Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 257.8k Views 1 Watching
      Strparent

One main justification given for paying top dollars to Ministers

is dat these ppl would be earning big bucks if not in gahmen.
      Now dat WKS n 3 others are available, how come no large MNC
      has rush in to grab these talents at a bargain price huh?
      If WKS is Special Advisor for Economic Co-operation in PM's office, maybe they will consider MBT as Special Advisor to GIC Overseas Investment ? :evil:

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/4967-this-just-cannot-go-on

:moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies: :moneyflies:

http://i51.tinypic.com/286ty5f.jpg\">

HDB was profitable when he was there, right ? :evil: :evil:

Way2GO

u heard of Pyramid Club?

MBT won't be short of takers. 😉 😉

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

2 days ago, newspaper reported that $17M given out to 51,000 companies for employing (167,000) elderly low wage workers…

that’s $333/ company…or $100/worker.

Doesn’t look like much of an enticement for coy, ya?

• O Offline
            Oppsgal

2 days ago, newspaper reported that $17M given out to 51,000 companies for employing (167,000) elderly low wage workers....

that's $333/ company....or $100/worker.

Doesn't look like much of an enticement for coy, ya?
            Hope this could encourage the companies to hire more old workers?

hquek

Oppsgal:

2 days ago, newspaper reported that $17M given out to 51,000 companies for employing (167,000) elderly low wage workers....

I think they rather hire young and cheap FT who can work 12 hours instead of the 4-6 hours that some elderly workers can do. My mum's best friend lost her cleaner job that way. FT was younger and worked longer hours - her co figured that the increased wages will be more than offset by that.

• O Offline
                Oppsgal

Oppsgal:

[quote=\"Nebbermind\"]2 days ago, newspaper reported that $17M given out to 51,000 companies for employing (167,000) elderly low wage workers....

I think they rather hire young and cheap FT who can work 12 hours instead of the 4-6 hours that some elderly workers can do. My mum's best friend lost her cleaner job that way. FT was younger and worked longer hours - her co figured that the increased wages will be more than offset by that.[/quote]That's pretty sad case. That's why when go to public toilet, usually the cleaners are from other countries?

Is also sad that locals still have to work until old here. want to retire, but cannot afford. If given a choice (with enough savings), would old aged locals want to continue work until unable to work anymore? Or they would rather spent time at coffee shop drink kopi and chat with friends?

hquek

hi oppsgal,

Not true. Some folks work for fun - they may not want to stay at home or at coffeeshop and chat with friends. I know a lady who serves kopi at market. Her son is a doctor - sure can afford to feed her; but she wants to work.

of course, there are others that work for money. Some may be due to cost of living; but there are others who lack money due to folly in their youth (and in some cases, in the early post-retirement days). For the latter case, then how? it’s a bit hard to determine and only the persons involved will know why. Some help, i agree; but it can get a bit tough.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1155843/1/.html

I have to agree with you this time around!!

How can it be a disaster for SG if many of us actually wanted it? Weren't we very disappointed at some of the marginal losses??

caroline3sg

I read it that he actually meant not a disaster for PAP because he continued to say let's see how opposition MPs perform / progress.

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

of course he meant PAP but they r always like that...trying to blur the line between SG/govt/PAP

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 131 / 133