very hard to get a maid without a hp now. what would be next? maybe every maid will have an ipad............ :yikes:
Not surprising if that day comes, wondering how are they going to adjust if they go back one day to their village with no access to internet......maids who stay here for many yrs will not want to go back.
Agree that very hard to get maid without HP these days, that's why DH and I worked around this issue with her for last 2 yrs. Setting the rules is easy but the temptation is too great. Guys tend to look at big picture so DH is always looking for ways to resolve this. On way is to let her go work for expats or those families with no young kids...better for her too. -
Breadandmuffins:
Hi Breadandmuffins,Hi nms1
There are many ways of telling kid off for small little things but if it became like a habitual thing then there is something wrong already cos just 2yrs ago she was not like that. Telling kid off to the extent of shouting at kids can be very upsetting at times. Sometimes I 'll just pack all 4 kids in the car and go out to avoid. Now, its like 80% of the time telling them off and 20% sort of enjoy their company. Just two yrs ago was so different. She really enjoyed the kids company, but now so different......We have always emphasized to kids that they must listen to \"auntie\" Only No3 will abuse it and No4 being in close contact with him will follow him blindly.
Why not talk to your maid and ask her directly what is eating her?
Recently my maid also like that. Very fierce to my boy and also rude to us. She normally not like that. I was pissed and cannot tahan told her we want to talk to her after lunch one day. Then we sat down at the table and asked her was there anything that the confinement nanny did which upset her hence her attitude changed? (We thought she got threatened by the presence of the confinement nanny....). Turned out she immediately teared and told us that she was upset because her girl back home got problem attending primary school due to some issues and she was worried sick. She apologized to us and we comforted her so glad that we managed to clear the issue and go back to the comfortable zone after that!
Probably something has happened to your maid... -
The Mysterious Phone Bill – Joke
The phone bill was exceptionally high and the man of the house called for meeting… on a Sunday morning… after breakfast…
Dad: People this is unacceptable. OK I do not use this phone, I use the one at the office But You too have to limit the use of the phone.
Mum: Same here, I hardly use this home telephone as I use my work telephone.
Son: Me too, I never use the home phone. I always use my company mobile.
All of them now in a state of shock and together they look at their maid who until now is patiently listening to them.
Maid (un baffled): So – what is the problem? We all use our work telephones! :please:
I think it's better to let your maid use her handphone otherwise your house phone bill will end up like above

my Phinoy maid left 2 wks ago, we let her off to let her "fulfil" her dream, to work for angmoh (who as what DH said spoilt the market, we local are the ones that trained them). my maid actually wanted to renew 2 more years of contract with us but something happened and lead us releasing her for transfer and felt glad things happened else will still be stuck with her for 2 years and i got a strong feeling she will not finish the another 2 years contract cause started to slack and told alot of lies already…
we were already giving her like angmohs term, every sundays off, PH, christmas can overnight, freedom, usage of phone (of course has ask her need to be "automatic), once in a while she request to go run some errands in the afternoon, we also ok. but still, in her heart want angmoh…so go lah. was handicap for one week plus while trying to get another transfer maid & realized 10 out of 10 maids who worked for ang mohs, their reason for leaving the job, angmohs go home. sometimes feel like boycotting phinoys since almost all…all want to work for ang mohs as though we local s’porean are 2nd class, pissed me off!
cannot do without maid at the moment, so got another transfer maid, think it is also 缘份 to get maid. so far okay, after handling phinoys, other nationalities should be "wet wet water" just have to find and pray… -
happy to be mum:
Actually, I saw quite a few transfer maids in recent months. Reason: can't take the expats. So it is not true that it is easy to work for expats or angmohs. It is also not true that they get to have every week off. LOL.my Phinoy maid left 2 wks ago, we let her off to let her \"fulfil\" her dream, to work for angmoh (who as what DH said spoilt the market, we local are the ones that trained them). my maid actually wanted to renew 2 more years of contract with us but something happened and lead us releasing her for transfer and felt glad things happened else will still be stuck with her for 2 years and i got a strong feeling she will not finish the another 2 years contract cause started to slack and told alot of lies already..
we were already giving her like angmohs term, every sundays off, PH, christmas can overnight, freedom, usage of phone (of course has ask her need to be \"automatic), once in a while she request to go run some errands in the afternoon, we also ok. but still, in her heart want angmoh..so go lah. was handicap for one week plus while trying to get another transfer maid & realized 10 out of 10 maids who worked for ang mohs, their reason for leaving the job, angmohs go home. sometimes feel like boycotting phinoys since almost all..all want to work for ang mohs as though we local s'porean are 2nd class, pissed me off!
cannot do without maid at the moment, so got another transfer maid, think it is also 缘份 to get maid. so far okay, after handling phinoys, other nationalities should be \"wet wet water\" just have to find and pray.. -
my friend cant tolerate her new maid so sent her packing just after 1 week.
during interview, was told by agency and maid that she had only one local employer (extended contract). but during the maid's stay with her, the maid let it slipped that she had worked for expats after her contract ended with the local family. 2 expats in fact but maid claimed she doesnt like them (both less than 2-3 weeks employment) so asked to leave. ([?????).
anyway, friend cant tolerate her arrogance (like to argue, do things her way) and told the current maid that it is not part of their job scope to walk the dog, go grocery shopping, wash the car, pick kids up from school :scared: .
wow, so now to get a maid, must really sit down with her and agency to go thru carefully the duties involved. :?
my sis is going to have a headache. -
Hi busy mom
Did those maids say why they don’t want to work for the Ang mos? Or is it the other way round, they cannot meet the Ang mo expectations? -
Breadandmuffins:
I think most ang mos expect the maid to know how to really cook like bake cakes and prepare 5 course meals for them n their guests...Hi busy mom
Did those maids say why they don't want to work for the Ang mos? Or is it the other way round, they cannot meet the Ang mo expectations? -
I think they are the minority who cannot work for Ang moh. Most philipno maid’s can still meet Ang moh’s expectations. Ang moh prefers maids not to stay in their Hse. Hence they prefer to rent a room for the maid outside or ask the maid to go off every Sunday. They like to have their own privacy and this arrangement sit well with the philino maid.
:? need to be extra nice to sir or not ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.