20.5k Posts 257 Posters 5.0m Views 1 Watching
      drickymummy

keborah:

[quote=\"keborah\"]submitted the request through school email last night, let's wait and see... :imcool:

Pls do not adopt the wait n see approach, esp via e-mail submission.

Go to the sch personally, approach the staff in the general office for a form, armed with a letter of application, do up a portfolio of your child highlighting academic & non-academic achievements EVEN IF the staff tells you no vacancy, insist on putting your child's name on waitlist.

I hv gone thru' the process with my elder boy, calling up schs to enquire if there was vacancy. All the schs I approached gave the std ans \"NO\".

From what I saw last year at the general office during this period, many parents came in to ask for sch transfer.

All the best to you. And be prepared to be notified of the outcome during the last few days of Dec (after Christmas).

Thanks, Jennifer for the advice. BTW, does the general office open during school holiday?[/quote]Better fast fast! I met one parent in office today asking for transfer Liao....

drickymummy

Already know for sure of 4 vacancies .... 😂 😂
        btw sis, how do u derive 4 vacancies?[/quote]

3 from Mummies in this thread, 1 is my Gal's Gym Mate.
        The Other 12 .... 🤷[/quote]

I know of one who choose the stay fr DS's class but not sure how many confirmed staying from the other class ....maybe 2?

drickymummy

Already know for sure of 4 vacancies .... 😂 😂

😢 going to miss them

Dun like that leh :sad: ...this is still my fav thread n I will be checking in everyday lor! I so scare I might be the one crying instead of DS lor.. Felt so lost when I iron his PH uniform for last time...he is gg to miss his frens like crazy n so is mummy too lor...all my precious support from all the wonderful mums n dads! 😢

Littlekohs

Need some advice… if you had a choice, regardless of distance, would you like to put your child in peihwa, acs junior, or acs primary?

Sunflower 2000

Dear all,

When can we know which class our kids will be put in for next year? Is it we have to wait until school reopen?can not find inside the report book.

drickymummy

Littlekohs:
                Need some advice... if you had a choice, regardless of distance, would you like to put your child in peihwa, acs junior, or acs primary?

If there's a choice, then u might want to consider the kind of sch culture u prefer n is suitable for the child...

Littlekohs

drickymummy:
                  Littlekohs:

Need some advice... if you had a choice, regardless of distance, would you like to put your child in peihwa, acs junior, or acs primary?

If there's a choice, then u might want to consider the kind of sch culture u prefer n is suitable for the child...

Children are so \"mouldable\", the family is quite a background mix peihwa and acs cultures. It's equally blessed for either school we know, but how would you make a choice? What do you like most about peihwa?

• comfyC Offline
                    comfy

If the child is so "mouldable" & you want him to have a stronger foundation in chinese, then PHPPS might be a better choice.

hl124273

Littlekohs:
                      drickymummy:

[quote=\"Littlekohs\"]Need some advice... if you had a choice, regardless of distance, would you like to put your child in peihwa, acs junior, or acs primary?

Children are so \"mouldable\", the family is quite a background mix peihwa and acs cultures. It's equally blessed for either school we know, but how would you make a choice? What do you like most about peihwa?[/quote]I will put my child in Peihwa anytime, ACS - no way. In my opinion, the standard of PH is higher, and I prefer PH culturea and environment

hl124273

Its been a while since I last logged on to this thread … and wow, there’s alot of information to catch up!

I need some advise here regarding how I can help my DD :

1 - She just got back her P2 results, ranked 9th in class, streamed to P3 Responsibility 7 class, supposedly 3rd best class (Responsibility 9 is the top class in that order). I’m not sure if I am overly paranoid here, but I hear her telling me that her current P2 classmates were doing/reading P3 books since the beginning of this year (which means P2 doing P3 standard) and one of her good friend was doing 20+ pages of assessments daily. She even showed me the book that her current P2 best friend is using ( a P3/3 compo book) … Do I really have to "upgrade" ?

2 - I was flipping through the year book she brought back, notice that the school published the results of those who scored 240 and above. Charity 6 (top class) certainly occupy the list for 260 and above, and a mix of Charity, Grace and "one more which I can’t rem , was it Faith or Hope" for 250-259, and 240- 249.
                        It appears that those above 240 are mainly from the top 2 classes and a mix of others. Realising that the cut off points for the better secondary schools call for a min of 250, I am wondering if my DD will ever make it there … given that she is in the third class at P3 ?

3 - When will they stream again ? I wasnt’ aware that they had streaming at P2. For some reasons, the teacher doesn’t really communicate with parents much, or either that I am not well-informed for some reasons.

4 - Are there any good enrichment classes near Pei Hwa or Bukit Timah plaza area ? I am thinking of enrolling my DD in one of the chinese enrichment classes - Xuelin or Hua Cheng at Bt timah plaza, and welcome any feedback or comments you may have.

5- For those parents whose PHPPS DD or DS did well in class or PSLE, will like to seek your advise on how you motivate your kid to study, or do you have to constantly spend hours to revise daily on the school work plus assessments ? Any good science assessments to recommend for P3 ?

6 - HCL, how does that help in the PSLE score ? I mean, if she does NCL and can score an A star versus doing HCL and only to get a B, wouldn’t it be better for her to do NCL instead of HCL so that she get an overall higher PSLE aggregate score ?
                        My daughter only started learning much Chinese in PHPPs in primary one as we hardly speak Mandarin at home and she was not exposed to much mandarin other than the half day pre school lessons she attended when she was in Kindy.
                        Her HCL chinese comprehension is weak, how can I help her improve ? I have engaged a private tutor for her but did not see significant improvement. Her P2 HCL score is 87. I can speak and write mandarin pretty alright (A for GCE A level Mandarin eons ago) however I am not sure how to go about teaching her …

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1549 / 2049

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo