2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    6.0k Posts 467 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching
      Flowermonaster

happy88mum:
      hi,

any one wants to exchange chinese composition notes?
      Don't remember seeing one from my DS's school so nothing for me to exchange. šŸ˜‚

jtparent

Flowermonaster:
        jtparent:

Good ur ds read story book... & will find the meaning. myread but dont find meaning.. haiz... how TLL coaching. need to take pre entry test 1st is it. heard tat fees not cheap too.... šŸ˜„ need to really push him hard... as this year is very the imp ya...he dont like to attend any extra lesson as complain hw cant finished... really poor thing. however seeing the results , damn worry.... but m afraid if ask him to go extra classes will backfire.... :? really dont know what to do.....
        do u or any parents experience these too.....
        pls share...

Hi jtparent, you mistaken Liao lah. My DS don't check meaning also, I tried to force him but no use. I can't possibly sit with him every time he reads & ensure he check. When i see him reading, i will remind him to check if encounter new word and don't just play guess the meaning game. what to do, he just don't have the discipline to do so, sigh.
        My DS attended TLL less than 2 mths so not sure if it's good for him. No, he did not go for entry test, just submitted his result slip and after a while they called us up. I am worry about his compo too especially Chinese compo. For Chinese compo, will get him to write more & try to remember å„½čÆå„½å„. No choice as time is running out. If your DS is really no good in compo, I think it's good for him to go for compo enrichment class. My son is not only weak in compo, he is also weak in comprehension! 😢

sama weak in comp & compre... :slapshead: hopefully is not too late...hmmm... will source those near my area.. me staying in geylang..

any parent got recommendation.

pls share

tia

Chenonceau

Here is what I did for compo since end-P4 http://petunialee.blogspot.com/2011/09/reaching-tipping-point-for-chinese-part.html

Of course, if I had started working with him in P1, things would have been gentler and less painful. But we had only two years from end-P4 to prepare him for PSLE. Also, I am handicapped because I can't read Chinese.

I am trying one technique for compre but dunno if it works until SA2 is over and we see his results. If it works, I will blog about it and post here.

• CannotsaydieC Offline
            Cannotsaydie

Hi , I’m new here. My DS is having the same problem. Compo and Compre. For both languages. Any tips?

Lynn2010

scm292:
              Herbie:

although psle is one year from now. P5 kids shld try to do well for p5 too so tat they can secure a CO at p6 dsa.

This is a very informative forum and the parents here (kiasu or not) are all very helpful.
              I came to this forum \"too late\" - July this year; if I had known earlier, would have better prepared my DS for DSA. For instance, was not aware that his primary school sending him to participate in the various Math Olympiads helps to some extend in DSA until I submit his particulars for DSA.

yah loh..... i came to this forum too late too.

My dd \"pass\" all competitions. I say ok loh. You like you take part, if you dont want just forget it 😢 I realise how important it is to put in the CV when dd apply DSA :slapshead:

Lynn2010

Otah:

[quote=\"8228\"]I attended Mindchamp preview. The course is very expensive.

I overheard one grandma who spent $8000 for the grandson to attend that mindchamp gives money back warranty for the kids to past PSLE, and she feel like buying an insurance for her grandson.

What is the definition of 'passing PSLE' though?[/quote]
                \"C\" is a pass :? 4 Cs may only achieve an aggregate of 180

fifiyeo

By the way, what are the grades for A*, A, B and C?

• G Offline
                    Germainxxx

I have a Korean friend who sent her daughter to a Chinese home-tutor in the East which i heard is quite good. Her daughter managed to achieve an A+ for Chinese in her PSLE. She recommended to many other Korean friends, and they also joined the tuition in preparation for PSLE. in the end, i heard that they got at least an A for Chinese.
                    P.s. I heard the tutor has some Indian students taking Chinese. they also did quite well for PSLE

Lynn2010

Flowermonaster:
                      jtparent:

Good ur ds read story book... & will find the meaning. myread but dont find meaning.. haiz... how TLL coaching. need to take pre entry test 1st is it. heard tat fees not cheap too.... šŸ˜„ need to really push him hard... as this year is very the imp ya...he dont like to attend any extra lesson as complain hw cant finished... really poor thing. however seeing the results , damn worry.... but m afraid if ask him to go extra classes will backfire.... :? really dont know what to do.....
                      do u or any parents experience these too.....
                      pls share...

Hi jtparent, you mistaken Liao lah. My DS don't check meaning also, I tried to force him but no use. I can't possibly sit with him every time he reads & ensure he check. When i see him reading, i will remind him to check if encounter new word and don't just play guess the meaning game. what to do, he just don't have the discipline to do so, sigh.
                      My DS attended TLL less than 2 mths so not sure if it's good for him. No, he did not go for entry test, just submitted his result slip and after a while they called us up. I am worry about his compo too especially Chinese compo. For Chinese compo, will get him to write more & try to remember å„½čÆå„½å„. No choice as time is running out. If your DS is really no good in compo, I think it's good for him to go for compo enrichment class. My son is not only weak in compo, he is also weak in comprehension! 😢

Some kids read a lot but never improved. That is because they read to enjoy the story and that's it. Some kids read deeper into it, they remember the good phrases and bother to look up the meaning. Some kids are lazy to use the dictionary (big & heavy book), my dd just use her iphone.

Lynn2010

fifiyeo:
                        By the way, what are the grades for A*, A, B and C?

Do you mean what are the marks for the grading?

# A*: 91% and above
                        # A: 75% to 90%
                        # B: 60% to 74%
                        # šŸ˜„ 50% to 59%
                        # 😧 35% to 49%
                        # E: 20% to 34%
                        # U: Below 20%

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 19 / 602