Who opened the floodgates to immigrants?
and dont call a prc woman \"小姐\", might get whacked.
the chinese papers reported on an incident where a PRC woman called the police after getting into an argument with a local hairdresser because she felt 'insulted' with the term used. So much for intergrating into our society :siao:
pinky:
Try saying \"OI, I want to order!\"LOLMum:
the chinese papers reported on an incident where a PRC woman called the police after getting into an argument with a local hairdresser because she felt 'insulted' with the term used. So much for intergrating into our society :siao:
Pinky, I did not read this. Didn’t know this xiao Jie term is so serious. Guess I better be careful. But now alot of sales promotors are also PRC. if don’t call xiao Jie then call what?
well said
I can't agree more. This is my home, my country. Why should I adapt to the foreigners' habits and behavior? I find myself bending backwards to speak Mandarin to PRC sales people who flatly refuse to answer my questions when posed in English. What about Singaporean Malays and Indians who ask these sales people questions? Do they have to learn to speak Mandarin too? :faint:Chenonceau:
Actually... I hate to say this because I've never thought of myself as xenophobic but I get REALLY upset when I see PRC children peeing on grass verges outside the mall when all the parents need to do is to bring the child INTO the mall. It hardly takes 3 minutes. Firstly, the child bares his privates for all to see. Secondly, it is unhygienic for every passerby who needs to smell urine for the next 2 days.
I also get peeved when the PRC people don't queue. It usually happens at the weighing station. They crowd around and jostle for the weighing staff's attention. It is rude to the staff and rude to other shoppers.
I do know that this is a cultural difference but I do reckon that in my home country, I would not have to adapt to other countries' cultural quirks. Not all PRC people are like that. What I don't understand is why we have let foreigners in that have no cosmopolitan manners at all. Surely, some degree of cosmopolitanism should define the word TALENT? -
peapot:
Pinky, I did not read this. Didn't know this xiao Jie term is so serious. Guess I better be careful. But now alot of sales promotors are also PRC. if don't call xiao Jie then call what?
maybe they want us call them da jie leh... :rotflmao: -
Actually I think the way PRCs address each other is quite endearing. For those younger, they will say ‘mei’ (younger sis), and to the older ones, it’s ‘jie’ (older sis).
After going to china for holiday, I am more aware. But that said, seems like the PRC waitress in SG are ‘resigned’ (?), they dun seem to care when pp call them xiao jie. -
Wa, no wonder I've been living so happily recently, cos I haven't been out often and haven't been reading the papers or reading forums about such issue..

pinky:
if she does not know what is \"xiao jie\" means in Singapore, she should pack and leave. In Rome do the Roman ways, so must we: In Singapore, do the China way? fat hope!LOLMum:
HyperKiasu:
the best part is, here the PRC themselves fight each other and hate each other....hahaha.... :shock: :yikes:
yes I know of some PRCs who bad-mouth their own type and keep thinking that they are higher class. -
pacetone:
Don't we do the same thing? It is not something confined to just the PRCs.HyperKiasu:
the best part is, here the PRC themselves fight each other and hate each other....hahaha.... :shock: :yikes:
yes I know of some PRCs who bad-mouth their own type and keep thinking that they are higher class.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.