GEP 2011 - Screening & Selection

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    2.0k Posts 187 Posters 477.5k Views 1 Watching

hi Nebbermind,

between RGPS & NYPS - of course choose NYPS!because next time can enter affliated NYGH, at around COP 250.

plus heavy immersion into deep Chinese roots, Chinese culture and Chinese values system everyday ... will groom your daughter to become a good, filial, respectful, demure daughter and a good future daughter in law to some lucky, blessed parents one day πŸ˜„

NYPS so convenient! wow! now got MRT right to the very door step. No need to worry about thunderstorm, heavy rain, traffic jam.

RGPS shifting to Mount Sinai road (Holland area, former ex RJC premises many years ago) for 2 years temporarily, from January 2014 to December 2015. January 2016 onwards - school turns single session. So, shift back to Bukit Timah Hillcrest road, permanent place. Shifting here and there may disrupt PSLE preparation.

jtoh

If u have a daughter and living in Commonwealth area, which GEP school will u choose if selected? NYPS, RGPS, HPPS or NHPS??

NYPS has 4 GEP classes, RGPS has 3. But the majority of the GEPpers in NYPS are boys. Would your dd prefer an all-girls environment or mixed-gender environment?

Girls at NYPS can gain entry to NYGH with a COP of 250. RGPS has no affiliation to any secondary school. But most GEP students should have no problems getting a DSA CO from NYGH.

All GEP students must do HCL at NYPS. You can choose HCL or CL at RGPS.

Finally, read through the GEP thread. You'll get some feedback on the different schools from current parents - their rants and raves.

Herbie

between RGPS & NYPS - of course choose NYPS!

because next time can enter affliated NYGH, at around COP 250.

plus heavy immersion into deep Chinese roots, Chinese culture and Chinese values system everyday ... will groom your daughter to become a good, filial, respectful, demure daughter and a good future daughter in law to some lucky, blessed parents one day πŸ˜„

NYPS so convenient now! wow! got MRT right to the very door step. No need to worry about thunderstorm, heavy rain.

RGPS shifting to Mount Sinai road (Holland area, former ex RJC premises many years ago) for 2 years temporarily, from January 2014 to December 2015. January 2016 onwards - school turns single session. So, shift back to Bukit Timah Hillcrest road, permanent place.
          Sorry to say this but you make it sound as if only nyps with their chinese culture can groom girls to become a good, filial, respectful, demure daughter and a good future daughter. Then i think the rest of the school can close 'shop' liao.

Btw, i will not be replying to yr pm cos i dun run the ge selection curriculum.

hi Herbie,

Sorry if i had given you any wrong impression. No offence hor, to me i feel that RGS girls are aggressive & goal oriented. I prefer Nanyang girls, but then that’s only my own personal opinion.

KSP

if given a choice i would choose NYPS too…

1. affliated NYGH
              2. if u have a younger ds/dd can get in NYPS via P1
              3. next time her ds/dd can get in NYPS via P2A1/2 (no need to move house to 1km or PV)

if your child is in GEP it should be easy to get in to NYGH/RGS via DSA…

jtoh

hi Herbie,

Sorry if i had given you any wrong impression. No offence hor, to me i feel that RGS girls are aggressive & goal oriented. I prefer Nanyang girls, but then that's only my own personal opinion. If i had offended you or any parents in any way, i say Sorry.

as for other Chinese oriented primary schools, Nan Hua primary school is still ok. But some of the Nan Hua Secondary girls- do not leave me any good impression. They are .... I taught there before, so i know.
                phtthp, Are you talking about RGPS and NYPS or RGS and NYGH? They're completely different and separate entities, albeit NYPS has affiliations to NYGH.

[Note from Mod]

Reminder: for RGS versus NGHS, there is a separate thread for discussion. The discussion can be continued there

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

oops! did I start a war here? :oops:

anyway, looks like NH and HP is not really an option with KSP.

jtoh

No lah, where got war? Just mostly GEP parents giving you their thoughts on which school they prefer. πŸ˜‰

No war, just off topic discussion to move to the right thread. πŸ˜‰

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 196

drumlyyD
                        drumlyy