24hr-mum read your whole posts and still I feel you should pay her till 19th and not till 12th when she is leaving.. reason is for the 1st 2 yrs she was a perfect maid and i must say you should really be greatful for it... I dunno how many parents or ppl can say this.... you were really blessed...
thanks. i m still hesitating (tho its not much, just $75, but its the meaning behind that i want to convey)
her past performance was already rewarded in the past - free overseas trip, xmas n bday presents, weekly restaurant food.
plus i had bought her a two-way return air tickets (cos at first wanted her to finish contract), and i didnt claim the return air tix $ from her new employer. so this is already extra. if i were to claim from her new boss, her new boss may ask her to pay back shd she leave in 6 mths, cos as it is, the new boss who is ggoing to pay for her hm leave contract $300 becos she is taking the maid before her hm leave, is asking her to pay back some money if she were to leave in 6 mths (my maid unhappy wif this but still take it).
but the main reason is still i buay song over her attitude twds my elder gal (tho my maid still works responsibly in other aspects) : i had to wake my girl up every day myself for sch. wat if i oversleep?
anyway see how i feel that day when she leave n after i chk her luggage.... -
24hr-mum:
unfortunately for the part in red, the maid dont and wont appreciate your kind thoughts and action.
thanks. i m still hesitating (tho its not much, just $75, but its the meaning behind that i want to convey)
plus i had bought her a two-way return air tickets (cos at first wanted her to finish contract), and i didnt claim the return air tix $ from her new employer. so this is already extra. if i were to claim from her new boss, her new boss may ask her to pay back shd she leave in 6 mths, cos as it is, the new boss who is ggoing to pay for her hm leave contract $300 becos she is taking the maid before her hm leave, is asking her to pay back some money if she were to leave in 6 mths (my maid unhappy wif this but still take it).
anyway see how i feel that day when she leave n after i chk her luggage....
either you give it willingly and not think of anything else or nothing at all.
the amount doesnt matter, be it big or small sum. since i know i have already done so much for her (holidays and extra $) and yet \"bosong\" about some of the things she had done, i wont give her any extra.
do what you feel is justified in your own heart and after that, forget about it. -
Totally agree. 24-hr mum, do what your heart tells you and don't look back. You are legally and morally bound to give her what's due to her - anything extra has to come from the heart. Wish her well and that's that.
do what you feel is justified in your own heart and after that, forget about it. -
problem is if i dun gv extra n if she expect, may ask me why or blackface. so mus settle only last min
Why would you need to give early? for my maids who are leaving, I only hand them money at the last day.
i also buay song that after finishing the main housework and cooking of dinner, before my kids return from presch, she uses the free time to sms or read books even when i m around, prob thinkg its just a short while (it could be up to an hour or wat i duno, in the past, when my kids return later frm preschool and when i was out, but later on i asked the sch to let the kids take the earlier batch of sch bus since she is doing nothing).
do any of ur maids do that?? ie daytime read or sms hp when finish major hsewk ?? last time in first two yrs my maid isnt like that, she wil find small things to do eg wipe bookshelves etc during the pockets of time…- she is supp to use hp or own things at nite. sigh…i take it as complacency or boldness -
Understand why you may not be happy about it. But then, after sometime, will surely run out of places to dust/things to move around. For me, as long as the basics are done, I’ll close an eye.
These days I understand that my maid will run off into her room to read once the chores are done, and sometimes once she’s finished polishing this or dusting that. I am okay with that as long as she doesn’t ignore if family needs her help.
FYI, my first maid needed to find things to do. somehow she just love to dust my collection of HRC/planet hollywood shotglasses - to the extent that the colour started fading. i had to tell her to layoff the dusting…not sure what type of power she was using also. -
i have yet to come across some1 who doesnt \"eat snake\" in his job. it is just that we are the one paying the salary, so we are a bit more fussy about it.
have to close 1 eye.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Salesman hunts for good food instead of working .
Joyce Lim | The New Paper | Tue Nov 1 2011
Singapore, November 1, 2011 - He knows exactly where the best hawker food stalls are in Singapore.
And he spends much of his working day visiting these exciting epicurean discoveries. Except that John's job has nothing to do with food.
He is actually a salesman who has to ensure that grooming products make it to shelves in supermarkets here.
When you become his friend, this \"accidental foodie\" will even reveal to you the places that serve good food and where parking is free.
John, 35, asked to remain anonymous for his following confessions to The New Paper on Sunday. He says: \"I will be sacked if my boss learns of my daily routine.\"
He has been in the same job for more than a decade.
He reports for work at 9am from Mondays to Fridays. By 9.30am, he's out of the office. He is meant to visit supermarkets which carry his company's products, and schedule meetings with clients.
Instead, John drives to one of his favourite coffee shops for breakfast before moving on to another place for lunch.
