Markfch's attena at work again .... hunting for top league again ....
That's true; there's always something useful to learn in all work if we look hard enough. How true. Thanks for the reminder.drickymummy:
Material used n presentation methods affects the chances of making a nice booklet.. Maybe I m v niao abt presentations .. I expects quite a bit fr Ds's projects though it can be time consuming.. I believed that thru the process he learns something different fr regular sch work..
Your ds seems to be in the top league. Looks like you've trained him well.
Do need lah .. your ds already in top league.
Mine still learning how to read those chinese chapter books
Mine still far from top league leh.....his Chinese results still unstable...he dun read any Chinese books at all...let alone chi chapter books... :slapshead:
That's true; there's always something useful to learn in all work if we look hard enough. How true. Thanks for the reminder.drickymummy:
Material used n presentation methods affects the chances of making a nice booklet.. Maybe I m v niao abt presentations .. I expects quite a bit fr Ds's projects though it can be time consuming.. I believed that thru the process he learns something different fr regular sch work..
Your ds seems to be in the top league. Looks like you've trained him well. -
Hi mark,
My son never reads CL story books. Even when watching channel 8 shows, he reads subtitles. Every sat, we will watch Monkey God and there are no Eng sub, so he qis forced to listen. -
Trapwithin:
Alamak, how come such an innocent remark can also tio suan?
Markfch's attena at work again .... hunting for top league again ....
Do need lah .. your ds already in top league.
Mine still learning how to read those chinese chapter books
Think I better clarify. Even though ds can sit still and read a Chinese novel on his own, there'll be many words that he does not know. It's not that he'll know all the words in those books.janet_lee88:
Actually one of my friends pick up Chinese because she was crazy over karaoke. How's that for motivation?Hi mark,
My son never reads CL story books. Even when watching channel 8 shows, he reads subtitles. Every sat, we will watch Monkey God and there are no Eng sub, so he qis forced to listen.
Another picks up Chinese reading i周刊 because he was chasing after those HK serials. And his Chinese is very powerful. Liddat also can .... :scratchhead: -
Another picks up Chinese reading i周刊 because he was chasing after those HK serials. And his Chinese is very powerful. Liddat also can .... :scratchhead:
Maybe these friends are not stupid to start with
Any form of exposure is better than none.
Everytime I overheard parents speaking English to their children, I feel like going up to them and tell them to use more Mandarin before the children cant understand a single Mandarin word. -
Wahahaha.. that will be me! but if I do not speak in English, I will have to translate everything I say, quite cham leh, no subtitles!! :shock: but I do agree that speaking in Chinese, n reading in chinese is the best way to improve the language.. too bad ds' english needs improving too.. So I am concentrating on the more crucial language first!! hahahaha:P
Everytime I overheard parents speaking English to their children, I feel like going up to them and tell them to use more Mandarin before the children cant understand a single Mandarin word. -
Mrsbongz:
Wahahaha.. that will be me! but if I do not speak in English, I will have to translate everything I say, quite cham leh, no subtitles!! :shock: but I do agree that speaking in Chinese, n reading in chinese is the best way to improve the language.. too bad ds' english needs improving too.. So I am concentrating on the more crucial language first!! hahahaha:PJennifer:
Everytime I overheard parents speaking English to their children, I feel like going up to them and tell them to use more Mandarin before the children cant understand a single Mandarin word.
My humble recommendation wld be to persist in conversational Mandarin at home as there is no lack of conversational English elsewhere.
I was wrong to concentrate on English with my elder boy, neglecting Chinese. Anyway my spoken English is so-so only. I believe in the end, he learns better English (spoken & written) by reading story books than from me.
Learning from my mistake, I spoke to my 2nd child in both Mandarin & English, practically translating my daily conversations with him. Very tedious process. Before he was enrolled in pre-sch, he impressed many pple with his ability to speak Mandarin clearly. It was a diff story eversince he attended pre-sch - brainwashed by other children's \"I hate Chinese\". This attitude became worse when he attended P1. Now I speak Mandarin, he answers back in English. Only on rare occasions, he initiates a conversation mainly in Mandarin.
Translation is tedious & time consuming BUT really can see the improvement in our children.
Jia you. -
Thanks Jennifer!

Chinese speaking environment v impt in learning Chinese… My boy grew up in such environment with both grandparents non-English speaking, n I used both languages with him …hence it keeps his Chinese on the scales still… Though his English in terms of reading and comprehension is way better then Chinese…
Hi mummies and daddies,
Did you read the forum article in ST about this parent who wrote about the irony of role reversal today ? MOE wants to instill character building when so many parents have gone back to school bcos of coaching kids in their studies. I’ve been scratching my head wondering what is going on in the mind of the newly minted minister. If the aim is to build character, does MOE have to drill the kids so badly ??
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.