feel that we are really neglecting the languages. Was thinking of letting her finish all the maths & science 2011 prelim papers first before doing the language papers but now, think I might throw in MT papers for her to give her a break from maths & science.

I'm sure your DD will enjoy herself today...NO prelim papers leh ..haha. Enjoy the movie tomorrow. šŸ˜‰[/quote]Hi Tinkerbelle,

True, that's why I think is necessary to just do some before the exam to recap the grammar rules or CL HYPI, ci yu usage!

Yes, I would think DD will have great time there! She will be having lunch at her friend house and permission granted until 5pm! Hopefully she doesn't mess up people house! :nailbite:

Tinkerbelle

Leanne:
          Hi Tinkerbelle,

I just hope during psle, he doesnt comment that its a bad question...its no return liao...

Side track, as our dd and ds are taking psle this year, just wonder, does six year make a big different to what it is now?Asking this, cos I have seen many pri one and two children marathon tuition.Am I outdated?

Cheers,
          Leanne
          Tinkerbelle:

[quote=\"Leanne\"]Hi Brenda,

That was what exactly in my mind.He tends to say its a bad question when he cannot find the answer.Not sure its really bad or he is lousy...

Cheers,
          Leanne

Hi Leanne,
          Given that maths is your DS's forte, don't think it's because your DS is lousy la....keke.... šŸ˜‰

[/quote]Hi Leanne,
          Yes...guess that's a concern most parents have...that our kids will not perform up to their usual standards during PSLE. Like you mentioned, there's no return or any second chances for PSLE.

It seems like it's a norm now for K2, P1 & P2 children to go for some form of enrichment. DD2 mentioned that majority of her P2 classmates go for enrichment lessons. :skeptical:

Yes, looks like things have changed since our DS/DD were in P1. Are you planning on sending DS2 for some enrichment too? :evil:

Pen88n

Tinkerbelle:
            PiggyLalala:

[quote=\"James Ang\"]This question is from a neighbourhood school prelims.

P6 Math
            Leslie bought some sweets and gave 2/3 of it to Alan. Alan bought some chocolates and gave 2/3 of it to Leslie. Leslie ate 6 chocolates and Alan ate 6 sweets. The ratio of Leslie's chocolates to sweets become 2:1 and the ratio of Alan's chocolates to sweets is 4:5. How many chocolates did Alan buy?Ā (5 marks)

Just curious to know,
            How did your dd/ds solve the above question? model or algebra?
            Also how many of your dd/ds solve all the maths questions by model only? Do you teach them solve by algebra?
            Hope to hear from the parents here. Thank you.

All the best to your DD/DS in the coming PSLE.

Hi PiggyLalala,
            DD solved the above question with models. She finds it easier to visualise this question with the aid of a model. šŸ˜‚

However, she usually prefers to use the unit transfer method and simultaneous equation to solve most of her maths questions. She thinks it's faster than drawing models.

What about your DD/DS? What does he/she prefer?[/quote]DS used algebra to solve this question.

Brenda10

Tinkerbelle:
              It seems like it's a norm now for K2, P1 & P2 children to go for some form of enrichment. DD2 mentioned that majority of her P2 classmates go for enrichment lessons. :skeptical:

Yes, looks like things have changed since our DS/DD were in P1.:evil:

Hi Tinkerbelle

Just to share with you that during my visit to Library this few months, I can observe quite a lot of very young age children are reading books beyong their level and also they can speak either EL or CL that is very very well!

Think the standard will raise again! :nailbite:

Tinkerbelle

Brenda10:
                Tinkerbelle:

Hi Tinkerbelle,

True, that's why I think is necessary to just do some before the exam to recap the grammar rules or CL HYPI, ci yu usage!

