Travel: Malaysia - General

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    193 Posts 58 Posters 111.8k Views 1 Watching
    • JenniferJ Offline
      Jennifer

lwm99:
      If you are really by the law, you can always go to the police station.

Not advisable in M'sia. Esp with young children, you do not know how long the ordeal will stretch.

A friend who has a fty in M'sia told me the fty has been \"inspected many times\". These pple are just looking for some pocketmoney.

• E Offline
        en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]lwm99 wrote:

Not advisable in M'sia. Esp with young children, you do not know how long the ordeal will stretch.

A friend who has a fty in M'sia told me the fty has been \"inspected many times\". These pple are just looking for some pocketmoney.[/quote]I'll avoid the police station definitely. Usually, we set aside RM 30 and another RM 20 if the earlier amount is in sufficient.

Funguy71

winth:

Our lastest trip up north was last weekend to Melaka (as usual, cos we still hasn't gathered enuff courage to climb Genting yet).

:x And you know what???? :x

DH made a wrong turn while trying to find our way out to the highway, so instead of right, we turned left and we kanna the Malaysian Police!

They stopped our car, asked my hubby to show his passport and driving licence. DH gave him his passport but told him that he didnt bring driving licence along.

So the police said something like this:
          Idiot Officer: You mean you driving in Malaysia without a licence? Do you know if I catch you, you don't just get a summon you know? You are directly sent to court. And you will get a RM300 fine for it. It's very serious you know?
          DH: (acting like begging) sorry lar, uncle. pls give me a chance. I need to drive family back Singapore safely.
          Idiot Officer: (peering in to look at DS1 & DS2 nervously smiling back; err... I was quite stone then cos I'm both angry and scared) cannot lar, this is very serious one.
          DH: Sorry sir, can you pass me back my passport? (shoved in SGD50) Sir, can you look at my passport again? (smiling nervously)
          Idiot Officer: Oh... (flipping his passport, as if he didn't know there was money there), aiya, be careful next time. Must bring your ($) driving license when driving. This time, aiya, let you off... (blah bla nonsense).

PS: DH had to give him SGD50 cos we had no other small change left and we only had RM20. So no choice.

DH said that even if he did bring his driving license along, they will just cook up some excuse like speeding, need NRIC etc just to tell you that you're at fault lar... So well, it's just our luck that day to kanna such an incident.

Just to better equip ourselves next time we kanna 'money-officers' in Malaysia, can someone furnish the following details:
          1) What are the documents to bring to drive in Malaysia?
          2) How much is the normal rate for them? (Next time I must prepare a money envelope just for such 'emergency' situations)
          Guess your DH have no choice to bribe the Malaysian police! Lucky it worked...

Passport and driving license must always bring together if we drive overseas.

I used to drive my family to KL. Along the highway there were few singapore plate cars stopped by police cars. So must be careful!

I think this is their pocket money lobang!

winth

lwm99:

Just to recount on an incident one of the forummers shared in another forum about police officers from Malaysia. Some people dun really know what they are into if they challenge the police. haha...

This guy was stopped by a police officer and was told that he was 'speeding' on the highway. So, after showing him his passport and licence, the police officer say speeding will get a summon from the police.
            So the 'angry' guy said, okay, give me a summon.
            The police officer said, \"give you a summon, can, but you need to do this and that, it's very troublesome (it's a hint to tell you to bribe him).\"
            So the guy said to the officer,\"Okay, I follow you to the police station.\"
            The police officer also dun wan to lose out, he did bring this guy to the police station and that guy was imprisoned for one day.
            That 'angry' guy was even told that he must get a fellow Malaysian to come to this police station to bail him out.
            This 'angry' poor guy waited in the cell for one day and trying frantically to contact his Malaysian friend who would take the trouble to come to bail him.

You can challenge the police, if you are prepared to go all the way.
            That's the cost of going with the law in Malaysia.

Should try it someday and tell me that you are not angry for being stopped.
            These pple are just looking for some pocketmoney.
            EN:
            I'll avoid the police station definitely. Usually, we set aside RM 30 and another RM 20 if the earlier amount is in sufficient.
            Funguy71:
            Guess your DH have no choice to bribe the Malaysian police! Lucky it worked...

Passport and driving license must always bring together if we drive overseas.

I used to drive my family to KL. Along the highway there were few singapore plate cars stopped by police cars. So must be careful!

I think this is their pocket money lobang!
            We had thought driving licence wouldn't be considered valid if we were overseas, and passport would contain enough documents that you are a tourist. Definitely a must-bring next time when we drive up again.

But even with a valid driving license, I wonder what excuse they'll come up with to achieve their objective. Just our luck lor...

So RM20 to RM30 would be sufficient lar... Must remember liao.

But actually a very good 'bribery' experience, it shows that we really have been to Malaysia. :lol:

• E Offline
              en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]So RM20 to RM30 would be sufficient lar... Must remember liao.
              [/quote]winth, its RM 50 to spare. But try the lower one first, then up it when they do the delay tactic. Also highly dependent on the type of car you drive I think.

TTLauPeh

The going rate is RM10 per cop. Malaysians usually pay RM30 max. Been complaining about Singaporeans being overly generous and spoiling market 😉

winth

TTLauPeh:
                  The going rate is RM10 per cop. Malaysians usually pay RM30 max. Been complaining about Singaporeans being overly generous and spoiling market 😉

oops... think my last bribe was the market spoiler. :oops:

will go by market rate next time. 😉

mother_teresa

just bought a garmin! since the hols are coming…wondering if anyone can share how to use or download maps for free?

verxs

mother_teresa:
                      just bought a garmin! since the hols are coming...wondering if anyone can share how to use or download maps for free?

Try out http://www.malsingmaps.com They have a rather well updated maps of East and west Malaysia. Singapore map is there too!

pea

Hi. Has anyone been to The Pulai Desaru? Please share some feedback on the hotel eg cleanliness of hotel rooms, facilities etc.

Considering going there next month, but my family has sensitive skin (eczema) so I am a bit particular about hotel room cleanliness esp bedlinen, towels etc.

Thanks in advance. 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 20

go8ffdesignG
                        go8ffdesign