Nanyang Primary
Not fluke lah. I'm sure they have some criteria, just that they don't tell the parents nor the kids.
never heard of such \"IQ selection\" lah !! who is conducting the IQ test ?hamster:
Is very shocking to hear about this so called IQ Selection for Primary One Students. Is too early to stream them. Agreed??
I hope all this streaming is not true for P1. The school should concentrate for those weaker students. Agreed??
But we said also no use.. Hope the school don't put TOO much pressure for our little ones only P1 leh....
may be they learn I queue at the canteen lah ... :rotflmao:
I thought in recent years the P1 move up to P2 enbloc. End of P3 there is a mass reshuffling due to GEP posting and so on
but my DS time actually got reshuffled moving from P1 to P2 to P3 to P4 but NEVER told the criteria....but that was last time....every year got reshuffled until P4
but they seem quite accurate in putting students of equal ability in the same class...may be fluke one -
Atan:
Maybe this is something new for P1 this year?hamster:
[quote=\"Mvm\"]yes, they do, but only for one lesson a week. But for those in need of learning support it is more often.
Hi Mvm
You mean the only one lesson a week, is for high IQ students? or for special talent students?
Sorry just want to re-confirm.
DS in P3 now and the only special classes we know of are 'remedial' for the weaker students in P1/2 and '深广' chinese classes in P2 for selected students. However, the sch would not keep a secret abt such classes; relevant circulars would be sent out to all parents. if anything unsure, should call the sch then speculate.[/quote]DD is in the 深广 Chinese class since term 3, I think. The lesson is just once a week. No, we weren't informed by the school. We heard it from our child talking about it. Didn't think too much about it, was just planning to ask her teacher more about it at the next meet-the-teacher session.
Not sure if they have this for other subjects though. -
Busymom:
I recalled my dd got a slip of paper when she was P2 to say that she was in the 深广 Chinese class. So we were informed by the school leh...
DD is in the 深广 Chinese class since term 3, I think. The lesson is just once a week. No, we won't informed by the school. We heard it from our child talking about it. Didn't think too much about it, was just planning to ask her teacher more about it at the next meet-the-teacher session.
Not sure if they have this for other subjects though. -
mommyNg:
Got a slip of paper? May I know what did the slip say?
I recalled my dd got a slip of paper when she was P2 to say that she was in the 深广 Chinese class. So we were informed by the school leh...Busymom:
DD is in the 深广 Chinese class since term 3, I think. The lesson is just once a week. No, we won't informed by the school. We heard it from our child talking about it. Didn't think too much about it, was just planning to ask her teacher more about it at the next meet-the-teacher session.
Not sure if they have this for other subjects though.
Sigh, guess maybe DD has lost it again... she is quite careless about all these things. Even MC can also get lost in school... :slapshead: -
We don’t know also, I only heard from one parent happened to mention about the IQ special selection test. I also have doubt if is really true?
The only way to find out is to ask experience kiasu parent. They know better than anyone else.
Is the right place to mingle for correct information. -
Seankrismom:
How about contacting the teachers in charge?Does anyone know if there are auditions for the String Ensemble for the 2012 Primary ones? Who do I contact?
I note that the CCA days for String Ensemble is wed and Thurs. Is that for 2 days?
MDM ADELIN TOH TAN PENG [email protected]
MOK SZE HUI [email protected]
SHIRLEY ONG [email protected]
I believe for the 2 days, one day is for lower primary and one for upper primary. -
Busymom:
If I recall correctly, the slip of paper stated her name, class, and the \"type\" of Chinese class she is in - 深广 or XXX (can't remember the exact word they used for the other class). According to my dd then, she said most of her classmates were in the 深广 class..
Got a slip of paper? May I know what did the slip say?mommyNg:
I recalled my dd got a slip of paper when she was P2 to say that she was in the 深广 Chinese class. So we were informed by the school leh...
Sigh, guess maybe DD has lost it again... she is quite careless about all these things. Even MC can also get lost in school... :slapshead: -
hamster:
hamster, I think it is best to call the school or the class teacher to ask.....We don't know also, I only heard from one parent happened to mention about the IQ special selection test. I also have doubt if is really true?
The only way to find out is to ask experience kiasu parent. They know better than anyone else.
Is the right place to mingle for correct information.
mommyNg:
Thanks I may check it out during the next parent teacher meeting.
hamster, I think it is best to call the school or the class teacher to ask.....hamster:
We don't know also, I only heard from one parent happened to mention about the IQ special selection test. I also have doubt if is really true?
Is the right place to mingle for correct information.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.