All About Montessori
sean wife:
.......At home, I had only introduced them to mainly tens and a bit of hundredsโฆis the pace of the enrichment class too fast? Just to recall, they are turning 4 next month...
I have replied to your PM, sean wife. I'll need more info to understand what kinda advice you are seeking. -
Hi all,
juz wan to share that i have attended 4 lessons of Montessori phonics and embarking on the Montessori maths workshop (oso 4 lessons). It was pretty good as i did hands-on wif my 4 y.o. DD and her progress has been very encouraging. :rahrah:
Buds has been an inspiration in all e Montessori threads. :salute: I have learnt a few tips fr her and during those workshops I have attended. Although e workshops r not v extensive, it is gd enough for bz parents like me who wans to do reinforcement at hm to complement sch's teaching without attending the full diploma course.
To parents who wishes 2 take charge in eir children's education, it may b a gd idea to do it e Montessori way & during eir preschool yrs (no exam stress yet). Of course, tis is juz my humble opinion. Pls dun flame me, ya?! :torchme: -
I am wondering where can I sign up for these montessori courses so I can teach my two kids at homeโฆ -
pinkitty:
Kindly keep me informed too.. would prefer to home school as I have the time at home!Hi,
I am wondering where can I sign up for these montessori courses so I can teach my two kids at home... -
chantuan_lim:
Hi chantuan_lim & pinkitty,
Kindly keep me informed too.. would prefer to home school as I have the time at home!pinkitty:
I am wondering where can I sign up for these montessori courses so I can teach my two kids at home...
IM no expert in e courses but you may refer to e link for the workshop I have attended below.
http://enrighten.com/
If u scroll down to e bottom of the page (on e left hand side), u will b able to see e Montessori program. However e current Montessori Maths workshop tat im attending is e last workshop of e yr (3 more lessons to go) so u will not b able to see e details of the Montessori phonics or maths workshop. U may wish to sign up in eir mailing list 2b updated on their nex yr's schedule. e one mentioned in e Montessori program on their website now is juz a general 1 day workshop.
Actually, if IM a FTSM, I will invest in a diploma course.
As I have mentioned to Buds b4, IM sold!!! I love e system, I love e materials (but ey r so expensive lor!!! :faint: ). My DD2 is a living proof to me tat learning can b fun but yet effective. Bcos of her progress, I bought so many stuff which I nv thot i will :moneyflies: . Her progress is faster than I can DIY. haha...!!! 
My only regret was not knowing it earlier so tat I can coach my DD1 in e same manner rather than using assessm bk aft assessm bk. :sad: -
cutebabylucky:
You're welcome cutebabylucky, i only share the ones worth sharing. None is good in my opinion in Toa Payoh and very few choices. :roll: As for preschool centres with aircon, i loike! Singapore is very hot! Aircon more comfortable for learning AND working too :evil: .... and good for children who have eczema like mine who will develop rash when too warm / sweaty. As for getting illness in aircon... sorry, i personally find aircon is not the only factor for a child getting ill. There's also the child's diet, exercise, sufficient rest (etc).thanks buds PM to me. I check all of them. All of the childcare use air-con.This is a big concern to me coz my daughter is easy to get illness if stay long time. So pls PM me more montessori meet below condition:
1. havd good educational skill
2.air-con
3.near to sengkang or tao payoh -
cantbearit2:
Buds has been an inspiration in all e Montessori threads. :salute: I have learnt a few tips fr her...
Just read this and saw your PM as well. Will reply to you shortly..
Thank you for dropping your note & appreciating my work / sharings.
You certainly made my day, cantbearit2! :snuggles:
Yes, Montessori offers non-threatening.. non-pressurizing learning environment at yours and your child's comfortable pace. Yes as well to some materials being more worth to purchase than DIY especially if you're looking to teach more than one child. However, i find the pricing for enrighten products have seen a hike over the years. Hence i prefer to look for other options wherever possible. I've purchased from them before so i observed the price hikes are quite substantial. Plus some of their items are also China made. Some China made ones are pretty much ok if you aren't fussy and if it's meant for homeschool. There are different quality grades between the different companies/manufacturers.
As for more extensive parent-programmes, i will keep you in the loop cantbearit2.. I really got sooo many requests.
So i supposed it'd be good to put into action. Only thing is i will only cater for closed-group only... no big-scale. To buds' kakis... we'll keep in touch.
buds, can I be in your kaki group too? waiting list also can :please:
Although the school teachers are doing their best, I find thst I still need to help them at home. It's not because my expectations are too high but I think our environment is too fast paced. I think my kids need more time to absorb and unfortunately or fortunately. I'm the only one that can guide them. -
SAHM_TAN arh.. :slapshead:
You ARE oredi in my kaki group babe. :love:
You weren't sure issit? :evil: Okie, will update you.
Just that a wee far for you to travel from Central that's all.. :hugs: -
Thanks buds,
:hugs:
For my kids, I will travel to the ends of the world.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.