Club Breadmakers
EatNonStop:
Insert your cd, then at the designated Drive, right click at the drive, then go to properties. Click on properties and see the format. eg.mpg, mp4, mov, avi, mkv etc... Usually your comp should be able to read the cd.Yes...I would also recommend this book 孟老师的100道面包 !!!I have a copy too but sadly I could not play the DVD. Still wondering what software could I use to open the file? Anyone can advise?
Fougasse adapted from her book....Made this morning
I googled and found some of her recipes on youtube. -
I need to confirm if it is a CD or DVD..thanks all for advise. let me try playing again,.

Thanks L-earner!
I noticed that some book (usually those english ones) suggested only about 5-10 mins kneading by hand. I would think its very little right? the gluten can be formed in less than 10 mins time meh? I mean assuming not using hercule strength lah...haha...
I use machine to knead, about 35 mins i think? until machine very hot (medium speed), only after that, can achieve non-sticky dough. not sure if this is correct.
smurf:
Agreed, some recipes require minimum or no kneading, I think if u consume th bread on th day of baking then it's ok, but it will probably turn hard th next day. U knead in machine for 35min is v adequate, maybe can use th window pane test to see if u cld stretch th dough...Thanks L-earner!
I noticed that some book (usually those english ones) suggested only about 5-10 mins kneading by hand. I would think its very little right? the gluten can be formed in less than 10 mins time meh? I mean assuming not using hercule strength lah...haha...
I use machine to knead, about 35 mins i think? until machine very hot (medium speed), only after that, can achieve non-sticky dough. not sure if this is correct.
Hi L-earner,
i use the window panel method, can stretch, but just qondering would it over knead? coz I read in some article that dough does get over-kneaded?? they then produce tough breaad. not sure if its true. :? -
smurf:
smurf, yes i also came across books that stated over-kneaded dough will produce tough bread, but your 35min machine knead shd be ok, otherwise reduce to 1 cycle knead then hand knead another 5-10 mins shd do the job. let us know if this works ...Hi L-earner,
i use the window panel method, can stretch, but just qondering would it over knead? coz I read in some article that dough does get over-kneaded?? they then produce tough breaad. not sure if its true. :?
@WCW, J, are u taking the plunge this time??
1 cycle is how long ha??
smurf:
1 cycle is how long ha??
Smurf, i think different machine varies, if u r using a mixer, then u can time for abt 20-25mins using the \"hook\" attachement; but if u r using the breadmachine, then the dough setting or kneading function, just once, follow-by hand knead to make-up the 25-30min knead time (most books state to knead abt 20-30min); but i think u can safely stop once u reach the window-pane status.
Btw, r u using the z-machine?? Many z-machine users here ... -
nope, not using z-machine, coz I dun need it at the moment. wondering why need a machine ha? can just use hand to knead mah, or use mixer. I find that its easier coz I never know how to operate a machine. hee...
i trying to make sourdough bread, but failed. sigh...the dough came out just a lumpy hard thick crust with NO stuff at all! :stompfeet:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.