Nan Chiau Primary
NC PV application form available on the school website now.
EllaEmma:
Wah, your girl in P1 right. My girl wanted to be an artist too. 1st time i heard she wants to be an artist. She is not so enthu as to dress up....my girls normally just present like that....no props etc. They dont like show n tell. Envy you.My girl is enjoying herself too.
The 'homework' from home is way more more more than school... hahahahaha..
Just yesterday, she enthusiastically dressed like an artist for us to take picture in preparing her class speech presentation 'My Ambition' ^^ -
Village Girl:
Yes P1
Wah, your girl in P1 right. My girl wanted to be an artist too. 1st time i heard she wants to be an artist. She is not so enthu as to dress up....my girls normally just present like that....no props etc. They dont like show n tell. Envy you.EllaEmma:
My girl is enjoying herself too.
The 'homework' from home is way more more more than school... hahahahaha..
Just yesterday, she enthusiastically dressed like an artist for us to take picture in preparing her class speech presentation 'My Ambition' ^^
The dress up isn't any serious stuff.. we were just fooling around with make-shift materials found at home. But I have to admit our participation increase her enthusiasm...
As for her ambition, never take it seriously... afterall its just kids' talk...
We just want them to have fun... -
STmummy:
Come back with homework/art work to be done at home almost everyday, and there's test almost every week, so what do you think? I also heard things like \"very little homework for P1\" before my son entered P1, but it's not true as it turns out. So to conclude, it's hard to say stress or not, it depends on many other things like teacher, school, system, MOE, and the new Education Minister now....Hi,
Parents with children already studying in nan chiau, are your kids enjoying themselves or finding it too stress? Am planing which pri school to place my boy (born 2009) in, nan chiau is my 1st choice for sure but worried it may be too stress for him, also worried not able to get a placement through phase 2b. Thus now starting to plan first.
Any advice is greatly appreciated! -
STmummy:
i heard from my frens whose nephews and neices in Nan chiau that they have a lot of homework and tests when they were in p1 2 years ago. Very stressed.Hi,
Parents with children already studying in nan chiau, are your kids enjoying themselves or finding it too stress? Am planing which pri school to place my boy (born 2009) in, nan chiau is my 1st choice for sure but worried it may be too stress for him, also worried not able to get a placement through phase 2b. Thus now starting to plan first.
Any advice is greatly appreciated!
then this year another fren whose kid in p1 told me her girl doing word tracing for English homework, as in trace dotted lines of the alphabets of the words. Hmm, wonder if different teachers give different homework :? My girl will sure complain if she is made to do letter tracing -
larkspur:
That's would b \"STELLAR Handwriting\", part of the STELLAR program to brush up on handwriting. (Is STELLAR nation-wide already?) So don't like, also MUST do but don't worry, after the 1st few pages/lines, no more dots given. P2 also hv hor. :evil:
i heard from my frens whose nephews and neices in Nan chiau that they have a lot of homework and tests when they were in p1 2 years ago. Very stressed.
then this year another fren whose kid in p1 told me her girl doing word tracing for English homework, as in trace dotted lines of the alphabets of the words. Hmm, wonder if different teachers give different homework :? My girl will sure complain if she is made to do letter tracing
Different teachers hv different ways of giving homework. Some likes to give on weekdays, some like weekends, some like everyday.
So all abt adaptation.
However, if the load seems heavy, or it's always \"can't-finish-in-sch-so-bring-home-to-do\" type, then can alert teachers to monitor kids' progress in class....most likely day-dreaming or something lah.. :oops:
As for the bite-size assessments, now that DS1 is going to face his 1st ever SA2 soon & w so much materials to cover :nailbite: , think i would rather he is able to continue to nuah in those little tests. :snooze: -
Vevey:
That's would b \"STELLAR Handwriting\", part of the STELLAR program to brush up on handwriting. (Is STELLAR nation-wide already?) So don't like, also MUST do but don't worry, after the 1st few pages/lines, no more dots given. P2 also hv hor. :evil:larkspur:
i heard from my frens whose nephews and neices in Nan chiau that they have a lot of homework and tests when they were in p1 2 years ago. Very stressed.
then this year another fren whose kid in p1 told me her girl doing word tracing for English homework, as in trace dotted lines of the alphabets of the words. Hmm, wonder if different teachers give different homework :? My girl will sure complain if she is made to do letter tracing
oh that is Stellar program? i think my girl will be complaining all the way to p2 liao. Nowadays i have extra those handwritting books which i bought for my son to practice. i asked her to help me to do if not wasted lah and she will tell me so easy , i know how to write already, y must do that dotted tracing, that is for baby to do? :skeptical: Baby can do that meh? i wonder
Different teachers hv different ways of giving homework. Some likes to give on weekdays, some like weekends, some like everyday.