Yes, I would think DD will have great time there! She will be having lunch at her friend house and permission granted until 5pm! Hopefully she doesn't mess up people house! :nailbite:

Due to time constraint, DD usually only revise for EL the night before her exams.. :oops: Think must change strategy for PSLE.... Too much at stake for PSLE. šŸ˜‰

For MT, did your DD's sch set ci yu questions beyond the textbook for the prelim papers? DD mentioned her sch tested on words not found in text book. Do you know if that's the norm for PSLE too? Tks.

Wow.....your DD very shiok....can stay till 5pm....what a lucky gal. Mummy can also go and relax and pamper yourself ya... :imanisland:

Tinkerbelle

Pen88n:
                  Tinkerbelle:

[quote=\"PiggyLalala]P6 Math

Leslie bought some sweets and gave 2/3 of it to Alan. Alan bought some chocolates and gave 2/3 of it to Leslie. Leslie ate 6 chocolates and Alan ate 6 sweets. The ratio of Leslie's chocolates to sweets become 2:1 and the ratio of Alan's chocolates to sweets is 4:5. How many chocolates did Alan buy?Ā (5 marks)

Just curious to know,
                  How did your dd/ds solve the above question? model or algebra?
                  Also how many of your dd/ds solve all the maths questions by model only? Do you teach them solve by algebra?
                  Hope to hear from the parents here. Thank you.

All the best to your DD/DS in the coming PSLE.

Hi PiggyLalala,
                  DD solved the above question with models. She finds it easier to visualise this question with the aid of a model. šŸ˜‚

However, she usually prefers to use the unit transfer method and simultaneous equation to solve most of her maths questions. She thinks it's faster than drawing models.

What about your DD/DS? What does he/she prefer?[/quote]

DS used algebra to solve this question.[/quote][/quote][/quote]
                  Hi pen88n,
                  Algebra is a good & fast method to use but at this stage, some P6 kids are still not familiar with using algebra so.... your DS is really good. :boogie:

Pen88n

Brenda10:
                    Tinkerbelle:

Hi Tinkerbelle

Just to share with you that during my visit to Library this few months, I can observe quite a lot of very young age children are reading books beyong their level and also they can speak either EL or CL that is very very well!

Yes, I think the standard has risen. DD in P1 is doing work which DS used to do in P2. A lot of her classmates have tuition for languages and Maths. I am still of the opinion that these are not necessary at this age, and they should read to improve languages instead, so have not sent her to any classes. Sometimes, the KS part of me will question if I'm denying her the opportunity to develop her fullest potential by not sending her to classes. But I also believe the foundation should be built based on reading, not sending to classes and learning grammar rules and vocab by doing assessment only. Quite a dilemma at times.

Tinkerbelle

Brenda10:
                      Tinkerbelle:

Hi Tinkerbelle

Ya lor....the benchmark has certainly been raised! DD2 told me her P2 classmate is reading Harry Potter :shock: . My DD2 is nowhere near that standard yet!!! Maybe next time, P4 will start with Shakespeare... :rotflmao:

Brenda10

Tinkerbelle:
                        Due to time constraint, DD usually only revise for EL the night before her exams.. :oops: Think must change strategy for PSLE.... Too much at stake for PSLE. šŸ˜‰

For MT, did your DD's sch set ci yu questions beyond the textbook for the prelim papers? DD mentioned her sch tested on words not found in text book. Do you know if that's the norm for PSLE too? Tks.

Wow.....your DD very shiok....can stay till 5pm....what a lucky gal. Mummy can also go and relax and pamper yourself ya... :imanisland:
                        :hi5:
                        Haha, for CL we use to do that but since this is an important exam think is better to sort out during this few weeks.

I'm not sure but I think is possible that they have one or two questions that using some new words otherwise most of them should be able to score well.

Also noted ē†č§£é—®é¢˜ are also being asked in the different way, as such the children has to understand the quoted passage or phrases otherwise cannot answer lah!

Yes, think she will be very happy as can play for so long! :rahrah:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 256 / 944

PriyaSankarP
                        PriyaSankar
                        tanzhdragonT
                        tanzhdragon