All About Preparing For PSLE
If I remember correctly, your child is in P5 this yr. SA2 is just over, and you're worrying about next yr PSLE? Isn't it too soon to worry?Hi P6 students of 1999,
Congrats on completion of PSLE :rahrah: ... first major exam in your life.
Now that you are done, I would like to get your valuable advice how to handle this. Starting from NOW. Your guidance is very very much appreciated.
Thanks & Rgds, a desperate mummy.
RELAX LAH!
sall:
If I remember correctly, your child is in P5 this yr. SA2 is just over, and you're worrying about next yr PSLE? Isn't it too soon to worry?janet_lee88:
Hi P6 students of 1999,
Now that you are done, I would like to get your valuable advice how to handle this. Starting from NOW. Your guidance is very very much appreciated.
RELAX LAH!
Because of mommies like Janet, nuar mommies like me can relax relax a bit more. Can always depend on Janet to start the ball rolling and many of us will benefit, quite lucky leh :rahrah:
Can lah can lah, nevermind lah.....she happy, we happy also.
PS : But hor, 1999 ?? Janet, you need to rest a bit..... :rotflmao: -
sall:
How to relax ?
If I remember correctly, your child is in P5 this yr. SA2 is just over, and you're worrying about next yr PSLE? Isn't it too soon to worry?janet_lee88:
RELAX LAH!
Son flunk Math leh. PSLE is just 10 months away :nailbite: -
BeContented:
If I remember correctly, your child is in P5 this yr. SA2 is just over, and you're worrying about next yr PSLE? Isn't it too soon to worry?sall:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Hi P6 students of 1999,
RELAX LAH!
Because of mommies like Janet, nuar mommies like me can relax relax a bit more. Can always depend on Janet to start the ball rolling and many of us will benefit, quite lucky leh :rahrah:
Can lah can lah, nevermind lah.....she happy, we happy also.
PS : But hor, 1999 ?? Janet, you need to rest a bit..... :rotflmao:[/quote]Think Janet meant kids born in 1999 lah (they took PSLE this year 2011).. -
Give him some time to recharge battery, then check which are the topics he's weak in, then get him to work on those weak topics.
How to relax ?
Son flunk Math leh. PSLE is just 10 months away :nailbite:
Hi ladies,
My son has been playing since 1st Nov. Told him I will be giving him time off. But deep down, i am also hoping he would pick up a book to read instead of PLAYING all the time. Very disappointing. Even Math tutor is upset he lost 10 marks on careless mistakes !!! Working correct but instead of 15, he wrote something else. Already told him he has to buck up or else tutor will quit :stompfeet: -
Can someone advise what should I do? My DS is doing PSLE 2012...
1. When I put my son in class tuition, he talked too much, teacher put him at the back of the class and no improvement in grades. Past 6 mths I paid for 1to1 tuition 2x/week and he failed EL & CL and borderline for SC and MA (w/o improvement). What else can I do?
2. Everytime after taking every papers, he confidently claimed that the paper was easy and he would score at least 70 (except CL). How do I diagnosis what went wrong? Should I change tutor before it is too late?
3. EL/SC/MA same tutor, CL Chinese national tutor. My DS always failed in the CL compre section (avg 2/10, this SA2 9/34). He can read but just couldn't pick the answers from text and worst, when he has to write his opinion/comments on the morale of the story etc., he's clueless.
I am desperate now
momkong1968:
There may be 2 problem areas:Can someone advise what should I do? My DS is doing PSLE 2012...
1. When I put my son in class tuition, he talked too much, teacher put him at the back of the class and no improvement in grades. Past 6 mths I paid for 1to1 tuition 2x/week and he failed EL & CL and borderline for SC and MA (w/o improvement). What else can I do?
2. Everytime after taking every papers, he confidently claimed that the paper was easy and he would score at least 70 (except CL). How do I diagnosis what went wrong? Should I change tutor before it is too late?
3. EL/SC/MA same tutor, CL Chinese national tutor. My DS always failed in the CL compre section (avg 2/10, this SA2 9/34). He can read but just couldn't pick the answers from text and worst, when he has to write his opinion/comments on the morale of the story etc., he's clueless.
I am desperate now
1) Son's attitude. You hv to check on that, his attitude towards studies, life, etc.
2) The tutors. Are they qualified? Is the Chinese national tutor aware of MOE's requirement for chinese? Getting a chinese tutor to stimulate interest in chinese and to help a child academically is different.
Also, is the EMS tutor qualified? How is the tuition conducted? Does the tutor try to identify his weakness in certain topics and work on these? -
zeemimi:
Dear momkong1968,
There may be 2 problem areas:momkong1968:
Can someone advise what should I do? My DS is doing PSLE 2012...
I am desperate now
1) Son's attitude. You hv to check on that, his attitude towards studies, life, etc.
2) The tutors. Are they qualified? Is the Chinese national tutor aware of MOE's requirement for chinese? Getting a chinese tutor to stimulate interest in chinese and to help a child academically is different.
Also, is the EMS tutor qualified? How is the tuition conducted? Does the tutor try to identify his weakness in certain topics and work on these?
I understand your frustration. My ds2 is taking PSLE in 2012 too. His results for ENG/MT have always been borderline whereas for MA/SCI are roller coaster results. For every exams, I will always
till the day result is out. Since mid of this yr, we have stopped all his tuitions and sent him for a motivation course instead. It is quite expensive tough. On top of that, my dh and me coach him ourselves. Surprisingly, we realized his attitude towards studying starts to improve and at least for MA/SCI, his results are more consistent for CA2/SA2. He is slowly making improvement in ENG/MT too compared to 1st half of this year. One good surprise is he even got a silver award for a recent Maths Olympiad. We continue to encourage him and he is very motivated with his achievement so far. At last, I start to see some light at the end of the tunnel.
My humble opinion : find some ways to motivate your ds and never give up on him. Set realistic target for him and for every improvement that your ds has made, even small improvement, praise him and encourage him to work harder. Review the target and set new ones once he has achieved it. I think it is also important that parents try to focus on the strength of your child and encourage them instead of nagging on their weak points. I believe your ds can do it. å ę²¹ :rahrah: -
HI Mummies,
I started my son for Math tuition and EL enrichment after SA1 this year. CL tuition since P1.
Maths borderline pass for SA2. English had a Grade C, same for Science :mad: He used to be scoring 70+ for Science all this while, but dropped drastically because of incomplete/careless mistakes. Also, this year super playful and dreamer !!!
For Chinese, I see an improvement in his Oral and Paper II. That's a little consolation for me.
Next year 2012, he's sitting for PSLE. I really hope he wakes up and gets serious about his work attitude. It's scaring the hell out of me just seeing how playful he is.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.