In-law problems?
auntieM:
Reading this makes me :mad: too. Children are still young and their self-concepts are fragile. It is very unbecoming of adults to ridicule children or criticise them for fun.
FIL will call DS 'silly' for eating rice and not more meat like him, MIL will remind DS ..\"Aiyoh your front tooth soooo cute ah!\" in a laughing tone...( DS had a fall and front tooth just a slight gap, waiting to correct it when he gets older..and explained to ILs 200 times liao!! )
Me not only blood boil, but steam coming out from me ears already... :mad:
It's not fun for the kid and heartbreaking to witness. Good thing is that your DS has your support and understanding. -
auntieM:
How can they be so mean ? Firstly, that is a child and secondly, they are grandparents...name-calling and such persistent teasing is uncalled for.Whenever we get to meet ILs, they will never fail to 'laugh' at my DS's weight, teeth, eating habit, posture...etc :stupid:
Now that DS older, he simply keep quiet or walk away from the drama...
so much for concern.. ... :rant:
Sorry to rub salt in...but I am totally disgusted. -
Fortunately not staying together, sure go :siao: ..
That's why need to come here and :rant: -
Funny how all MILs who don't like their DILs behave the same way! My MIL always says DD looks like her ever since she was born, even now. :siao:
And when DD behaves in a certain way, she will say DD is just like my DH when he was a small boy. Never once did she say DD looks or behaves like me, even though DH always says DD is like my clone.
This is what I call prejudice and blind bias. That she only sees what she wants to see, NOT what it really is. In fact, DD doesn't look a wee bit like her. Thank goodness!Rockdiva:
Yes , mil doesnt like the idea that the kid take after the looks of mummy...she says what is so good about ur face to me back then...
Angelight:
So true...they are :siao: bcos they insist so-and-so grandchild looks like them or their family when the child doesn't have any resemblance to them.
And when DD behaves in a certain way, she will say DD is just like my DH when he was a small boy. Never once did she say DD looks or behaves like me, even though DH always says DD is like my clone.
This is what I call prejudice and blind bias. That she only sees what she wants to see, NOT what it really is.Rockdiva:
Yes , mil doesnt like the idea that the kid take after the looks of mummy...she says what is so good about ur face to me back then...
i like dh's nose. very ang moh kind of nose. in fact his whole family except for his mum has it.
so when someone (cant remember who) said dd has my nose (not in an unkind way), i quickly said \"oh, good, 有肉好福气, it got me a good husband\" that shut everyone up.
My hubby has a nice nose too. A pity my kids didn't inherit nose from him. Very glad kids didn't inherit much traits from his family or I would have fainted...for one thing, they are brought up to be clean. Wash up before school, bathe after school and before bedtime.i like dh's nose. very ang moh kind of nose. in fact his whole family except for his mum has it.
so when someone (cant remember who) said dd has my nose (not in a unkind way), i quickly said \"oh, good, 有肉好福气, got myself a good husband\" that shut everyone up.
alamak, so many of us here have the same problem as mine, so we have ILS that chose to see what they want to see and what they want to hear too…As i mentioned in my earlier post that at my DD full mth celebration on her repeatedly remark on my DD, one of our guest then , a nice old lady tink got fed up with my MIL keep say " lucky hor, girl girl look like …her son", she look at me and stood up and say "ur DIL also is fair skin and nice looking too" . MIL then keep her mouth shut…really thank that nice lady. Btw, my MIL made those comments while my DH was busy with other guest elsewhere…He kind of in shock when i told him what his mum had commented.
When my DD got mosquitoes bites , MIL very "black face" asked me "how come like that? din you apply anti itch cream ? When i told her "its at her place that kana the bites", she immediately commented that the cream i apply for her is "lousy" type!!! But nowadays , we very seldom meet liao…so she dun have chance to tink that she had "catch my tail again".
sigh…ILS and SIL treats me as if i wasnt "good enough" for her son. So everything that i do and buy for DH and DD, all they viewed as "lousy" and "sub-standard" . sometimes i look at myself, oh i am educated, presentable looking and a decent family background…why…???..I wonder does demeaning me makes them feel "happy" and "high"…Come to tink of it, ILS have nvr ever praise me thgoughout my ten years marriage to DH.
Even when i admitted my DH which was diagnosed with dengue fever to hospital then with a sky high fever, my FIL said it was not necessary!!! OMG! even this life saving act was also wrong to them!!! I wouldnt believe my ears then…that FIL had said something foolish like this. If i were to keep my DH at home, and if something went terribly wrong, they would in turn blame me that "its my fault and i hav killed their son purposely for not sending him for treatment". Am I right?? Even when i kept my my Dh accompany during his hospitalisation then ILS wasnt happy too… -
Angelight:
I can totally identify with that! My MIL says my DS looks like my SIL (her daughter) ! That really annoys me to no end.Funny how all MILs who don't like their DILs behave the same way! My MIL always says DD looks like her ever since she was born, even now. :siao:
And when DD behaves in a certain way, she will say DD is just like my DH when he was a small boy. Never once did she say DD looks or behaves like me, even though DH always says DD is like my clone.Rockdiva:
Hi ningning, it’s seem to be that you’re not their ideal DIL that’s why whatever you do, no matter how good, they will think otherwise. Just do whatever you think is right & don’t get affected by their comments. It’s our lifes, don’t let others live our life! Jia you!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.