very hard to get a maid without a hp now. what would be next? maybe every maid will have an ipad............ :yikes:
The 2 recent Filipina maids that I got recently all agree to having the phone kept by me when at the agency. That is, agent told them upfront that is the requirement. They are given access to it twice a week. So far , the one that stayed on only asked for the phone once. The indon one has no handphone.
My house has never been kept so clean!!!
My previous Filipina maid, I never set such rule (felt very bad to do that) , end up always on the phone. Even though my mum is at home, she don't bother , just use the phone. My previous indon maid also forever using the phone. I feel that we just have to set the rules upfront and stick to it, no choice. -
Actually can check the maid's employment history from mom website if you know the work permit number.
my friend cant tolerate her new maid so sent her packing just after 1 week.
during interview, was told by agency and maid that she had only one local employer (extended contract). but during the maid's stay with her, the maid let it slipped that she had worked for expats after her contract ended with the local family. 2 expats in fact but maid claimed she doesnt like them (both less than 2-3 weeks employment) so asked to leave. ([?????).
anyway, friend cant tolerate her arrogance (like to argue, do things her way) and told the current maid that it is not part of their job scope to walk the dog, go grocery shopping, wash the car, pick kids up from school :scared: .
wow, so now to get a maid, must really sit down with her and agency to go thru carefully the duties involved. :?
my sis is going to have a headache. -
I would be reluctant to take a transfer helper whose ex-employer I cannot speak with, eg an expat who has left and 'cannot be contacted'. The helper could have been fired for not meeting expectations, or the expat employer could have lied to get her to leave amicably. 'We are leaving the country' can be a very convenient excuse to pass on a dud helper.
I have also been rejected by helpers because I'm only a local! Worse, I'm Chinese and as everyone in the world knows, Chinese people are calculative, strict and stingy!! Sigh...
I got my current transfer helper only because an ex-employer of hers (Chinese) saved her son's life by paying for his hospital bills. So she is partial to Chinese employers.
My helper tells me the most coveted expat employers are those from the UK, Australia and US. Others from Europe and South America can be like Chinese employers (see above) so are risky. Germans and Scots are the most like Chinese. :roll:
I don't know why she tells me some things honestly. -
I have a German friend whose maid goes clubbing every Thursday night and the German couldn’t even care less.
My PHL maid of 1 year is resigning.
She said tha she came to Sgp to earn $$ tp build a house and needs to go back to sign some papers bcos her hb managed to loan $$ in PHL to start building the house. She has only $1k+ in her bank lor and thinks that she has $$. I wonder wat is in these maids’ head.
Anyway, she has no chemistry with my mum and I m letting her go. My new Indo maid is coming soon. Really crossed fingers and toes and pray that everything will work out fine. -
My smart cookie is leaving tomorrow night (she’s not been told yet) just as her contract is ending.
Am going to do her a favour coz she’d be in time for a 3-day holiday in the PH! Yeah!
My new maid is born in the 1980’s, probably internet savy as well! This time will allow mobile with certain houserules…but just wondering how she’d differ from the previous maid, given she’s Gen Y.
Any mummy’s out there with experience? -
peapot:
I have a German friend whose maid goes clubbing every Thursday night and the German couldn't even care less.
How does the maid earn so much as to afford going clubbing every Thurs night?? -
znzyzyzx:
You are lucky then for them to abide by the rules. My first one during her first 2 years' contract was not supposed to have a handphone. But she went out to buy one without telling us. After we discovered the phone, she said it belonged to another maid staying in the estate. Only fools would believe that.LOLMum:
very hard to get a maid without a hp now. what would be next? maybe every maid will have an ipad............ :yikes:
The 2 recent Filipina maids that I got recently all agree to having the phone kept by me when at the agency. That is, agent told them upfront that is the requirement. They are given access to it twice a week. So far , the one that stayed on only asked for the phone once. The indon one has no handphone.
My house has never been kept so clean!!!
My previous Filipina maid, I never set such rule (felt very bad to do that) , end up always on the phone. Even though my mum is at home, she don't bother , just use the phone. My previous indon maid also forever using the phone. I feel that we just have to set the rules upfront and stick to it, no choice.
Even if you keep one phone, there is no assurance that they will not go and buy a second phone without your knowledge. -
beanstalk:
One of the maids who is transferring has an Aussie employer. I am surprised too, but it seems that this employer has changed maids many times. Must be one super fussy pot.I would be reluctant to take a transfer helper whose ex-employer I cannot speak with, eg an expat who has left and 'cannot be contacted'. The helper could have been fired for not meeting expectations, or the expat employer could have lied to get her to leave amicably. 'We are leaving the country' can be a very convenient excuse to pass on a dud helper.
I have also been rejected by helpers because I'm only a local! Worse, I'm Chinese and as everyone in the world knows, Chinese people are calculative, strict and stingy!! Sigh...
I got my current transfer helper only because an ex-employer of hers (Chinese) saved her son's life by paying for his hospital bills. So she is partial to Chinese employers.
My helper tells me the most coveted expat employers are those from the UK, Australia and US. Others from Europe and South America can be like Chinese employers (see above) so are risky. Germans and Scots are the most like Chinese. :roll:
I don't know why she tells me some things honestly.
I think you can also add the French... some caucasian employers can be very \"meow\"... -
Breadandmuffins:
It seems that their angmoh employers have been changing numerous maids. One was very harsh and scolded vulgar words, doesn't even provide a room for the maid to sleep (i.e. sleeps in the living room). Another one apparently very particular about the cleaning, plus he is working from home... so free to observe everything that the maid does?Hi busy mom
Did those maids say why they don't want to work for the Ang mos? Or is it the other way round, they cannot meet the Ang mo expectations?
Joke is, I actually saw 2 maids transferring out from the same employer in the course of a few months. :roll:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.