2011 PSLE Discussions and Strategy

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    9.4k Posts 546 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
      koguma

Ms tay:

How abt if the sch requires express: 243-262 Normal Academic:193-199
      If the student scored 200 does he/she able to get in that sch?
      From what I know,
      188 to 199 - you can choose between NA and Express
      200 and above - Definitely Express

So 200 will not get the kid into the mentioned school as it is too low for the Express stream cutoff. Also 200 is not eligible for NA stream.

Perhaps you can approach MOE to see whether you can appeal to let the kid with 200 score to study NA instead of Express.

Btw, i am guessing which school you are referring to. Is it in the west? If my child get into that west school NA stream, i will ask my child to stay put and work hard to promote to Sec 2 express. I know the school has done alots to help the NA students to promote to Express. Also even if the child fail to promote to express, i still won't mind as there are now more options for students after GCE \"N\" level.

MummySTay

Ms tay:

S1 POsting is Purely by Merit .... Down to the Last 4 Decimal Points πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
        200 will definitely be posted to NA Stream πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚
        And there is No Upper COP Limit.

Btw .... What sch is this Huh? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Hint : begin wif a letter \"B\" :evil: πŸ˜‰

ms Tay, u playing guessing game? πŸ˜‰

A very good friend of mine studied in that school many, many years ago. She was initially in NA, but did well enough to be promoted to Express stream.

Bukit Panjang Govt High School, hor? πŸ˜‰

Ms tay

koguma:
          Ms tay:

How abt if the sch requires express: 243-262 Normal Academic:193-199
          If the student scored 200 does he/she able to get in that sch?

From what I know,
          188 to 199 - you can choose between NA and Express
          200 and above - Definitely Express

So 200 will not get the kid into the mentioned school as it is too low for the Express stream cutoff. Also 200 is not eligible for NA stream.

Perhaps you can approach MOE to see whether you can appeal to let the kid with 200 score to study NA instead of Express.

Btw, i am guessing which school you are referring to. Is it in the west? If my child get into that west school NA stream, i will ask my child to stay put and work hard to promote to Sec 2 express. I know the school has done alots to help the NA students to promote to Express. Also even if the child fail to promote to express, i still won't mind as there are now more options for students after GCE \"N\" level.

Hi kuguma
          My ds2 wif autism is exempted for MT his Avg score results fr p1-p4 is abt 220-230so I estimate in psle maybe he will score around 200or slightly higher a bit I know tt Bpgh is a gd band one sch n it has less discipline issue which is very suitable for my boy as I believe tt gd schs has least bullies
          Do u think his chance to Bpgh NA stream is high ? Next yr he will be p5 . Any advice . Thank u

Ms tay

MummySTay:
            Ms tay:

[quote=\"Funx3\"]

S1 POsting is Purely by Merit .... Down to the Last 4 Decimal Points πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰
            200 will definitely be posted to NA Stream πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚
            And there is No Upper COP Limit.

Btw .... What sch is this Huh? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

Hint : begin wif a letter \"B\" :evil: πŸ˜‰

ms Tay, u playing guessing game? πŸ˜‰

A very good friend of mine studied in that school many, many years ago. She was initially in NA, but did well enough to be promoted to Express stream.

Bukit Panjang Govt High School, hor? πŸ˜‰[/quote]Bingo !! Clever girl πŸ˜†

Augmum

pinky:

[quote=\"pinky\"]just called his primary school and the staff laughed when I mentioned 2008 PSLE certificate :oops: :oops: anyway she was nice enough to check the records and will get back to me in a few days time. I can really confirm we did not received any laminated certificate at all. Thanks for the reminder and I hope to get it soon :xedfingers:

pinky, i thot it was 2009 PSLE certificate ??
              our kids are of the same yr, no ??
              i remember that u were asking me some questions at DHS thread at that yr.....if my memory din fail me

anyway, hope yr son's sch can locate his PSLE cert soon......

Hi Augmum, my memory did fail me, I cannot remember the DHS thread at all :oops: My son is in sec 3 this year so he finished his P6 in 2008.
              I just called the office and was told that it should be there as long as I did not collect in 2008 so now they are tracing their records and will call me back later :nailbite: πŸ™ :xedfingers:[/quote]no, pinky , yr memory did not fail u.......
              was using search engine under DHS thread juz now, realise that it was another forummer , pinky88,
              who had communicated with me, not u.......paiseh......(din realise that u both also named pinky πŸ˜‰ )

postings are dated in 2009
              pinky88:

Hi Angmum, can you pls. share with me what happen on the registration day? My DS will be joining the sch & I juz want to know whether we've miss out much. The students get to meet their classmates & teachers liao?

Hi pinky88, actually u din miss out much……

Firstly, proceed to the performing arts threatre..….a warm welcome speech by the principal, Dr Foo, XXXXXXXX..……....

Augmum

JimL:

With regards to my previous posting that A* is NOT PREFIX at raw marks of 91 and above at PSLE, unlike sch exams.
                (I am very doubtful that my gal 's pri sch teacher,
                as well as teachers from various schs who had told their pupils' parents,
                and all of these teachers had provided us the wrong info),
                my observations of the surrounding PSLE pupils, deepened my belief ,
                i seek clarification from MOE.........

Quoted MOE’s reply, would like to share with u, parents here …….
                Thank you for your email.

We would like to share that the cut-off marks for the various grades are determined by the Ministry of Education after a consideration of various factors.
                However, standards are maintained in the determination of cut-off marks for the various grades and the cut-off marks are confidential.

Fortunately, i still have my common sense in place...... πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‚

Thanks for posting your clarification with Moe with regards to the A* marks. This question has been in my mind when often heard of friends of mine been talking and discussing about students getting A*/A in psle. i have been a silent reader in this forum as i want to find out more about the exams system here with 3 girls, especially psle, the big talk in town. Thanks to all parents who have been sharing selflessly all the tips and facts about psle.

u're welcome........ πŸ˜„

ngbrdad

Is it stated in black and white and if a student scores 200 and above he or she can only opt for express and NA ?

Ms tay

ngbrdad:
                    Is it stated in black and white and if a student scores 200 and above he or she can only opt for express and NA ?

It is possible tt the student scores 200 n above eligible for NA ? :roll:

ngbrdad

Ms tay:
                      ngbrdad:

Based on merit the student definitely qualify for NA !

koguma

ngbrdad:
                        Ms tay:

[quote=\"ngbrdad\"]Is it stated in black and white and if a student scores 200 and above he or she can only opt for express and NA ?

Based on merit the student definitely qualify for NA ![/quote]This is why I think a score of 200 is not eligible for NA.

1) Go to http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/SIS_AdvSearch.asp

2) Enter these parameters
                        a) Level of Education : Secondary
                        b) For PSLE Aggregate (Only applicable for Secondary Schools)
                        i) Choose \"Normal Academic\" for Course
                        ii) Enter \"200\" for PSLE Aggregate

3) Click on Submit button

You will get \"No Schools Found. Please select again.\"

If you repeat step 2 and 3 but choose \"Express\" for Course, you will get a list of schools.

Also if you look at the results, you will notice that most schools cutoff for Express is 188.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 836 / 944