Your Maid Can Sack U, But U Cannot Sack Your Maid!

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    71 Posts 19 Posters 35.0k Views 1 Watching
      minami

This will add on to the unfairness to the employer in the employment contract we have with our maids (not as if the contracts are liable to them in the first place).

If that’s the case, why are we still liable for their air tickets and the levy…MOM should just ask them to pay levy not us since the laws are all for protecting the maids instead of us, we are only asking for fair treatment.

genmai:
        If it's implemented, employers will have to work around the maid's schedule and pay more if the maid is so kind to 'consent' working that weekend! :siao: How many of us have this flexibility with our own employer? :mad:

There's also the risk that maids do 'sidelines' with the extra days off. Will employers continue to be liable if they get caught?

Where's the protection for employers? :gloomy:
        None!!!!....so I boycott having maids now and rather suffer in other ways than being \"bullied\" by the system.. 🕺

iFirefly

genmai:

If it's implemented, employers will have to work around the maid's schedule and pay more if the maid is so kind to 'consent' working that weekend! :siao: How many of us have this flexibility with our own employer? :mad:

There's also the risk that maids do 'sidelines' with the extra days off. Will employers continue to be liable if they get caught?

None!!!!....so I boycott having maids now and rather suffer in other ways than being \"bullied\" by the system.. 🕺

Me too!!! But I don't 'suffer'... Instead I enjoy and rejoice... 🕺

Chu Liu Xiang

Remember, if you voted them in then you only have yourself to be blamed, right?

😆

• Y Offline
              yanyan

reading this makes me mad! Luckily i voted for the opposition party,…haha…

anyway…sometimes i cant help thinking we might be better off being a maid than hire a maid…

Whatever go wrong = employer fault…and we are basically their training centre…

if MOM really go ahead with such ruling…i think after my maid’s contract is up…i dun want to hire a maid liao…might as well i be maid better…

Anyway…they mention about there are org who hold classes for maids…those maids who attended either have super good employers or they are experienced in sg…What about those who are 1st time maids in sg? I think even if i give my maid off day, she will juz stay at home…then lidat cohsider off day or not?? Will i be penalised?

Keep asking us to improve birth rates but we have to suffer the brunt of it…talk abt govt support…pui…this type of support dun want better…

Sorry for my post…if i offended anyone…A Blue Blue monday morning…

• genmaiG Offline
                genmai

firefly38:

[quote=\"genmai\"]If it's implemented, employers will have to work around the maid's schedule and pay more if the maid is so kind to 'consent' working that weekend! :siao: How many of us have this flexibility with our own employer? :mad:

Me too!!! But I don't 'suffer'... Instead I enjoy and rejoice... 🕺[/quote]HB and I were seriously considering to do away with maid but current circumstances make it very tough not to have. We recently applied for a new maid to replace current one.

What with the going rate at $450 even without experience, plus have to compensate for additional off days esp during loan period no off, maid's pay alone will cost $500+ just like that! Increment that's not due to work performance or experience. I :sad: when I think of it. No recourse if we change our minds with new implementation somemore. Really :lightrod: .

Chu Liu Xiang

yanyan:
                  reading this makes me mad! Luckily i voted for the opposition party,..haha..

anyway..sometimes i cant help thinking we might be better off being a maid than hire a maid..

Whatever go wrong = employer fault...and we are basically their training centre..

if MOM really go ahead with such ruling...i think after my maid's contract is up..i dun want to hire a maid liao..might as well i be maid better..

Anyway..they mention about there are org who hold classes for maids...those maids who attended either have super good employers or they are experienced in sg..What about those who are 1st time maids in sg? I think even if i give my maid off day, she will juz stay at home..then lidat cohsider off day or not?? Will i be penalised?

Keep asking us to improve birth rates but we have to suffer the brunt of it..talk abt govt support..pui..this type of support dun want better...

Sorry for my post...if i offended anyone...A Blue Blue monday morning...
                  Normally, 1st time maid (unless they've friends/relatives) will prefer to stay at home. It's only later that they have friends then the off-day will become important to them.

Well, I think you can compensate her if she doesn't go out.

😂

Chu Liu Xiang

:roll: 🆒

genmai:

HB and I were seriously considering to do away with maid but current circumstances make it very tough not to have. We recently applied for a new maid to replace current one.

What with the going rate at $450 even without experience, plus have to compensate for additional off days esp during loan period no off, maid's pay alone will cost $500+ just like that! Increment that's not due to work performance or experience. I :sad: when I think of it. No recourse if we change our minds with new implementation somemore. Really :lightrod: .
                    I think we are heading for trouble if MOM decides to go ahead to mandate the more off-days for maids.

Current maid salary is $400 - $450 for a new inexperienced maid. $450 presumably for those working in 2/3-storey private house (even for S'porean family) as compareed to $400 for working in HDB flat.

If off-day is compensated for $20/off-day (presumably) then we'll need to pay $480 - $530 for every week off for the maid. What if compensation is more?

Now, HK is paying $600 starting salary for an experienced maid. So, are we not paying too much for an inexperienced maid as compared to an experienced maid?

Can sombody feedback on whether maids in HK have their day-offs compensated and, if so, by how much or whether it's already factored into their salary?

Thanks

:roll:

cannot always compare with HK - they don’t have levy, no immigration bonds on employers, and living condition / environment is generally worse than SG because the apartment there is very small … most of them have to sleep in hall if not living outside in shared cheap rental apartment

• genmaiG Offline
                        genmai

Chu Liu Xiang,

The going rate of $450 now at the maid agency is regardless of housing type. I’m only staying in 5-room type apartment.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 8