Travel: Malaysia - General
lwm99:
If you are really by the law, you can always go to the police station.
Just to recount on an incident one of the forummers shared in another forum about police officers from Malaysia. Some people dun really know what they are into if they challenge the police. haha...
This guy was stopped by a police officer and was told that he was 'speeding' on the highway. So, after showing him his passport and licence, the police officer say speeding will get a summon from the police.
So the 'angry' guy said, okay, give me a summon.
The police officer said, \"give you a summon, can, but you need to do this and that, it's very troublesome (it's a hint to tell you to bribe him).\"
So the guy said to the officer,\"Okay, I follow you to the police station.\"
The police officer also dun wan to lose out, he did bring this guy to the police station and that guy was imprisoned for one day.
That 'angry' guy was even told that he must get a fellow Malaysian to come to this police station to bail him out.
This 'angry' poor guy waited in the cell for one day and trying frantically to contact his Malaysian friend who would take the trouble to come to bail him.
You can challenge the police, if you are prepared to go all the way.
That's the cost of going with the law in Malaysia.
Should try it someday and tell me that you are not angry for being stopped.Jennifer:
These pple are just looking for some pocketmoney.
EN:
I'll avoid the police station definitely. Usually, we set aside RM 30 and another RM 20 if the earlier amount is in sufficient.
Funguy71:
We had thought driving licence wouldn't be considered valid if we were overseas, and passport would contain enough documents that you are a tourist. Definitely a must-bring next time when we drive up again.Guess your DH have no choice to bribe the Malaysian police! Lucky it worked...
Passport and driving license must always bring together if we drive overseas.
I used to drive my family to KL. Along the highway there were few singapore plate cars stopped by police cars. So must be careful!
I think this is their pocket money lobang!
But even with a valid driving license, I wonder what excuse they'll come up with to achieve their objective. Just our luck lor...
So RM20 to RM30 would be sufficient lar... Must remember liao.
But actually a very good 'bribery' experience, it shows that we really have been to Malaysia. :lol: -
[quote]So RM20 to RM30 would be sufficient lar... Must remember liao.
[/quote]winth, its RM 50 to spare. But try the lower one first, then up it when they do the delay tactic. Also highly dependent on the type of car you drive I think. -
The going rate is RM10 per cop. Malaysians usually pay RM30 max. Been complaining about Singaporeans being overly generous and spoiling market

TTLauPeh:
The going rate is RM10 per cop. Malaysians usually pay RM30 max. Been complaining about Singaporeans being overly generous and spoiling market

oops... think my last bribe was the market spoiler. :oops:
will go by market rate next time.
just bought a garmin! since the hols are coming…wondering if anyone can share how to use or download maps for free?
mother_teresa:
just bought a garmin! since the hols are coming...wondering if anyone can share how to use or download maps for free?
Try out http://www.malsingmaps.com They have a rather well updated maps of East and west Malaysia. Singapore map is there too! -
Hi. Has anyone been to The Pulai Desaru? Please share some feedback on the hotel eg cleanliness of hotel rooms, facilities etc.
Considering going there next month, but my family has sensitive skin (eczema) so I am a bit particular about hotel room cleanliness esp bedlinen, towels etc.
Thanks in advance.
pea:
Hello ,Hi. Has anyone been to The Pulai Desaru? Please share some feedback on the hotel eg cleanliness of hotel rooms, facilities etc.
Considering going there next month, but my family has sensitive skin (eczema) so I am a bit particular about hotel room cleanliness esp bedlinen, towels etc.
Thanks in advance.
we stayed at Pulai desaru for 2 nights from 25 September 2009. We booked the cheapest room type thru http://www.asiarooms.com. To us, the rooms are big, clean, and acceptable. The furniture and surroundings though looks old. We were not so concern with the bedlinen/towel , i would say it is acceptable condition.
However for kids, we brought our own towels. The occupancy was low even on a weekend
The resort has a well maintained swimming pool, indoor and outdoor playground. We also like the beach .
We notice there is a much newer resort (i think is called Lotus desaru) beside pulai desaru. You may want to check on it.
regards -
Hi guys,
Went to Malacca recently and had loads of fun!
My kids are 4 and under, and maybe that's why its easier to entertain them compared to older kids.
The ride there is under 2.5hrs and u get lots of great food there.
The restaurants also open up to 1am, so u can still go out with wife once the kids are put to sleep.
Great place to go, if u have young children.
you can check out the pictures here.
http://edunloaded.blogspot.com/2009/10/driving-trip-visit-malacca.html -
Hi edunloaded,
Nice pics you got on your blog on your recent Malacca trip!
I'm planning a 3D2N trip to Malacca with my family in Dec. Joining us will be my sister's family as well as my parents. There'll be 8 adults, 4 young children, and a baby (18mths). We'll be staying at Hotel Puri.
Do share what not to be missed activities and foods (besides the chicken rice balls) over there.
I'm also considering the transport there. Coach ride is 4.5hrs. Means departure at 8am (an unearthly hour to wake up), reaching only at 12:30pm. Seems so undesirable compared to your experience of 2.5hrs drive (depart at 11am, arriving at 1:30pm). The prospect of having to manage young children cooped up in a coach for 4.5hrs is also terribly unappealing.
However, I'm the only one in our group who has a valid driving licence, and I've never driven in Malaysia before. What's your experience driving there and back? Any jams? We'll be setting off on a Thurs, coming back on Sat. I've also read about the (in)famous m'sia TPs.....
Assuming if I summon enough courage to drive there and back, anyone knows if there are mini bus rental service to accommodate my group? Pls share....TIA!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.