How often do you cook at home? mommies n daddies~

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    65 Posts 28 Posters 18.1k Views 1 Watching
      cherrygal

CloudeeDaz:
      shinri:

I used to cook on Sundays before having baby, but now have baby quite difficult.

好不容易 have some time, then try to cook, but seems like DH don't appreciate T_T
      He complain not salty enough and then don't touch the food at all.. sigh..

i can understand how you feel.My dh likes salty stuff too. But i grew up with bland food , so the seasoning in my cooking is always a little too light for him. He used to put soy sauce into the food i cooked , and i used to get :mad: :mad: :rant: :nunchuk: , now i have mellowed alot. I compromise by including some salty dishes in my daily 'menu'. Or , i will put a small saucer of soy sauce by the side, so he can dip his stuff in there if he wants to. 😄

OMG, I understand too! I cook relatively well already and yet my DH will pour pork floss all over the rice before tasting my food. I just ranted at him today! What an insult to my cooking.

But he doesn't dare to do what Shinri's hubby did. He finishes every grain of rice even it's bland coz he knows I slogged hard to cook. If he throws away my food, I will go on strike and not speak to him. Too much...

shinri

cherrygal:

But he doesn't dare to do what Shinri's hubby did. He finishes every grain of rice even it's bland coz he knows I slogged hard to cook. If he throws away my food, I will go on strike and not speak to him. Too much...
        Wah so good... but in my case, I was the one throwing away the food, not DH lol.. and I didn't speak to him afterwards too. :mad:
        DH comes from family where dishes are either very salty or very sweet, I once got a rude shock when MIL claimed to have forgotten her soy sauce and she just poured all over the food, from a very big bottle too!
        I didn't dare touch the food afterwards.

Anyways, I try to learn from my mum whenever I can, hope I can put her recipes to use soon. :please:
        Too bad her chilli crab recipe is going to waste though.

cherrygal

Hi Shinri

Dun waste… share the chili crab recipe here! I want to try… I usually use the recipe from Leong Yee Soo’s book and it’s troublesome.

shinri

Hahahaha… I said going to waste because my mum uses her own special recipe chilli she cooked herself.

I think without this home-cooked chilli, the taste will be quite different.
            People nowadays still cook chilli at home?

I know I wouldn’t want to, since the house will be filled with the spicy fumes…

• VeveyV Offline
              Vevey

I cook abt 4 lunches & 3-4 dinners a week. Don't like to cook 3dishes + 1 soup, fry fish & deep-fried dishes bcos of oily floor & lots of pots, pans & plates washing up (even tho it's done by my mum when my parents joined us 4 dinner, or DH). So usually, I'll focus on cooking 1 main dish then toss a salad. Feel more fulfilling this way too.. 😉

I like to cook these (bcos my family likes) on rotational basis:
              1) Pork Rib Soup w Fish Maw, dried mushrooms, carrots & onion.
              2) Steamed Herbal Chicken (using pre-packed herbs & powder)
              3) Chicken Rice using rice cooker
              4) Pork Chop w sweet sour sauce
              5) Lor Bak w steamed buns
              6) Self-made Dumpling Soup
              7) Yong Tou Foo w Bi Tai Mak Prawn Soup
              😎 Chicken Curry (A1 pre-mix) + Steam Cod fish/herbal chicken thigh (using left-over herbal powder from dish #2) for kids.

Will try out new recipes as & when I feel like it but usually, I'll plan 2 wks menu & go to wet mkt only 1-2 times per mth.

cherrygal

shinri:
                Hahahaha... I said going to waste because my mum uses her own special recipe chilli she cooked herself.

I think without this home-cooked chilli, the taste will be quite different.
                People nowadays still cook chilli at home?

I know I wouldn't want to, since the house will be filled with the spicy fumes..
                Yes, I cook my own chili sometimes. I can regulate the spiciness and also use better oil. Those sold outside all use palm oil.

shinri

cherrygal:

Dun waste... share the chili crab recipe here! I want to try... I usually use the recipe from Leong Yee Soo's book and it's troublesome.
                  cherry gal, BTW, forgot to ask, why troublesome neh?
                  I know my mum uses some sour plum sauce for the chilli crab, but her version the gravy is more of the watery kind than the thick kind.
                  I have to go home dig the recipe liaoz hehe..

wah you cook your own chilli ah.. :salute:

• X Offline
                    xflim

i don’t mind cooking at home but what i really dread is all that washing up after that! and i don’t have any domestic helper so sigh…

Leanne

Hi all,

Actually I dont mind eat out if the oil is of quality.Cooking our own means more washing, more time in the kitchen but healthy food.

Cheers,
                      Leanne

cherrygal

shinri:
                        cherrygal:

Dun waste... share the chili crab recipe here! I want to try... I usually use the recipe from Leong Yee Soo's book and it's troublesome.

cherry gal, BTW, forgot to ask, why troublesome neh?
                        I know my mum uses some sour plum sauce for the chilli crab, but her version the gravy is more of the watery kind than the thick kind.
                        I have to go home dig the recipe liaoz hehe..

wah you cook your own chilli ah.. :salute:

Oh, the version I cook is the thick type with beaten egg (like those Palm Beach chili crabs). My mom adds taucheo. Mrs Leong Yee Soo's version must blend a lot of ingredients lah... sometimes I cheat with Singlong chili crab sauce from a bottle but that is too spicy for my liking. A nice chili crab gravy must be spicy, savoury, sweet and piquant at the same time. Not too watery either as we must be able to scoop the gravy with the mantou.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 7