All About Learning French
Hi hi, am new to this forum. Just want to check with the other Kiasu Parents like me if you know where can I send my 5 yr old daughter for French lessons. Appreciate any advice regarding learning a foreign language at this age. Thanks.

k_s_cheong:
Hi hi, am new to this forum. Just want to check with the other Kiasu Parents like me if you know where can I send my 5 yr old daughter for French lessons. Appreciate any advice regarding learning a foreign language at this age. Thanks.

Wow... French... such an exotic language! I had a room-mate who was doing a double-major once - French and Computer Science. He's a genius alright, or \"gifted\" by our MOE definition. He tried to teach me French, which failed miserably because I kept choking on the French \"R\". -
Well, actually I took it for GCE "O" levels but have lost touch with it after all these years. Therefore am trying to get latest update of where to enrol my little one who’s quite good with languages - picking up some simple Malay from my domestic helper.
Go Alliance Francaise...I think they have lessons for kids, starting from 5 year old...
I personally attended the weekend adult class for fun to learn Elementary French :lol: -
yes, they have french for children which we did consider b4 but dropped that idea
http://www.alliancefrancaise.org.sg/courses/childfrench.html -
Hello,
Just want to share the information about French lessons for children. Maybe you can contact Sabrina Tay at Galilee School of Language & Learning. I’ve heard that they teach children also. Will PM you for details, whether you want to know more about them and hope it help… -
I’m trying to teach my 4 year old French. anyone knows where to get french books for children?
I engaged a private french tutor for my 2 years old. She’s a native speaker whom I got to know through some tuition agency. She teaches conversational french, mostly through play and interactive activities, since he is just a toddler.
I heard Alliance Francaise started courses for young children, from 3 years old onwards. Perhaps you can check there too.
As for books, CDs, DVDs, etc, we got from Amazon and Barnes&Noble. -
Thinking of letting my child (P3 next yr) attending some french lang appreciation classes during Dec hols…
Any idea if there are such hols classes??? those 1 week type? -
:? Pai seh, just out of curiousity, 1 week language class got use meh?
I also have the FLINTING thought of getting mine to pick up foreign language but learning language is a long time commitment and also require the right environment to allow verbal practice. So for now, still a flinting thought for me ...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.