All About Life Without Maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    2.4k Posts 503 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      24hr-mum

i have finally read this whole thread from page 1 till now…

i think all maids are the same. even if they were good in first two yrs, after workg for u sometime, even tho they are still quite problem free (like mine, as in she doesnt gv me hanky panky or major issues) but they can become fussier and more demanding. i posted her release in another thread and arranged a number of interviews for her. in the end she rejected all and prefer to work for angmoh whom she found thru her friend, and the angmoh is going to pay her $500 ($50 more than curr pay), weekly sunday off, and half day on public holiday.

in the first two years she was really good. third year only, not so humble anymore. this year she even asked for domestic flight besides international flight back. workwise she is still ok. but perhaps my tolerance is low. once they start being picky, i dont fancy keeping them esp my kids are older now and i not wkg. i rather save the money for tuition.

some quesitons to ask:
      will thermal pot be better than slow cooker since both can cook over a long time but thermal can keep warm n save electricity?

for parents who have preschool and pri sch gg kids, do u wake the preschooler up to go cc when u send the pri sch kids to pri sch in the am? assuming they dont take sch bus??

• 2 Offline
        24hr-mum

actually besides cooking and washing, whc can be solved in some ways, i find the most challening part of being maidless (to be) is how to settle the constant bickering among my three kids (8, 6, 4). my youngest love to copy whatever her gor gor and jie jie do or have. and number 1 refuse to give in, number two the same. if i dont watch them for a minute, someone will be scratched or someone will whine n cry…until i whip out my 宝剑 the magic cane…

Breadandmuffins

24hr Mum, my maid also like yours,very good with kids and housework but along the way, got very distracted, so we told her that we are not renewing her last saturday, sunday let her go agent. ask me to sign transfer letter yesterday and asked her if she needed our help in finding one. Thought of putting in this forum, but my guess is right…she wanted ang mo too…so going maidless next yr too.

Pen88n

SMH FOREST:
            Pen88n:

I had a babysitter looking after my gal when she was young. Later, when she went childcare for the whole day, we continued with her taking sch bus to the babysitter's place. She showered my gal and gave her dinner. We picked her up after work. I liked the fact that my babysitter was a SAHM with primary sch kids and she provided wholesome, balanced, home-cooked meal.

At times when my gal was sick, she would not attend childcare and babysitter would look after her instead. My babysitter was very easy going and her whole family treated my gal like their own kid. Luckily my gal was not the sickly type, at most a day or 2 of absence a month.

My babysitter is now looking after 2 (and at times 3) babies at home - she is that popular!

not easy to find good babysitters around? usually, how do u go around asking for babysitters? any tips?

I was lucky I got a good babysitter thru NTUC childcare recommendation scheme quite some time back (no need to pay any fee!). We were staying in a more secluded area, so my babysitter also did not get babies to look after as her place was not that convenient to many people (it was convenient to me 😉 ).

She did not need the income, but she was bored and wanted to babysit. We visited her and we liked the environment + her kids were well-behaved. They visited us too and her hubby was ok to accept my kid. So, deal done!

She has since moved to a \"younger\" housing estate, so many babies to look after now :rotflmao: When we last visited her last Christmas, she had 3 babies at her place. Now, she had 2 babies left!

• 2 Offline
              24hr-mum

wow, if i dont rem wrongly, u have 4 kids is it?

urs with u how long?

mine rejected a few employers:
              1st) her maid recommended her a china employer. she went interview and say she cant communicate cos the lady cant really speak eng. i guess she also overwhelmed cos that lady stay in a penthouse

2nd) the employer wanted her to do hand washing of all clothes and daily ironing. she didnt want

3rd) she say can consider but never firmly accepted. still ask her friend to look for her

4th) the employer wanted a maid to look after mum who has cancer. the old lady is nice and mobile. my maid dont wantt, cos no off day

5th) she also dun want. nvr tel me why.

in between got some enquiries, some have a big family, big house, got 2nd maid, she all dun want… so fussy right??

so she went to her friend plc to interview and finally she found one angmoh she liked. (PS: she doesnt want dogs)(and she doesnt want to pay agent $ and so she asked her maid friend to help.)

so u see, its better to let ur maid find her own new employer. if she die die want angmoh, ask her lucky plaza.

