All About Grooming & Encouraging Good Reading Habits

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    847 Posts 178 Posters 414.8k Views 1 Watching
    • SerendipityS Offline
      Serendipity

Hmm… i tried to search on NLB online catalogue. Cannot find leh… Or am i searching by the wrong way? I tried searching by "Usborne" and the titles of the books.

• SerendipityS Offline
        Serendipity

Oh, okie! Finally figured it out… managed to find the links in the NLB catalogue.

Thanks mummy of 2!

But still wondering if i shld buy cos more convenient for easy reference and reading.

hquek

hi serendipity,

Advise you to look out for these books and try out first. I am a ‘victim’ of too many books in store and many of these we don’t re-read. Unless you have multiple kids to pass down too, you may find storage space is limited for the other titles to be bought.

bingjun.038257g

micollh:
            bingjun.g:

Mine is also at 3a now, getting new words NAND I also hv to slow down. She more like to read the previous two books loudly cos no new words mah 🙂 then I just let her read lor , no harm. But for the new pages, a bit headache. Dun want push her cos afraid she will lose interest, I hope learning is funfor her. , but if not push , her progress is slow, 😞 dun know what level need reach before she be in pri 1?

how old is ur child now? mine still have 2 years to P1.. still have time i hope.

Mine is in K1 this year, 5yrs, next year need register for p1, 😞 another headache here about the registration pne as my area is crowded (Jurong west). :stupid: One more year to pri 1. dun know whether is considered as slow for her progress as in the book 3a. I hope still have time 😞

micollh

bingjun.g:

how old is ur child now? mine still have 2 years to P1.. still have time i hope.
              Mine is in K1 this year, 5yrs, next year need register for p1, 😞 another headache here about the registration pne as my area is crowded (Jurong west). :stupid: One more year to pri 1. dun know whether is considered as slow for her progress as in the book 3a. I hope still have time :([/quote]

no stress, just try ur best to get her to read as much as she can besides P&J i read story books to her and also i set goal, each month, she will read a short story on her own that we read to her daily/alternate day.. the story will only have 10pages the most.. this way, i feel, she can remember the usage of words in sentences too.. so far it works for her and me..

mummy of 2

hi serendipity,

Advise you to look out for these books and try out first. I am a 'victim' of too many books in store and many of these we don't re-read. Unless you have multiple kids to pass down too, you may find storage space is limited for the other titles to be bought.
                I second that. I'm also a victim of too much buying. And usually DS won't reread fiction books.

• SerendipityS Offline
                  Serendipity

mummy of 2:

hi serendipity,

Advise you to look out for these books and try out first. I am a 'victim' of too many books in store and many of these we don't re-read. Unless you have multiple kids to pass down too, you may find storage space is limited for the other titles to be bought.

I second that. I'm also a victim of too much buying. And usually DS won't reread fiction books.

Hahah... thanks hquek and mummy of 2 for the words of advice. Will see if I can restrain myself... 😓

hquek

mummy of 2:

hi serendipity,

hee hee, I'm a victim of my own making. :oops: Now I stick to buying books that can't be easily found in the library, or classics that I love, or books with very nice covers (very shallow, but it looks good). started on the Nicholas series becos exterior is like fabric, very pretty. Lucky the series is fantastic read - shallow does have its rewards. :faint:

hquek

Serendipity:
                      Hahah... thanks hquek and mummy of 2 for the words of advice. Will see if I can restrain myself... 😓

Then you better avoid the bookfairs thread like mad.... I think I helped lead mummy of 2 onto the path of no return after all that recommendation on books. :nunchuk:

btw, sorry to say that, previous mph sales did include those usborne readers. I got many of them for like $2-3 only....grab like siao. I don't see these anymore at recent fairs.

• SerendipityS Offline
                        Serendipity

Actually i used to love buying novels when i was in primary school. Then later realised I end up keeping them on the shelves to collect dust, hahah… So I stopped. But now with DD, it’s a different challenge to restrain myself!! 😜

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 71 / 85

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo