[Fun Poll] How satisfied are u with ur child(ren) results?
What cognitive training folks? Gimme contact. I go and evaluate.
here's 2, there are also computer based cognitive training, however, I think a person to person interaction based training is more involving.
ThinkersBox - North Bridge Road, North Bridge Center, #03-02. Tel: 6773 4886
Comments: during weekdays, no one's around as they conduct training in schools. Appointment is needed during weekdays. Best to call up first to arrange appointment. Free preliminary evaluation test conducted (about 15 mins) to assess child on different areas (short term memory, visual processing, audio processing, reading skills, etc...) A more comprehensive testing will be done once you sign up for the 10 month course.
Singapore Brain Development Center - 1 Tampines Central 5, #03-16 CPF Building. Tel: 6288 4123
Comments: best to call up to arrange appointment first. Similar to Thinkersbox except that there is no free assessment test. Need to pay $300 for a more comprehensive test (about 45 min). Money will be refunded if you sign up for the course. Course duration is about similar to Thinkersbox. However, the important difference is that parents are expected to spend 2 hours a day to drill their child in the various exercises at home. This has to be done on a daily basis. For Thinkersbox, parental involvement at home is not needed.
Here's a computer based training program:
Singapore BrainFit Studio- 193 – 197 Thomson Road Goldhill Centre,
Tel: 6737 3511 -
CloudeeDaz:
I especially like the 2+2 = FIVE!!
haha.....SOoooooo CUTE!Chenonceau:
What about candy?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ct3KnfalfEI
And the way he was so upset he had to self-soothe with his thumb. -
cimman:
Hee hee....she has long given up the idea cos' I have turned her & the bro down flatly every year no matter how well they have done
lucky she didn't ask for expensive toys. \"... I want an iPad2 !!! \" :drool:
Made it very clear that it has to be within the budget and also talked about the cons of such expensive 'carrot'.
One of DD friend was promised expensive stuff year after year just to motivate her....but I found it getting outrageous. From Sony Vaio > iPhone > iPad > most recent budget of $10K to get anything she want..... That is seriously a wrong value IMHO. The only exception I have made is to get an iPhone after PSLE....if they get into the 'targetted-school'. -
wow.. then you must surely reward her lor.... she is a good gal!!
Yes, yes....will probably bring her to Popular and let her choose any book she wants.
RRMummy:
She did that for section A, but not for this question. I believe she also just checked her own working but didn't bother to read the question again.
BigD..I know what you mean.. I also can vomit blood just looking at all the careless mistakes.. :slapshead:BigDevil:
The figures given in the question were 186 and 29. But she ended up adding 189 and 29! :slapshead:
Furthermore, she told us she checked through the paper 3 times! :roll:
See if this will help your DD. For us, checking involves working backwards. So after getting 186 + 29 = 215. For checking, DD will do 215 - 29 = 186. If she doesn't get 186 then she'll know something is wrong...
She once did a practice question which asked for an odd number between 900 and 1000, with the sum of the digits in the tens and ones place equaling the digit in the hundreds place, and the difference of the tens and ones is 1. The answer is quite obviously 945, yet she gave the answer as 523!! I was furious at how she could missed such vital information when the question clearly stated the number is between 900 and 1000. :mad:
[quote]oh, and i always make her circle the keywords (eg. more than, share..)and numbers.. it helped to eliminate all her mistakes in Section B and C. Now we gotta work on Section A that is after I get to see her SR2 paper..
Hope this helps..[/quote]That's what I repeatedly told her to do...but I don't see any such markings on her paper. :rant: :frustrated: -
No one choice fits leh....
Sooo BRAder... :skeptical: ... bottom line is consider you satisfied anot with her results? (As per thread title)
Chinese - she was expected to do well since she had always been strong in Chinese. At times she will kaypo and try her P5 cousin's assessment papers. She was able to get correct answers for most MCQ and fill-in-the-blanks questions. So for Chinese, we are happy with what she got....not overjoyed as it was kinda expected.
English - the reason she's strong in Chinese is because we are a Mandarin speaking family. She also reads lots of Chinese books. That got DW worried that she will do badly for English. For this SA2, she had proved that the worry is unfounded. So it's \"Happy, better than expected\".
Maths - I had said much of this in earlier posts. So I'm \"Satisfied. About there lah\" and leaning slightly towards \"Unhappy. Should have been better\".
BigDevil:
She did that for section A, but not for this question. I believe she also just checked her own working but didn't bother to read the question again.
Ah..mine did for section B and C but not for Section A :slapshead:
More training (=nagging)required
BigDevil:
I was furious at how she could missed such vital information when the question clearly stated the number is between 900 and 1000. :mad:
BigDevil:
Ah!! I know that exact feeling!! :frustrated: :rant:That's what I repeatedly told her to do...but I don't see any such markings on her paper. :rant: :frustrated:
psst.. moving forward i'm giving her highlighters to encourage her to circle key point and hopefully the highlighting 'shouts' the key info to her! :xedfingers: -
DD did quite well. Scored the highest in class for English (not the only one lah), improved tremendously in Chinese but again, fell victim to the dreaded C-bug for Math.
Overall, we are pretty happy with her results. She requested to go rock climbing as a reward and we are happy to oblige. DS of course is super happy to reap the benefits of DD’s hardwork. -
BigDevil:
this is a good idea, much better than those electronic gadgetsLKVM:
wow.. then you must surely reward her lor.... she is a good gal!!
Yes, yes....will probably bring her to Popular and let her choose any book she wants.
Highest in class for English... :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:DD did quite well. Scored the highest in class for English (not the only one lah), improved tremendously in Chinese but again, fell victim to the dreaded C-bug for Math.
Overall, we are pretty happy with her results. She requested to go rock climbing as a reward and we are happy to oblige. DS of course is super happy to reap the benefits of DD's hardwork.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.