2011 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
breadbin:
this extra paper could be the reserve set of papers. for every national exam, there is always a reserve set in case the first one gets leaked.
Hmmm...possible... But y only selected school take the paper ? :scratchhead: -
I agree with Augmum. It could be for some study.Of coz diff test papers fr psle lah.....haha
Oh yes, another piece of info....
My gal was told today by the sch that their class (being selected) is expected
to take another maths test trial paper by moe after their EOY exams......
They were being told that ....\" it's compulsory that all citizens and pr who had taken their PSLE have to take this maths trial paper...\" :roll:
So up to u guys here to link up.....
Is there any purpose /reason of asking the PSLE pupils to take the test papers after PSLE and
2 yrs after PSLE ??
****Think more likely for some study/collection of statistics ****
When there is no impact of marks/grades do the students perform better or worse?
What kind of Qs (Logical Q?, Data related Qs, thinking Qs) the students can asnwer better when under exam stress as opposed to without exam stress?
What kind of information is retained for long term?
The actual marks of PSLE of student X can be compared to the marks of this mock exam and a lot can be inferred from it? -
Ms tay:
Interested:
[quote=\"Augmum\"]:? This is the first time i heard...is the marks counted ?
No ......we dun even know the marks till now......lol
My guess is for this year bell curve...
[/quote]Sry , what does\" bell curve \"mean?? :?[/quote]
\"Bell curve\" is use so as to get the T-Score for each subject:
http://mathinyourlife.blogspot.com/2011/04/bell-curves-and-anxiety-in-math.html
Hope the above link helps.
Ms tay:
I'm curious to know one thing though, what was the kids reaction to this surprise additional test? Did they grumble? Did they enjoy?
His teacher says MOE explained that they just want to test their ability and use it as a guide line to set the next year psle paper .
But I don't think it make sense at all :siao:
Why don't they use this year psle paper as a guide line ??
(it will be more accurate as psle paper is for all the p6s cohort in Singapore) -
Ms tay:
Maths[/quote]His teacher says MOE explained that they just want to test their ability and use it as a guide line to set the next year psle paper .Ms tay:
[quote=\"Publica\"]Today My ds has to sit for the test too !! :scratchhead: :?
Hi Ms Tay,
Which subject is your son taking?
(it will be more accurate as psle paper is for all the p6s cohort in Singapore)[/quote]
Is the paper easier or more difficult then PSLE paper ? -
tisha:
My ds grumble and very frustrated he said that moe is wasting his time :frustrated:
I'm curious to know one thing though, what was the kids reaction to this surprise additional test? Did they grumble? Did they enjoy?Ms tay:
His teacher says MOE explained that they just want to test their ability and use it as a guide line to set the next year psle paper .
(it will be more accurate as psle paper is for all the p6s cohort in Singapore) -
Can Tell Him it's his Advance Taste of ....
\"National Service\"

Hi interested
Thk u for the info.
I do not know the paper is difficult or easy will ask my ds
when he come back home later
Can Tell Him it's his Advance Taste of ....
\"National Service\"

Hi! Anyone has any idea when is the distribution of the school selection booklet? I remember last year they distributed earlier somewhere before PSLE, till now still no news? I heard probably they intend to hold back cos they are checking on this year T-score, and they may probably reduce the entry scoreβ¦that what I heardβ¦
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.