Club 2007 Kiddo
i haven enroll DD in any maths enrichment yet… cos dunno which one is good… will stop shichida after Dec this year… after that thinking of drama and speech at act3… any good maths enrichment to recommend ?
sean wife:
I totally get wat u mean.. b4 classes start.. did u actually tell the teacher b4 abt ur kid's learning capability? I find tat we shld often let them noe so tat they can make the best out of wat they noe to teach our kids..Thanks for your feedback, MintyMin…
Xactly as what you have said, young kids may not voice out that they need help and if they get stuck for too long, or wait too long for teacher to come around, high chance they will lose the interest. I do see my kid always call ‘teacher’ when she needs help or need teacher to check answer, but I can see that she gets bored when she has to wait and wait….of course, we can say that learning to wait for their turn is part of the learning process, but why delay her from moving on to the 2nd box activity after she is done with the 1st box activity?? I find it quite poor thing lor, especially when I see my kid try to look for her booklet herself so that she can find the sticker for the 2nd box…to be fair, my kid is not the best well-behaved kid with the longest attention span and fastest learner, in fact, she has been uncooperative at times, which make me all the more worried that if I feedback to the centre owner, the teacher will purposely make things even more difficult for her, and in turn, she becomes even more uncooperative….
That’s why thinking of alternatives now….
At mathshub.. so far for my case.. i do let teacher noe hw talkative my DS is.. n what he is weak in.. n Hw my DD1 require a lot of attention, so haf to let her do someting once she finishes if not she will keep calling out for u.. tat kind.. but of coz.. having said tat.. kids do not usually behave the same in front of teachers n in front of us.. but communication with teacher is the key to helping our kids learn.. tatz wat i feel..
I tink it is impt for u to let the teacher noe abt tis.. n m sure they will tell u they will try their best to do wat they can best for ur kid..
Mintymin,
Actually this kind of self-learning program is quite subjective in terms of how the teacher handles the class….she did feedback that my younger one more focused, my older one more playful and less focused, which I agree and I recommend the teacher to be more stern with them, blar blar blar…I just stop short of telling her can I take over the materials and guide them myself, hahaaa……she is the 2nd teacher they have since beginning of this year, and I find the first teacher so much better….actually this kind of feeling about teacher very hard to explain, but I am glad you get what I mean…
Which branch of mathshub your kids are at? Any teacher to recommend??
Miccohl,
Actually most maths enrichment can be classified into a few categories, and you can read from the maths enrichment thread, but all boils down to the teacher…having been through different classes, I really feel getting a good teacher (or one which gels with the kid) is just like getting a good maid, heng suay one……different kids need different kinds of teachers, but usually our instinct can tell us whether the child can bond with the teacher and vice versa… -
sean wife, i follow the maths enrichment thread but i still dunno which is is good… like u said some said this is good but teacher at certain centre not good… so i also dunno which to enrol… confused…
try everything? hahaha…but seriously I know of some parents from their classes which have multiple enrichments for the same subject, because they train different aspects…for eg. CMA with Montessori, CMA with MPM, Montessori with MPM…I even know one who has Jelic(MPM), CMA and Montessori. It’s good if the kid can take it lor…mine will probably cry murder…
But you never try you never know….go for a trial and see the feeling, but again, if the child is slow to warm kind, one trial is not a good indication…maybe a term will be better. -
tt's why.. im not sure which one to \"train\" DD.. haaa.. they r using different methods.. even more confuse me..

i dun like to go trial.. cos one lesson cant tell u anything, my DD likes anywhere she goes.. so hard to tell ! sigh.. am still waiting for some \"enlightenment\" -
sean wife:
Sean wife, :hugs: totally got it..Mintymin,
Actually this kind of self-learning program is quite subjective in terms of how the teacher handles the class….she did feedback that my younger one more focused, my older one more playful and less focused, which I agree and I recommend the teacher to be more stern with them, blar blar blar…I just stop short of telling her can I take over the materials and guide them myself, hahaaa…..she is the 2nd teacher they have since beginning of this year, and I find the first teacher so much better….actually this kind of feeling about teacher very hard to explain, but I am glad you get what I mean…
Which branch of mathshub your kids are at? Any teacher to recommend??
My kids are at Bukit Batok Branch.. this is the main branch.. teacher to recommend ah.. hard to say leh.. each individual kid learns differently.. my DD used to go for Monday late noon class.. i like the teacher as she get along wif the kids well.. to my kid.. it is like gg there to play rather den study.. she totally enjoys it.. as for the saturday class.. u can c there's no hyper in her gg for it.. but she does learn in saturday class.. n still love learning at mathshub.. therefore i did not insist to change her bak to Monday class.. though i did ask if she wants to.. but she say its ok.. so i m still looking at hw is her progress b4 making the decision..
Hi sean wife,
Good to see you here too.
I don't view Jelic as self-learning. The teacher must teach to ensure that the child is able to understand and then let the child do the activities in the box. From what I can see, the activities in the box has different levels from easy to difficult.
For my case, the teacher will take turns with each child. Sometimes, my child will sit there for a while waiting. I think I will teach DS, once finish a card to raise his hand to get teacher's attention. Will see how that work out heehee. I have similar materials from Taiwan but not sure if it's comparable to Jelic's range. Will have to open the boxes to check heehee.
At the end of each lesson, the teacher will brief me on what are his weaker areas for me to revise at home.
Jelic is advanced in the sense that the prog expect the child to know how to read at three yrs old. There are some activities dealing with reading at his level. I :faint: I just nod when the teacher told me DS needs to know how to read.
Did you highlight to the teacher about the mistake on the worksheet and activity? I find that parents need to show that we know what's going on. If we do not show concern, the teacher will be more lax. That's my experience. -
Hi SAHM_Tan,
With the new teacher, I have even made myself visible to her sitting outside the centre during the lesson, so she definitely knows I am looking…
She also feedback to me after the class. She does not really brief the kid what to do for each box, unless the kid ask for help. My kid also will call her when she needs her to come over, some lessons are better, some lessons the teacher really take her own sweet time…yesterday was the worst when my gal finish the evaluation worksheet, she waited for the teacher to come over and then walk away…I thought my gal do wrongly need to change, but no leh, then like 5 minutes later, she came and then take the paper away then let my gal choose sticker for next box….and actually it was a very easy box, like just find the correct tile to match the picture in the booklet (to observe small difference). My gal was doing herself, also never wait for teacher to check…teacher was busy organizing worksheets at the sidetable, and at that time, only my kids were in the class. Then my gal finished and keep the box, was stopped by the teacher who apparently ask her to do again, but still she never check… After the second round of doing, she then point to each page of the booklet and ask my gal to point to the correct tile….does it sound right to you?? Doesn’t this bore the child?? -
Morning everyone…
Have a good day…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.