DSA 2011

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    9.2k Posts 317 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      cylg

firefly38:

Ya, RI 1st choice.. Actually DS only wanted to apply for RI (his dream school) but we advised him apply for one more school, so he applied for HCI as well. What about your DS?
      he is very laid back type...still taking his own sweet time...but probably will be RI πŸ†’

jtoh

yukilei:
        vlim:

[quote=\"yukilei\"]Before the NJC saga, I thought it might be slightly easier for Geppers to try for non-SBGE sch DSA... I've even told my ds before that maybe he should choose a non-SBGE sch for DSA to \"play safe\".

oh, How very wrong I am..... :roll:

Have not heard or read abt DSA to RVH in this forum. Any parents can share on this?

You can go to the RVHS thread to check it out.
        Btw if your ds will not take up the CO from the non sbge schools which u have mentioned, even though tt is the only CO tt he get, then actually can forget abt trying ... While this is just my view, as if he accept a school tt is not his dream school at all.. Then later when psle result come out and u find u meet the cop of one of his dream school.. I believe u will appeal and so forth which I heard is very troublesome ... Anyway Jmho ....

vlim & jtoh, no lah, I won't ask him to try for non-SBGE sch. That was my thought earlier before I start reading KS forum. Anyway, my ds has already make it clear to me that he wont apply for these sch. He said if there's no CO/WL, he'll based on his PSLE result. Then he'll decide which sch to go. & if his result is good, it's his turn to choose the sch, not the sch choosing him. πŸ˜‰[/quote]Great attitude! πŸ™‚

vlim

vlim:

Maybe u are right yukilei... Can u remember those tt posted here and said their kids or some one kids got NJC co, are they mostly mainstreamers or geppers :scratchhead:

Mine is a mainstreamer.

Hi phankao, your p6 ds got CO from ChS and NJC?..

r2010

yukilei:
            Zann:

So far, every year, approximately how many GE kids score >90%, how many >87%, >85%% >82% and so on at P6 SA1?

one of my DS classmate has been consistently getting > 90% for his p4 & 5 result. Just heard fm ds that he has gotten CO fm NUSH. He is one of the top 20 in 2011 NMOS.

If the boy can score above 90 percent. He is good in every subject and very good in maths. Ri might be a better choice for the boy

MandyMummy

r2010:
              yukilei:

[quote=\"Zann\"]So far, every year, approximately how many GE kids score >90%, how many >87%, >85%% >82% and so on at P6 SA1?

one of my DS classmate has been consistently getting > 90% for his p4 & 5 result. Just heard fm ds that he has gotten CO fm NUSH. He is one of the top 20 in 2011 NMOS.

If the boy can score above 90 percent. He is good in every subject and very good in maths. Ri might be a better choice for the boy[/quote]Agreed. Usually all-rounders tend to go to RI or HCI. It is very difficult for NUS High to attract this group of students.

Interested

hipomum:
                ngbrdad:

[quote=\"tall71\"]My friend called NJC this morning. They said that only 20% of the 2nd round got CO and all COs have been sent already.

20% ? That's probably explains why so many here were disappointed.
                What are they trying to do this year ?
                Returning to 150 enrolment ?
                Or increasing the number of S1 intakes ?
                If so then their cop will definitely drops.

Cannot understand the logic, if only intend to take in such a small handful, why need to shortlisted so many? A waste of their time gg thru interview n also waste our time n energy..... They should only short the potential few n not let so many go disappointed.[/quote]Seem not very good impression of NJC here :nunchuk: ...just to share how my ds n I felt when we go to the open house. Not impressed with the talk and also the attitude (very civil servant lor) ...decide not to apply (although mayb apply might not get oso lar...fm what i read here). ..Felt sorry for a boy who went there himself trying to find out whether he got chance to get in (i think he's from another sec sch) after talking privately to the VP after the session, I find he felt very sad and went off. I dunno what the conversation is about but I felt the VP should have handle it with more compassion. Imagine he went there himself which show that he's trying to work towards his dream school which should be encourage.... :sad:

• phankaoP Offline
                  phankao

vlim:

[quote=\"vlim\"]Maybe u are right yukilei... Can u remember those tt posted here and said their kids or some one kids got NJC co, are they mostly mainstreamers or geppers :scratchhead:

Mine is a mainstreamer.

Hi phankao, your p6 ds got CO from ChS and NJC?..[/quote]Sorry, salah number.... my no.2 got CO from NJC in 2009 - now Sec 2 already. My no.3 got CO from CHS.

• phankaoP Offline
                    phankao

Interested:

Seem not very good impression of NJC here :nunchuk: ...just to share how my ds n I felt when we go to the open house. Not impressed with the talk and also the attitude (very civil servant lor) ...decide not to apply (although mayb apply might not get oso lar...fm what i read here). ..Felt sorry for a boy who went there himself trying to find out whether he got chance to get in (i think he's from another sec sch) after talking privately to the VP after the session, I find he felt very sad and went off. I dunno what the conversation is about but I felt the VP should have handle it with more compassion. Imagine he went there himself which show that he's trying to work towards his dream school which should be encourage.... :sad:
                    Surely will have that lah. My elder boy went to RI for DSA last time and was kept waiting for 3 hours also. He hated the school ever since.

• Y Offline
                      yukilei

r2010:
                      yukilei:

[quote=\"Zann\"]So far, every year, approximately how many GE kids score >90%, how many >87%, >85%% >82% and so on at P6 SA1?

If the boy can score above 90 percent. He is good in every subject and very good in maths. Ri might be a better choice for the boy[/quote]I understand that the boy is very interested in NUSH. However, the father is not so after he visited RI. Then the mother is having headache cos DH & DS has different view. Well I guess this is a good headache.

Funx3

vlim:

Maybe u are right yukilei... Can u remember those tt posted here and said their kids or some one kids got NJC co, are they mostly mainstreamers or geppers :scratchhead:

Mine is a mainstreamer.

My Gal's Sch Mate with NJC CO Also from Main stream.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 745 / 919