Apply HDB New Flat Income > $8,000, Can Appeal?

91 Posts 16 Posters 33.5k Views 1 Watching
      titank

insider:
      I am a 'nomad'. Over the past about 20 years, I shifted to about 8 different houses. At any one time, I never give up my 'rights' to own a HDB flat since this is one of the 'benefits' I have as a taxpayer (not until my final dream house comes true, which is a two story penthouse in River Valley).

Over the buy and sell, estimated I have made more than half a million dollars. I got stuck with my first-hand HDB the longest for 5 years before I could sell. I sold when property market was at its peak and made a few hundred thousand dollars profit. Then I move to a rented apartment for about a year to wait for the property prices to come down before I moved in to buy another smaller one at a much lower price. In this way, my family moved in and out, out and in, and my kids are very used to house moving (they are actually expecting me to shift house on average every 2 to 3 years to have a new room / new environment). All at home, incl my maid, are 'trained packers' - give each some carton boxes and each will know how to pack / label / etc... (during house moving, each has to pack own stuff and I will not help except with my youngest son).

Maybe I am a 'gambler'. I am not so disturbed by those 20 years or 30 years loan coz I know I will shift when the 'lock-in' period of the bank loan is over or when I can find a HDB of a good price. When renting apartment, I will rent one of those units that I may buy, sort of 'trial stay' and if really comfortable, maybe can just buy a unit and stay or else will be 'next'...

I ever did my calculation. It is much profitable to invest in HDB than a condo. HDB is 'small $ makes big $' whereas condo is a bit like 'big money making small $' - % and not absolute value wise...
      Insider,

Wow cool yeah where I believed you are the Pioneer where every shift house can earn $$$!! πŸ˜‰

Now HDB Flats still can shift & earn $$?
      ?
      :?

smurf

Assuming that the net cash is around $670, this is around 10% of their disposable income. I thot it seems pretty reasonable?

I don't agreed. there are many other cost involved too. stamp duty, agent fee, lawyer fee, renovation cost, interests, so its not only 700k. Interest rate is the hefty one. if loan is stretch over 25 yrs, one could be paying for a small HDB flat for nothing. :shock:

I dun think it's only just $670. currently, we are paying around $800 cash for a house which cost around 480k. imagine a 700k house??

also, I think CPF contribution are capped if your salary exceeds certain amount?

πŸ˜‰

• qmsQ Offline
          qms

smurf:
          ...there are many other cost involved too. stamp duty, agent fee, lawyer fee, renovation cost, interests, so its not only 700k. Interest rate is the hefty one.

Actually, the cost estimates above have already taken into consideration stamp duties, etc. Agent fee? There is no agent fee if you buy direct from HDB, right? Maybe I forgot to indicate this. The calculation was made assuming the couple bought the flat directly from HDB.

smurf:

I dun think it's only just $670. currently, we are paying around $800 cash for a house which cost around 480k. imagine a 700k house??

also, I think CPF contribution are capped if your salary exceeds certain amount?

πŸ˜‰
            smurf,
            $670 perhaps is for a longer loan period? or a smaller loan amount? πŸ˜‰

winth

Agreed with Insider!

HDB flat is govt’s way of giving money to the citizens. The yield of your first HDB property is usually the highest cos they give subsidized EVERYTHING.

We bought a more than 20 year old flat at a high premium. It was announced for SERs, my ILs made the loudest noise cos it was 45K COV for that run-down place. We did it up to our taste and enjoyed our 3 years there. After that, govt moved us to our current home and we bought it real cheap for a 5 room for this location, plus subsidized loan somemore.

Now, the value has doubled. Everyone was :!:. My current agent even asked how we get ourselves such a good deal. Problem is: nobody agreed with our decision then when we felt it was a good buy. It was on hindsight. So we made by going against the tide.

With the haywire property prices, we refused to buy, so we rented and held on to this current house.

Everything voices down to your first property and the bet you place on it.

The gamble is always there, but you need to take the courage to make that first step. Oh, have you guys read about someone who bought an Orchard property for 14mil, sold for 8 or 9 mil? That’s the losing part if bet on the wrong timing lar…

• qmsQ Offline
                qms

smurf:

Hi smurf!

$670 is just an estimate. The actual amount depends on the age group of the couple, because the age group determines how many percentage of the 34.5% CPF contribution goes towards Ordinary/Special/Medisave accounts.

Like what jedamum said, the final amount is also dependent on the loan amount and tenure. If I am not wrong, you are not taking up a 30-year loan, right?

• qmsQ Offline
                  qms

winth:
                  We bought a more than 20 year old flat at a high premium. It was announced for SERs, my ILs made the loudest noise cos it was 45K COV for that run-down place.

Flats that have been earmarked for SERs are definitely more worth it. In fact, you got a good deal by just paying $45k COV. For SERs flats, buyers are usually willing to pay much more than that.

Perhaps Titank would like to look for flats with SERs potential? However, it is anybody's guess whether the flats will eventually go through SERs.

smurf

smurf:

...there are many other cost involved too. stamp duty, agent fee, lawyer fee, renovation cost, interests, so its not only 700k. Interest rate is the hefty one.

Actually, the cost estimates above have already taken into consideration stamp duties, etc. Agent fee? There is no agent fee if you buy direct from HDB, right? Maybe I forgot to indicate this. The calculation was made assuming the couple bought the flat directly from HDB.

think stamp duty is paid separately if I remember correctly. ya, no agent fee if buy directly from HDB.:)

smurf

smurf:

Hi smurf!

$670 is just an estimate. The actual amount depends on the age group of the couple, because the age group determines how many percentage of the 34.5% CPF contribution goes towards Ordinary/Special/Medisave accounts.

Like what jedamum said, the final amount is also dependent on the loan amount and tenure. If I am not wrong, you are not taking up a 30-year loan, right?

we are taking slightly shorter than 30 yr loan, but still $800 is a lot to pay. can u imagine your CPF all wipe out and still have to fork out cash, plus, it doesn't include renovation and stamp duty? also, you dun have any CPF UNTIL the loan are all paid up? and then when old, no CPF? πŸ˜›

• qmsQ Offline
                        qms

smurf:
                        think stamp duty is paid separately if I remember correctly. ya, no agent fee if buy directly from HDB.:)

Hi Smurf!

Stamp duty has already been taken into consideration in the calculation, regardless what mode you pay.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 10