He reveals that his breakfast and lunch buddies are salesmen from a rival company. Food is the social glue among salesmen, says John.
Food places with free parking
They also exchange tips on places where they can find free parking in Singapore. IMM and Kallang's McDonald's fast food restaurant are their top two favourite spots.
\"IMM is big and there are many food choices there. Parking is free for the first three hours,\" says John.
\"Parking used to be free at Kallang McDonald's. There's also free Wi-Fi and air-conditioning, making it an attractive place for salesmen to gather and spend the entire afternoon.
\"But recently, ERP gantries have been installed and parking is free for the first hour only.\"
But being the shrewd salesman that he is, John has his way of getting around the system.
You just need to keep watch of your time and drive your car out of the carpark just before it hits the one-hour mark. Then you re-enter the carpark and you get another hour of free parking.
\"Free parking is a top priority for salesmen who just want to while away their time instead of doing real work,\" he says with a chuckle.
Just how many places in Singapore are there with free parking and good food?
John replies: \"Very few. But because we visit these food places almost every day, we know the time that the carpark attendants come. So we will move our cars just before the carpark attendants appear.\"
His favourite food stalls
John confesses that he likes to go to Toa Payoh Lorong 1 for chicken rice and char kway teow, Ang Mo Kio Avenue 3 for bak kut teh, East Coast Road for prawn noodles, Jalan Batu for wonton noodles and Bedok for bak chor mee.
It isn't just in the heartlands that John gets to park his car for free.
He says: \"I also like to go to Marina Square for lunch. I will park my car on Raffles Link road which is just outside a row of restaurants. I can watch my car as I eat. So far, I haven't gotten any tickets for that.\"
He works only a few days a week
Doesn't he have to do any work?
\"Of course. I do work two to three days a week,\" he says.
\"As I've been in this job long enough, my clients will call me when they need to place an order. There's no need for me to visit them so often. I visit them only once in a few months.
\"Salesmen have a lot of time to kill. Sometimes I go for a movie. And when I'm really in the mood, I will drive to Johor Baru for a haircut, wash my hair, top up petrol and buy some cheap tidbits for my clients.\"
John says he is comfortable with his monthly salary of more than $3,500.
Having built a good network of customers, he says he's able to meet his sales target every month. And whenever he gets more sales than he's required to, he carries the sales forward to the following month.
\"That's what most salesmen do. So you can easily meet your sales target every month.\"
His trade secrets
1. If you're an active Facebook user, don't be friends with your colleagues on the social networking site, so that no one from the office knows of your whereabouts and activities.
To be safe, block them.
2. Don't put any car decal or decoration on your car that will make it easy to identify it. This is to prevent anyone from spotting your car during working hours, at a place that you're not supposed to be at.
3. If you're just an average-performing salesman earning an average salary, there's no need to put in the extra effort to bring in more sales.
Just make sure that you meet the monthly sales target to earn your keep. If you bring in a lot more sales than you're required, your boss will raise the target the following month and you will end up having to work harder every month.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -
hmm but las time she not like tat leh. even if basic done, can wash shoes, wipe thgs etc. anyway i nvr tel her off. i eithr close eye n tahan or i send her off. i believe no use in tellg off. they dun like n wont change. theres one time i help her buy phonecard (i usu do). i told her n wrote down its $17. but end of mth when i wanna deduct frm her pay she ask me isn it $16.50? (like some occasions). since i dun hv receipt i jus let her win but in my heart y questn me over 50 cts whn i provided u wf so much freebies like pads, toiletries, bettr food?
theres anothr time i ask her serve dinner but i forgot usu she doesnt cook rice the same time as fryg dishes cos she say cook too early rice will harden (difficult to wash the pot) so she cook rice much later. but i had forgotten her habit n need brg my gal go class. so i ask her go n cook now lah, takes only 20min for rice to b cooked. she questn me y i nvr tel her to cook earlier -
hi 24hr-mum, i think you shd not give her the extra, since she may not appreciate it. Although I have a maid for only a month plus, I am tired of maids who are demanding and not appreciative. My maid has not been cleaning the floor under my sofa since she came (imagine one whole month and I know cos I saw bits of paper there throughout this one month). Finally i cannot tahan and told her to clean it as my son’s toys sometimes go under the sofa and he can use his hand to touch the floor. I have never told off my maid since she came, as I know that she is still missing her family and is new being an maid. Expectedly, she claimed she clean the floor everyday and I told her to put her hands on the floor and tell me what are these papers. The best part is she left me a note writing in bigger font and all cap: ‘I am sorry to disappoint you’. And then in smaller cap,
I will be leaving in 184 days or earlier if i can. ’ The 184 days is her total loan period you see. Sigh…my maid not only dont like to be told, she can ‘scold’ me back in her note…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.