another poll: do any of ur maids on their last day, question u why nvr give extra (ie bonus)after working for xxx yrs for u, or question why so little bonus??
ur response?? -
actually i also dont expect my maid to buy anything for us, but if she ever buy, i dont want her to gv me problem by saying only some of my kids can eat, some cannot (favoritism), cos my kids wil think that anything in the fridge or in the hse is all bought by me and eat them accidentally.
imagine if i have two maids and i buy things only for 1 of them?? -
24hr-mum:
For my previous maids who left, i gave them extra in ang pows at the very last minute (one before left with agent and the other before she check in at the airport. They never questioned me on the extras.another poll: do any of ur maids on their last day, question u why nvr give extra (ie bonus)after working for xxx yrs for u, or question why so little bonus??
ur response?? -
24hr-mum:
My helper does. She will buy presents for my kids on their birthdays and christmas. On her off days, she will come home with either cakes from bengawan solo or bread from breadtalk for us. When she went on home leave, she came back with a whole luggage of mangoes, buah keluak and keropok.just a poll, how many of ur maids ever buy things for your family using own money? like little treats?? my friend's maid who stole her supplement actually ever buy icecream for her kids.....unfortunately mine just bring some home made food when she returned from hm leave last time.
there was once she bought yakult and 100+ on her time off but when my elder gal took yakult (both me and my gal didnt know bought by maid cos i also gave maid money to buy lunch so i thot she use bal money to buy for my kids), my maid asked her: who buy one?? and she buy hairclip only for no 3 tho my elder girl also long hair -
When my maid left, I gave her a 2 month bonus because I felt she was good all the 5 years she was with us. She never gave us cause for worry as she did not fool around, did her work well, was honest n reliable. Only problem was she occasionally would give black face when not happy n it was more frequent n evident in the last year she was with us. She got gradual increments over the years with us till we reached abt 500 dollars, this was in addition to 3 Sundays off per month n $100 angpow for her bday n cny.
They are here to earn a living for their families and having been maidless for abt 4 months now, I appreciate that it is rather tiring being a 'full-time' maid. So even though, there was some unhappiness over the last 6 months or so, we felt we wanted to show our appreciation for all the good hard work she had put in the previous years.
She was happy n to me, it does not matter if she will be grateful etc.. Just
that our conscience is clear n that we have rewarded her according to how
generally fuss free her time with us has been.
She did not buy us gifts, only once she got a box of dunkin donuts for the
kids from the airport after home leave.. That's fine as there money is really hard earned
So when your helper leaves, give her what you feel she deserves n the amount you feel justified in giving.
Just my honest opinion
24hr-mum:
No. 2nd maid left before her 2 year up. I can't remember and don't think I gave her any extra cash. Maybe some present in kind, but definitely no cash. I even got her to buy her own luggage.another poll: do any of ur maids on their last day, question u why nvr give extra (ie bonus)after working for xxx yrs for u, or question why so little bonus??
ur response??
Anyway, should such a maid like yours dare question, just look at her and smile and say I follow what's on the contract. Full stop. Nonid to entertain her with full story. -
I gave my maid a big bonus when she went on home leave several years ago. Big mistake I think :siao: Cos now she's probably expecting something similar.
Previously their salaries were much lower than current salaries, so my thought then was \"poor thing, work for so little $\" that's why I gave the big bonus. But now salaries have gone up by high %.......so how, next time? -
I just came back from Bali, I casually checked with a few locals working as sales staff, a hotel manager, massage therapist, sales promoter. Their salary after conversion range from $180 to $280 per month. So now maid salary is about $400 to $450 is actually ok taking into account that it’s an overseas job. Strangely before this I thought the maid salary abit high. I wonder if jakAta salary is also this range.
its true that’s a mistake. maids expect things unchanged, even if ur dh has no pay increment, they expect increment for themselves.
if u dont want to pay now, gv some excuse like now ur pay higher, or hubby company not doing well etc.
for instance, i bought shoes for my maid, pads for my maid when she first came. she has since expected me to supply pads every mth, and seldom buy seldom buy her own shoes.
my dh was kind to pay for her shampoo etc when she first came.
then at first she also not only chose shampoo but also chose those 2in1 type , ie got conditioner cum shampoo. after i start charging her, she dun choose own shampoo anymore.
so before u do anything alwaz ask urslf r u prepared to make it a precedent regardless of circumstances, or u set a limit say just 3 mths…and mention upfront -
peapot:
I just came back from Bali, I casually checked with a few locals working as sales staff, a hotel manager, massage therapist, sales promoter. Their salary after conversion range from $180 to $280 per month. So now maid salary is about $400 to $450 is actually ok taking into account that it's an overseas job. Strangely before this I thought the maid salary abit high. I wonder if jakAta salary is also this range.
well, I'm sure the sales staff, hotel manager etc may also have to foot their own food/accomodation/medical. So if you factor that in, maid salary is definitely much more than $400-450.
If you are referring to maid in Jakarta, I understand their monthly salary may be as pathetic as $50. But that was understanding from many moons ago.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.