May I know what is being taught in Eng & Maths TTLT? Just wondering how the program is like and if there's any value in it. Thanks.

IJJ:
So if not in that top 20+ % no chance of TTLT Liao lor? :sad:drickymummy:
P3 parents whose kids who passed GEP round 1, did u get any notice of your child on TTLT liao? Seems like some know if they are in or now liao... Does it mean that u in TTLT u are doing both Math on Monday and eng on fri? Thanks!
Now I recall, I think GEP section will provide each school a list of kids who did not get through the selection test, but among the top 2-? % of the nation cohort and this group will then get into either TTLT Math, TTLT Eng or both, depending on the test result. I think the list will only be available end of the year or beginning of next year. The school will offer to the kids.
Yes, for this year, math on mon and eng on friday. Not sure if they will do the same next year. Dd had to forgo english as it crashes with her CCA. Many had to forgo CCA to attend the english TTLT. A couple of us (parents) fedback to the school and they did say they may consider moving the day.
Also makes sense lah.. 80+ kids got into round 2... If all go TTLT, sch can handle that many of them meh? :scratchhead:
Hopefully can know the result ASAP .... Otherwise, planning for next yr's tuition classes v troublesome .... -
A site from PH for anyone interested to learn more about TTLT (esp English).
http://www.phpps.moe.edu.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=31&Itemid=60
Dd only attended Maths...she loved it so much. She is besides me resiting to me what she can recall what was in TTLT lessons...roman numerial, eyptian numerial, mayan numerial, different methology of solving multiplications/maths sums. They are not stuff from texts and they are not olympiad maths stuff. Maybe dyh or jennifer or S6169 or other parents with kids in it can elaborate.
Edited to add : Attending TTLT is not for achieving better scores during exams and not having it does not mean the child miss out anything crucial.
IJJ:
My P4 boy was supposed to be doing both MA and EL TTLT. Due to a miscommunication, he thought he could only attend EL TTLT. This year EL TTLT focused on oral presentation. They started with writing poem (a few types), speeches n tongue twisters n oral skills, lastly a modified play The Three Little Pigs (performing this play at the Talent Fest n possibly the P1 Orientation Day). During the Jun hols, the TTLT leadership programme organised a sch camp (one overnight). The external agency is Lorna Whiston.A site from PH for anyone interested to learn more about TTLT (esp English).
http://www.phpps.moe.edu.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=31&Itemid=60
Dd only attended Maths...she loved it so much. She is besides me resiting to me what she can recall what was in TTLT lessons...roman numerial, eyptian numerial, mayan numerial, different methology of solving multiplications/maths sums. They are not stuff from texts and they are not olympiad maths stuff. Maybe dyh or jennifer or S6169 or other parents with kids in it can elaborate.
Edited to add : Attending TTLT is not for achieving better scores during exams and not having it does not mean the child miss out anything crucial.
According to my boy, there were less attendees during term 4 leading to SA2. -
drickymummy:
Hopefully can know the result ASAP .... Otherwise, planning for next yr's tuition classes v troublesome ....
We did not know until the P4 EL/MA teachers gave out consent forms.
If there is MA banding for next year P4, then those in M1 class shld be all included in the MA TTLT (in accordance to this year). Do take note that the M1 teacher might not give out consent forms since the whole class is offered the MA TTLT. This was what happened to my boy, hence the miscommunication that caused him to miss out the MA TTLT.
My elder boy also missed out this TTLT prog as he was a transfer pupil. We were told only during the Mar Parents meet Teachers session that he was supposed to be in such a prog
:offtopic: Anyone knows if the pre-P1 children need to wear PH uniform during the P1 orientation?
Joyfulhands:
:offtopic: Anyone knows if the pre-P1 children need to wear PH uniform during the P1 orientation?
No need... -
Wow the TTLT sounds really interesting and fun. I'm sure dd will enjoy, if she gets to do it. :imcool: :imcool:
Ok, tks for confirming. Diff sch have diff practice.Joyfulhands:
No need... -
IJJ:
Actually attending TTLT Maths will indirectly help the student score in exams; reason being that for this subject, as long as the student thinks that it's interesting, then will surely indulge in it and do well. Am I thinking too much?
Attending TTLT is not for achieving better scores during exams and not having it does not mean the child miss out anything crucial.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.