i am glad she found her own. tho she is smart and capable, she wants weekly off and i cant guarantee she wont change after she is exposed to the outside world weekly. she ever asked me if i got facebook or not, asked me add her sister name inside. i told her i dont use fb.

my dh say altho she will get $50 more, she nver consider the fact that:
              1) weekly off means more $ spent, cant save much cos got to pay own lunch n transport
              2) we provide free shampoo, conditioner, and even sanitary pads (my dh spoilt mkt cos he provided these when she first came)
              3) tho she didnt hv off day at first 4 yrs ago, she goes out wif us every sat
              and sun, and weekdaly i bring her out once to ntuc so that she can buy her own stuff - ie free transport free her and free lunch
              4) when we went hk, vietnam, we also bring her along. so that she can take care of our kids and in a way, like a perk for her

anyway, best to have no maids. but i must add that for my case, best to have no mil too. (mil worse than maid)

Breadandmuffins

Mine with me coming to 7years. Yes, got 4kids.My MIL is a nice lady so ok but anyway told DH that better not stay together as relationship still good. Anyway, she may not want to stay with us. Will be getting my father to help drive kids around as he is retired and a part time cleaning company to handle the chores plus get my kids to do some chores.

It was a constant struggle to come to this decision for the past 2years but finally had DH’s blessing to do so. DH even told her that we can help her look to save agent fee but when asked for her preference, she say expat. DH then told her nicely about the "lifestyle" vs "earn money" concept. Work for expat, with more off days and freedom, means more money spent…as what yr DH says. Work for locals, more "controlled" in terms of such things, wont get distracted so easily. Straight after we moved to our current place which is full of expats, she changed to a new HP and got herself FB and now also want to join this group of maids to work for expats. , DH told her that all these years, we never ever scold her if our kids get hurt under her care but we told her if she became so distracted like some of those expat maids downstairs and something happened to kids under her care, she will hv to bear the consequences. THose maids are doing their employers a great disservice if u asked me.

Sorry got to go now…talk again later.

• 2 Offline
                  24hr-mum

u took 2 yrs to decide to terminate her?

for me, the decision started some time ago too. she also got a new HP that has FB but i think she saving $ so hvnt started using FB. actually she has been loyal, cos when my godma asked her whethr to go help her relative she rejected, saying she has contract to finish under me. but while she has no major problem, she doesnt quite like my elder girl cos my elder girl always fight wif my younger girl. she took care of my younger girl and loves her a lot. but to my elder girl she can really b bochap and some remarks are quite uncalled for. anyway becos she is taking home leave my dh say maybe just let her go then. i didnt expect her to ask for transfer. but i know she will insist and since i was the ‘broke the contract’, i thot of helping her but she has never been frank on her expectations (unlike ur maid), so i only got to know that she wanted angmoh few weeks after i told her abt the release. i think all pinoy maids who worked long enuf, enuf to netwk ard, will aim for angmohs…let them be…angmohs like to drink and smoke…totally opp from the nice homely environment at my plc…

• 2 Offline
                    24hr-mum

i thnk angmohs are like that. there was once my maid went for her day off to meet her friends. she said her maid friend brought the employer kids along. (huh??) for my mine, she only has one day off in ev two mths after working for me for 4 years, started first day off in jun only. i usu dont let her go out on her own. i bring kids to classes myslf or wf her along but she nvr go out wf my kids aloone. i do mktg myself oor wf her but not she alone. the only contact she has is her hp and when she meet my friends’ maids or maids in our condo when washg car or picking kids from sch bus. and she has friends who are already here. she is still responsible in her work and no hanky panky but still she can be influenced to aim for angmohs and asking for fb, and even asking for domestic flights when taking home leave. maybe cos work too long for me liao…

Breadandmuffins

Hi 24hr Mum

Are we OT here? Maybe I PM u to continue…

• 2 Offline
                        24hr-mum

btw thinkg of getg electrolux standg cordless vacuum cleaner cos light n i hated hvg to drag a heavy mach ard. also saw a karcher electric broom. any suggestn whc better?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 82 / 245

excellencetuitionacademyE
                        excellencetuitionacademy
                        giving yr bestG
                        giving yr best