2011 Request for Advice on Selecting Secondary Schools
I guess they have to learn that \"different bosses\" expect different levels of work? And they have to adjust accordingly! Eventually when they do PW for A-levels, they will meet even stranger mentors.[/quote]
Hi Phankao, cannot agree more! This is part of learning, right? Instead of just spoon-feeding them at this age.
DS was begging for marks from his \"boss\" yesterday when they got back their EOY exams papers.
Nightrace:
Haha - mine was a little unhappy that his award for one subjt disappeared into thin air when his teacher said the final marks were miscalculated. ;(phankao:
I guess they have to learn that \"different bosses\" expect different levels of work? And they have to adjust accordingly! Eventually when they do PW for A-levels, they will meet even stranger mentors.
Hi Phankao, cannot agree more! This is part of learning, right? Instead of just spoon-feeding them at this age.
DS was begging for marks from his \"boss\" yesterday when they got back their EOY exams papers.
Good for you, phankao ...
I don't quite find that haphazard? I guess they have to learn that \"different bosses\" expect different levels of work? And they have to adjust accordingly! Eventually when they do PW for A-levels, they will meet even stranger mentors.
But I wasn't referring much to PW when I mention about haphazard. I am referring to more of the classes for regular subjects being added & cancelled at the last minute.
Today, they have Public Speaking Workshop. When I ask my girl what time the workshop ends, she said dunno. I asked her \"Why don't you ask your Form Teacher ?\" and she said \"I did, but her Form Teacher said she didn't even know got Public Speaking Workshop today.\"
\"Then why dont you ask your friends\"
\"My friends also dunno\" -
Is it? My son arranged his own music lesson after school and made it in good time on his own via public transport there, so I didn't think anything amiss about the schedule. If not, he might've been afraid of being late for lesson. So I guess, it all worked out today in the end.
Good for you, phankao ...phankao:
I don't quite find that haphazard? I guess they have to learn that \"different bosses\" expect different levels of work? And they have to adjust accordingly! Eventually when they do PW for A-levels, they will meet even stranger mentors.
But I wasn't referring much to PW when I mention about haphazard. I am referring to more of the classes for regular subjects being added & cancelled at the last minute.
Today, they have Public Speaking Workshop. When I ask my girl what time the workshop ends, she said dunno. I asked her \"Why don't you ask your Form Teacher ?\" and she said \"I did, but her Form Teacher said she didn't even know got Public Speaking Workshop today.\"
\"Then why dont you ask your friends\"
\"My friends also dunno\" -
My girl oso didn't tell me anything until I kaypoh ask her what time she finish ...
Is it? My son arranged his own music lesson after school and made it in good time on his own via public transport there, so I didn't think anything amiss about the schedule. If not, he might've been afraid of being late for lesson. So I guess, it all worked out today in the end. -
if a child can get in both Crescent & Cedar - which school better, in terms of training leadership skill & character building (ignoring distance) ?
I would recommend Crescent though Cedar is better in studies.
Now, \"early-teens\" like me loved technology, so crescent have a lot of stuffs that make use of it, making their studies more interesting & they will look forward to lessons.
I thought that you should not ignore distance as i took 30 minutes to Crescent from Serangoon even VIA TAXI!!!! :yikes:
So distance is an important point, do not ignore it LOL.
BTW, is there PE clothes for Crescent? Unifroms is for only for \"non-PE lesson days\"??? -
Helping--Hand:
Why you care abt PE attire??? No attire then maybe they just strip lor, girls' school what...nothing wrong...!phtthp:
Now, \"early-teens\" like me loved technology, so crescent have a lot of stuffs that make use of it, making their studies more interesting & they will look forward to lessons.
I thought that you should not ignore distance as i took 30 minutes to Crescent from Serangoon even VIA TAXI!!!! :yikes:
BTW, is there PE clothes for Crescent? Unifroms is for only for \"non-PE lesson days\"???
However, there would be pieces of muscle jiggling here and there and there would be many holes getting ventilated...
1 more point:
SCGS girls are generally deemed to be hotter than girls in most other schools including cresent girls' school...(general opinion of boys in boys' schools) -
SAplayer:
Why you care abt PE attire??? No attire then maybe they just strip lor, girls' school what...nothing wrong...!Helping--Hand:
[quote=\"phtthp\"]if a child can get in both Crescent & Cedar - which school better, in terms of training leadership skill & character building (ignoring distance) ?
BTW, is there PE clothes for Crescent? Unifroms is for only for \"non-PE lesson days\"???
However, there would be pieces of muscle jiggling here and there and there would be many holes getting ventilated...
1 more point:
SCGS girls are generally deemed to be hotter than girls in most other schools including cresent girls' school...(general opinion of boys in boys' schools)[/quote]Of course, look at the entry point!
But you see, CGS is progessing more than SCGS.... in terms of O levels :heresmyfish: -
SAplayer:
:rotflmao: :evil:
Why you care abt PE attire??? No attire then maybe they just strip lor, girls' school what...nothing wrong...!However, there would be pieces of muscle jiggling here and there and there would be many holes getting ventilated...
remind me that someone ever told me that in one of the top all- girls' sch,
they change to their PE attire in class, as they are lazy to walk to the nearby-toilets to do so.... :roll:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.