DSA 2011
True, the child's self- esteem is more important.MandyMummy:
This thread is getting more interesting. With so many enlightened parents, RI will be flooded with a lot of early appeal cases this year, since every unsuccessful DSA application can appeal. RI has more than 1000 DSA applications, they are going to be busy, unless parents decide to go through S1 posting ( for high T-score). 
If your PSLE score is too far below the COP, no point appealing. It'll be a waste of time, effort and money, plus the child may not be happy in a school where he's at the bottom of the cohort.
yukilei:
Bingo yukilei!.. Hope Interested understand by now too...
Thks strparent. To summarise, if DSA no CO/WL or WL not converted to CO, appeal immediately after PSLE result if result is > COP. Then wait. If no response by S1 posting exercise, apply thru S1 posting exercise.
Hi All,
Thanks for the explanation.
May I ask, does RGS and NYGH accept appeal before the s1 posting when one did not or did apply via dsa route?thanks.So, best to appeal if t score is slightly above the schools cop?
Best Wishes,
Lenny -
Lenny08:
if you have NOT applied DSA before, what is there to appeal before S1 posting ?Hi All,
May I ask, does RGS and NYGH accept appeal before the s1 posting when one did not or did apply via dsa route?thanks.So, best to appeal if t score is slightly above the schools cop?
Best Wishes,
Lenny
obviously if you did not make it one of your choices in the S1 submission, you also have no basis to appeal after the s1 result is out -
Thanks for the reply.
To clarify, so if did apply dsa for one of the school, for example RGS, rejected, can one appeal after the psle results is out, before the s1 posting, should the results is one or two points above the cop?Thanks
Best wishes,
Lennyverykiasu2010:
if you have NOT applied DSA before, what is there to appeal before S1 posting ?Lenny08:
Hi All,
Best Wishes,
Lenny
obviously if you did not make it one of your choices in the S1 submission, you also have no basis to appeal after the s1 result is out -
MandyMummy:
With so many enlightened parents, RI will be flooded with a lot of early appeal cases this year, since every unsuccessful DSA application can appeal. RI has more than 1000 DSA applications, they are going to be busy
Pls note that RI charges $20 for each application under Supplementary Intake, and if not taken GAT during DSA phase, will have to pay also $60 for the GAT process. So hor, if really so many kiasu parents go for this SI phase, $$$ next year, RI do not need to ask for donations for their Teachers' Day event liao :evil:
:laugh:
btw, HCI appeal case is FOC........ so be prepared for donation requests later, :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Lenny08:
yes you should, before S1 submission. if they approve your appeal, no need to do S1 submissionThanks for the reply.
To clarify, so if did apply dsa for one of the school, for example RGS, rejected, can one appeal after the psle results is out, before the s1 posting, should the results is one or two points above the cop?Thanks
Best wishes,
Lenny -
curious …
a) if only 1 point just below RGS / COP, can still appeal ?
b) if hit exactly right on the dot RGS / NYGH COP, does it mean students can go in, or still compete with rest of the cohort who score much higher - due to limited vacancies left since so many from GEP had already gone in earlier, based on CO & successful WL?
if still need to compete, means no guarantee that even if child meets minimum COP entry …can go in. -
think when you appeal, u r still competing with other appellants who may have higher t-score. Ya?curious ...
a) if only 1 point just below RGS / COP, can still appeal ?
b) if hit exactly right on the dot RGS / NYGH COP, does it mean students can go in, or still compete with rest of the cohort who score much higher - due to limited vacancies left since so many from GEP had already gone in earlier, based on CO & successful WL?
if still need to compete, means no guarantee that even if child meets minimum COP entry ....can go in. -
Thanks, Nebbermind. I suppose you’re right. i suppose after all which school doesn’t want to take in cream of the top, the best of the best candidates ? now i can fully understand why so many applicants rushing for DSA exercise.
if that is the case, ie. if school only wants take in the top calibre candidates, then the school might as well wait for all PSLE results to be announced & collated, then at one shot key / punch in all the applicants’ grades into the school computer system, sort out in descending sequence the T score of applicants (sort from high to low). Then based on the limited vacancies left from DSA CO / WL offered, the school will know who to offer to.
if this is the case, appeal also no use …
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.