So all abt adaptation.
However, if the load seems heavy, or it's always \"can't-finish-in-sch-so-bring-home-to-do\" type, then can alert teachers to monitor kids' progress in class....most likely day-dreaming or something lah.. :oops:
ya i think from childcare to primary, there is lot of adaption and currently i have been telling her that expect a lot of homework , tests and maybe exam in primary school. you cannot always watch tv or play computer games all days. ended up my girl asks me wat is tests and exams? aiyo how to explain
As for the bite-size assessments, now that DS1 is going to face his 1st ever SA2 soon & w so much materials to cover :nailbite: , think i would rather he is able to continue to nuah in those little tests. :snooze:
There is still SA even though school using stellar program? recently saw the newletter from huay kuan that Nan chiau is the future school? hmmm what good is the future school? -
larkspur:
[/quote]P1 & 2 no exam except SA2 in P2.
That's would b \"STELLAR Handwriting\", part of the STELLAR program to brush up on handwriting. (Is STELLAR nation-wide already?) So don't like, also MUST do but don't worry, after the 1st few pages/lines, no more dots given. P2 also hv hor. :evil:Vevey:
[quote=\"larkspur\"]
oh that is Stellar program? i think my girl will be complaining all the way to p2 liao. Nowadays i have extra those handwritting books which i bought for my son to practice. i asked her to help me to do if not wasted lah and she will tell me so easy , i know how to write already, y must do that dotted tracing, that is for baby to do? :skeptical: Baby can do that meh? i wonder
So all abt adaptation.
ya i think from childcare to primary, there is lot of adaption and currently i have been telling her that expect a lot of homework , tests and maybe exam in primary school. you cannot always watch tv or play computer games all days. ended up my girl asks me wat is tests and exams? aiyo how to explain
As for the bite-size assessments, now that DS1 is going to face his 1st ever SA2 soon & w so much materials to cover :nailbite: , think i would rather he is able to continue to nuah in those little tests. :snooze:
There is still SA even though school using stellar program? recently saw the newletter from huay kuan that Nan chiau is the future school? hmmm what good is the future school?
Stellar is english program. See here for more details:
http://www.stellarliteracy.sg/
Anyway, the sch will give a STELLAR syllabus list in week 2-3. Look out for it, v useful reference to know what grammar,vocab, punctuation etc is covered under each theme.
Future sch is using IT to assist in learning. Eg. Each P3 student is going to a top of the line Acer tablet each. Co-pay 50% = $400!
Told DS1 to start saving up! :evil:
oh so P1 and P2 no tests and exams except SA2 in p2? then that is good at least not so stressful.
Guess for stellar program have to read up. I find being a parent nowadays very ku ming (difficult life) cos we have to be up to date to what our children are learning and we if possible start learning so as be able to coach our children.
Oh future school will use IT technology to faciliate learning. wow have to co pay $400 for each p3 child. Wat happen if we have 2 or more children entering the same school, that will mean have to buy one tablet each?
hmmmmmโฆ think better save now cos still have a younger son.wow everything also need money. No wonder i received recently from the letter from Nan chiau together with CDAC about providing financial help to poor families. I have been wondering that school fee of $5.50 each month is so bad until financial help need to be given? with the purchase of these technology items, it is definitely a strain on those financially strained families -
larkspur:
I was wondering if the tablet would b too obsolete by the time DS2 is P3 & DS1 goes Sec 1.
Oh future school will use IT technology to faciliate learning. wow have to co pay $400 for each p3 child. Wat happen if we have 2 or more children entering the same school, that will mean have to buy one tablet each?
hmmmmm.... think better save now cos still have a younger son.wow everything also need money. No wonder i received recently from the letter from Nan chiau together with CDAC about providing financial help to poor families. I have been wondering that school fee of $5.50 each month is so bad until financial help need to be given? with the purchase of these technology items, it is definitely a strain on those financially strained families
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.